Sadie By Courtney Summers [Review]

SadieRELEASE DATE: September 4th, 2018
AUTHORS:
Courtney Summers
GENRE: 
Young-Adult, Contemporary, Mystery, Thriller.
PUBLISHER: 
  Wednesday Books
SUMMARY:

Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water. 

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie’s entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister’s killer to justice and hits the road following a few meagre clues to find him.

When West McCray—a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America—overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.

amazon-badge

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

“ I wish this was a love story because I know how it goes in one like mine, where the only moments of reprieve are the spaces between its lines. But here’s the thing I tell myself to dull the sharp edges of everything that’s surely left to come: 
The worst has already happened. ”

This book was just WOW! I wasn’t really interested in this book when I first saw it, but after hearing a lot of hype about it, I couldn’t help it. It was quite an intense and powerful read.  It just wrecked me. The ending left me speechless and also a little frustrated. Sadie was a great protagonist, I really loved her character. This whole book was about Sadie’s journey to  find her sister’s killer and bring him to justice. It was totally an unputdownable read and I finished it in two sittings. I really liked the unique format of the book. I’ve read Courtney Summer’s All The Rage and honestly, I was disappointed with that book, but this one was so good. I loved it!

This was a mystery novel so i’m going to skip writing the summary part because I don’t want to give away anything. All the characters were well written especially Sadie. Nineteen Year old Sadie was a complex character with multi layered personality. She led a hard life and because of her stutter, no one wanted to befriend her. Her little sister Mattie was everything to her. She raised her since she was a baby and her death totally devastates her. She was a brave girl. Despite her vulnerabilities, she always stood strong and never gave up finding her sister’s murderer. I enjoyed her strong determination and her entire journey of revenge. The secondary characters were also pretty good. I really liked Mary beth. She took care of Sadie and Mattie while Claire was mostly absent. I’m not great fan of Claire. She’s not a great mother figure and I didn’t liked how she ignored Sadie even though she had her reasons. I loved West McCray’s character. He is investigating Sadie’s case and he was a great addition to the plot. He follows Sadie’s path by finding clues, but when the investigation takes a dark sinister turn, West is afraid to know what he might find in the end, but he’s determined to bring back Sadie.

The plot was gripping and well written. I was hooked to the story from the start to the finish. It was an emotional ride filled with suspense and mystery. It’s a fast paced read. The story alternates between Sadie’s POV and a podcast script narrated by West McCray. I quite enjoyed reading the story from both perspectives. The unique structure of this book made the story even more suspenseful to read. The twists and turns kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. It’s a YA mystery novel without any romance. The author’s writing was so dark and addicting. I absolutely loved it. 

Overall, It was a great read that deals with important topics. Although it doesn’t have a satisfying conclusion, it’s totally worth a read. This book has some sensitive and dark topics which might be triggering for some readers so read with caution.

Recommend it?
Yes

I highly recommend this book to everyone who’re into YA mystery and thrillers.

Trigger Warnings: pedophilia, child abuse, sexual abuse, rape, drug abuse, violence, murder.

MY RATING:
4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1
[4/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read it yet? Do you Plan to read it?
Please feel free to comment below!

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂Signature

 

26 thoughts on “Sadie By Courtney Summers [Review]

  1. Mara September 15, 2018 / 4:42 am

    I’m so glad you liked this book! I’ve been seeing so much hype around it but it seems like it’s really deserved! I’ve really been wanting to read more YA thrillers so I’ll keep an eye out for Sadie the next time I go to the bookstore 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 17, 2018 / 2:58 am

      This book was totally worth a read if you’re looking for YA thrillers and mysteries. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it. 🙂

      Like

  2. Marie September 15, 2018 / 12:15 pm

    I have been hearing so many incredible things about Sadie, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed it so much just as well 🙂 I don’t think I’m going to give it a try because of all the triggers, but I’m thrilled this book is finding its audience 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 17, 2018 / 3:00 am

      It was a great read! Yeah, this book isn’t for everyone because of all the triggers. It’s a quite painful, raw, and emotional read.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. stephaniesbookreviews September 15, 2018 / 9:10 pm

    So I’m not sure why, but I thought this book was a Contemporary??? Reading your review has made me much more interested in it than I had been!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 17, 2018 / 3:03 am

      I thought this was a normal YA contemporary novel too but it really wasn’t. It”s mostly a mystery/thriller novel. It was totally an unputdownable read. I hope you enjoy it if you decide to give it a shot! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ashley @ Book Tales September 15, 2018 / 11:11 pm

    I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed this Raven! I wasn’t that excited for it either, until I kept seeing this book featured everywhere! It sounds really interesting and I’m definitely adding it to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 17, 2018 / 3:05 am

      This book was pretty good! It totally lived up to the hype and I hope you enjoy it when you finally get to it.

      Like

  5. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate September 17, 2018 / 12:33 am

    I keep hearing about this book and like you, I wasn’t really interested at first but your review sure changed my perspective! “Unputdownable” usually does the trick for me hahaha
    Wonderful post, Raven 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. fictionnochaser September 18, 2018 / 6:25 pm

    Alright. Fine. I will read this book. You’ve convinced me!!!!!!! 🙂 I’ve been avoiding it, afraid it won’t live up to the hype but this post has won me over!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jen September 19, 2018 / 12:13 am

    I really need to read a Courtney Summers book! With the triggers you listed, I’m thinking this probably wouldn’t be the best book for me to start with, but she sounds like a fabulous author. Here’s hoping I love her work as much as you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 20, 2018 / 4:16 am

      This book has a lot of sensitive and dark topics. I wouldn’t recommend it to you if it’s out of your comfort zone. I haven’t read many Courtney summers books but I’ve heard great things about them. I hope you enjoy them! ☺️

      Like

  8. anovelglimpse September 20, 2018 / 9:38 pm

    I really need to make an effort to read this book! It sounds so good! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer September 21, 2018 / 10:37 am

    Sounds like the author did a a great job with the character. Sadie sounds determined and feisty. Thanks for the excellent review. Your loving the book is a big plus. ♥️♥️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 23, 2018 / 3:37 am

      Thank you, Dani! Sadie was a great read! I actually didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did and the mc was was so flawed yet amazing. I hope you give it a shot! ❤️😁

      Like

Leave a comment