House of Earth and Blood (Crescent City #1) By Sarah J. Maas [Review]

House of Earth and Blood (Crescent City #1)

RELEASE DATE: March 03, 2020
AUTHOR:
Sarah J. Maas
GENRE:
  New-Adult, Urban Fantasy, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Bloomsbury
SUMMARY: 

Bryce Quinlan had the perfect life—working hard all day and partying all night—until a demon murdered her closest friends, leaving her bereft, wounded, and alone. When the accused is behind bars but the crimes start up again, Bryce finds herself at the heart of the investigation. She’ll do whatever it takes to avenge their deaths.

Hunt Athalar is a notorious Fallen angel, now enslaved to the Archangels he once attempted to overthrow. His brutal skills and incredible strength have been set to one purpose—to assassinate his boss’s enemies, no questions asked. But with a demon wreaking havoc in the city, he’s offered an irresistible deal: help Bryce find the murderer, and his freedom will be within reach.

As Bryce and Hunt dig deep into Crescent City’s underbelly, they discover a dark power that threatens everything and everyone they hold dear, and they find, in each other, a blazing passion—one that could set them both free, if they’d only let it.

amazon-badge

 

MY REV (Copy)

I’m a S.J. Maas fan and this was one of my top anticipated reads. First of all, the cover art for this book was gorgeous and I really hope the publishers will stick to this theme and don’t replace it with a dull one in the future. Well coming to the book, I can’t say this was my favorite S.J. Maas work, but it was an enjoyable read. It’s an urban fantasy with a mix of paranormal elements. The story was overall entertaining but the length of the book was unnecessaryly long. It’s one of the major drawbacks of this book.

The story begins with Bryce quinlan who’s half fae and half human. She loves partying in the clubs, hooking up with strangers, and hanging out with her three best friends. She works as an antiquities dealer. When one of her best friend Danika who’s a werewolf gets brutally murdered by a demon, she’s  devastated. The case was closed after the accused was sent behind the bars. After two years, when the same murders occurs again Bryce realizes that her friend’s murderer was still alive out there. To help solve the case, she was accompanied by a fallen angel named Hunt Athalar. During their search, many dark secrets are revealed and they believe that things are much bigger than they thought it would be. While fighting their attraction to each other, Bryce and Hunt have to find the killer before it’s too late.

The characters were interesting, but honestly most of them were not memorable enough for me. Each one of them reminded me of characters from the author’s earlier works. The similarities were pretty high. Bryce was introduced as a spoiled party girl, but she’s loyal, fierce, and very protective of her friends and family. I enjoyed her character, but I didn’t like how every male was attracted to her. She’s got beautiful looks and a great bod. On the other hand, we have Hunt Athalor. He’s a broody fallen angel and everyone is pretty much freaked out when he’s near because he’s got this dangerous aura. He’s a morally grey character. He reminded me of Rowan from TOG. The romance was a slow burn. When Hunt was assigned to Bryce, he felt like a baby sitter. They’re both not much fan of their current situation, but they must deal with it. With each day, their daily bickering turns into attraction and it slowly grows into something more. Currently there aren’t any steamy scenes in this book, but I’m pretty certain there’s going to be some in the next one.

The supporting characters were okay, but I can’t connect with any of them. I wish Danika got more page time because it takes time to connect with characters and the author killed her in just few chapters. It’s a little disappointing because most of the book was about Bryce avenging her death. I honestly didn’t feel anything when she was murdered. I enjoyed Ruhn, Bryce half brother and a carbon copy of Dorian from TOG. He’s a fae prince who cares for Bryce unlike his cold father. He always likes to hang out with his three best friend lackeys. Lehab, the fire sprite is one of the characters that I really loved. She’s fierce, innocent, and so much fun. Bryce’s friend Fury Axtar is another character that I really loved. She didn’t get much page time, but I wish she was the main character because when I first heard about Bryce, I was expecting someone like her. She was a total badass. I don’t know what to say about Juniper, Bryce’s other best friend. She’s a fawn dancer and there’s nothing special about her. I also liked Aidas, the white cat demon who helped Bryce. He’s a total mystery and I can’t wait to know more about him. And last but not the least, I enjoyed Jesiba Roga. She’s a powerful witch, and Bryce’s boss.

The plot was definitely interesting, but it dragged in a lot of places. This book was 900 pages long and nothing exciting happens until you reach seventy percent of the book.  Most of the plot focuses on Bryce and Hunt investigating the murder mystery. There are no sex scenes in this book but I hope we don’t get bombarded with them in the next book. I do enjoy few steamy scenes, but I also need more action, plot, and violence. If you’re expecting this to be a fast paced ride then you’ll be disappointed. The author tried to make up for it by throwing lots of surprising twists and turns in the end and they really worked. If it wasn’t for them, I would’ve given this book a less than four stars rating. The author’s writing was great, but the too much swearing was cringy. There’s a lot of F***s in this book. The world building was amazing. It’s a futuristic urban fantasy world with a mix of paranormal and sci-fi elements. It has magical creatures like Angels, fae, werewolves, witches, demons, sprites, merfolk, Vampires etc. The first book was set on Crescent city, and there’s so much more to explore.

Overall, this was an entertaining read filled with mystery, magic, friendship, action, and romance! Although it didn’t make a huge impact on me as ACOTAR, and TOG did, I’m definitely looking forward to the next book.

Recommend it?
YES

I would definitely recommend this book if you’re into Urban Fantasy and paranormal romances.

MY RATING:                                  

4-stars14-stars14-stars1 4-stars1 [4/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read it yet? Do you Plan to read it?
Please feel free to comment below!

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

Soulswift By Megan Bannen [Review]

SoulswiftRELEASE DATE: November 17th 2020
AUTHOR:
Megan Bannen
GENRE:
  Young-Adult, Fantasy, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Balzer + Bray
SUMMARY: 

Gelya is a Vessel, a girl who channels the word of the One True God through song. Cloistered with the other Vessels of her faith, she believes—as all Ovinists do—that a saint imprisoned Elath the Great Demon centuries ago, saving humanity from earthly temptation. Continue reading

A Deal with the Elf King (Married to Magic #1) By Elise Kova [Review]

A Deal with the Elf King (Married to Magic, #1)RELEASE DATE: November 6th 2020
AUTHOR:
Elise Kova
GENRE:
  Young-Adult, Fantasy, Elves, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Silver Wing Press
SUMMARY: 

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen. Continue reading

The Wickerlight (The Wren Hunt #2) By Mary Watson [Review]

The Wickerlight (The Wren Hunt, #2)RELEASE DATE: May 30th 2019
AUTHOR:
Mary Watson
GENRE:
  Young-Adult, Contemporary Fantasy, Mythology.
PUBLISHER:
Bloomsbury YA
SUMMARY: 

Zara’s family moved to Kilshamble for a new beginning. But everything changed the night her sister was found dead on the village green.

Two months later, Laila’s death is a riddle that nobody wants solved. Where were her injuries? Why was she so obsessed with local folklore? And what does all this have to do with David, the boy who lives at the big house? Continue reading

The Wren Hunt (The Wren Hunt #1) By Mary Watson [Review]

The Wren Hunt (The Wren Hunt, #1)RELEASE DATE: April 4th 2019
AUTHOR:
Mary Watson
GENRE:
  Young-Adult, Contemporary Fantasy, Mythology.
PUBLISHER:
Bloomsbury YA
SUMMARY: 

Every winter, Wren Silke is chased through the forest in a warped version of a childhood game. The boys who haunt her are judges, powerful and frightening pursuers, who know nothing of her true identity. If they knew she was an augur, their sworn enemy, the game would turn deadly. Continue reading

Kiss the Fae (Vicious Faeries #1) By Natalia Jaster [Review]

Kiss the Fae (Vicious Faeries, #1)RELEASE DATE: November 5th 2020
AUTHOR:
Natalia Jaster
GENRE:
  New-Adult, Fantasy, Fae, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Independent
SUMMARY: 

For fans of Labyrinth, Sarah J. Maas, and Laini Taylor.

There are three rules to surviving the Fae—and I’m about to break every single one.

Rule #1. Never cross into Faerie. Continue reading

Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts #3) By Sara Wolf [Review]

Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)RELEASE DATE: November 3rd, 2020
AUTHOR:
Sara Wolf
GENRE:
  Young-Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Entangled Teen
SUMMARY: 

The finale to the epic Bring Me Their Hearts series reaches its thrilling conclusion, full of intrigue, emotion, and of course romance.

Reunited with Lucien, Malachite, and Fione, Zera finally has the choice of whether or not to regain her humanity and give up her life as a Heartless. But with war raging and an army of valkerax on the loose, she’s never needed immortality more. Continue reading

Winter Plague (Complete Collection) By Quinn Blackbird [ARC REVIEW]

Winter Plague (Complete Collection)RELEASE DATE: December 29th, 2020
AUTHOR:
Quinn Blackbird
GENRE:
  New-Adult, Post-Apocalyptic, Adventure, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Independent
SUMMARY: 

If you tried to run, you know what would happen, Winter.
I would hunt you down and burn the world to find you…

The world has gone to shit.
All that’s left are a few bands of rogue survivors, more dangers than ever, those violence-loving rotters, and me and my dog, Cleo. Well, it should just be Cleo and me. And it was, until–
I found them. Continue reading

Kingdom of the Wicked (Kingdom of the Wicked #1) By Kerri Maniscalco [Review]

Kingdom of the Wicked (Kingdom of the Wicked, #1)RELEASE DATE: October 22nd 2020
AUTHOR:
Kerri Maniscalco
GENRE:
  Young-Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Jimmy Patterson
SUMMARY: 

Two sisters.One brutal murder. A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself… And an intoxicating romance. Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon finds the body of her beloved twin…desecrated beyond belief. Devastated, Emilia sets out to find her sister’s killer and to seek vengeance at any cost-even if it means using dark magic that’s been long forbidden. Continue reading

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue By V.E. Schwab [Review]

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRueRELEASE DATE: October 6th 2020
AUTHOR:
V.E. Schwab
GENRE:
 Adult, Historical Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Tor Books
SUMMARY: 

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world. Continue reading