When Villains Rise (Market of Monsters #3) By Rebecca Schaeffer [Review]

When Villains Rise (Market of Monsters, #3)RELEASE DATE: September 8th 2020
AUTHOR:
Rebecca Schaeffer
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Horror, Urban Fantasy.
PUBLISHER:
HMH Books For Young Readers
SYNOPSIS:

Dexter meets Victoria Schwab in this dark and compelling fantasy about a girl who is determined to take down the black market once and for all in the conclusion to the trilogy that started with the critically acclaimed Not Even Bones.

Nita finally has Fabricio, the boy who betrayed her to the black market, within her grasp. But when proof that Kovit’s a zannie—a monster who eats pain in order to survive—is leaked to the world, Nita must reevalute her plans. Continue reading

Sting Magic (Empire of War and Wings #1) By Sarah K.L. Wilson [ARC Review]

Sting Magic (Empire of War and Wings #1)RELEASE DATE: September 21st 2020
AUTHOR: 
Sarah K.L. Wilson
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Magic.
PUBLISHER: 

SYNOPSIS:

She has the wrong kind of magic but the right kind of heart.

In the Winged Empire, magic comes on swift wings.

Literally.

It manifests from its bearers as a bird, granting its skills to those who wield it. Continue reading

Dark Skies (Dark Shores #2) By Danielle L. Jensen [Review]

Dark Skies (Dark Shores Book 2)RELEASE DATE: May 5th 2020
AUTHOR: 
Danielle L. Jensen
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Magic, Adventure.
PUBLISHER: 
Tor Teen
SYNOPSIS:

A RUNAWAY WITH A HIDDEN PAST
Lydia is a scholar, but books are her downfall when she meddles in the plots of the most powerful man in the Celendor Empire. Her life in danger, she flees west to the far side of the Endless Seas and finds herself entangled in a foreign war where her burgeoning powers are sought by both sides. Continue reading

Fable (Fable #1) By Adrienne Young [Review]

Fable (Fable, #1)RELEASE DATE: September 1st 2020
AUTHOR: 
Adrienne Young
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Adventure.
PUBLISHER: 
Wednesday Books
SYNOPSIS:

Welcome to a world made dangerous by the sea and by those who wish to profit from it. Where a young girl must find her place and her family while trying to survive in a world built for men.

As the daughter of the most powerful trader in the Narrows, the sea is the only home seventeen-year-old Fable has ever known. It’s been four years since the night she watched her mother drown during an unforgiving storm.

Continue reading

The Inheritance Games (The Inheritance Games #1) By Jennifer Lynn Barnes [Review]

The Inheritance Games (Inheritance Games, #1)RELEASE DATE: September 1st 2020
AUTHOR: 
Jennifer Lynn Barnes
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Contemporary, Thriller.
PUBLISHER: 
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
SYNOPSIS:

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. Continue reading

Where Dreams Descend (Kingdom of Cards#1) By Janella Angeles [Review]

Where Dreams Descend (Kingdom of Cards, #1)RELEASE DATE: August 25th 2020
AUTHOR: 
Janella Angeles
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Magic.
PUBLISHER:
Wednesday Books
SYNOPSIS:

In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus, only to find themselves under the threat of an unseen danger striking behind the scenes.

As each act becomes more and more risky and the number of missing magicians piles up, three are forced to reckon with their secrets before the darkness comes for them next. Continue reading

The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow #2) By Margaret Owen [Review]

The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)RELEASE DATE: August 18th 2020
AUTHOR: 
Margaret Owen
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Magic.
PUBLISHER:
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
SYNOPSIS:

Kings become outcasts and lovers become foes in the thrilling sequel to Margaret Owen’s The Merciful Crow.

As the new chieftain of the Crows, Fie knows better than to expect a royal to keep his word. Still she’s hopeful that Prince Jasimir will fulfill his oath to protect her fellow Crows. But then black smoke fills the sky, signaling the death of King Surimir and the beginning of Queen Rhusana’s merciless bid for the throne Continue reading

Tweet Cute By Emma Lord [Review]

Tweet CuteRELEASE DATE: January 21st 2020
AUTHOR: 
Emma Lord
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Contemporary, Romance
PUBLISHER:
Wednesdays Books
SYNOPSIS:

Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around perfectionist. Her family may be falling apart, but their massive fast-food chain is booming―mainly thanks to Pepper, who is barely managing to juggle real life while secretly running Big League Burger’s massive Twitter account.

Enter Jack, class clown and constant thorn in Pepper’s side. Continue reading

Sisters of Sword and Song By Rebecca Ross [Review]

Sisters of Sword and SongRELEASE DATE: June 23rd 2020
AUTHOR: 
Rebecca Ross
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Adventure.
PUBLISHER:
Harper Teen
SYNOPSIS:

After eight years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon unexpectedly appears a day early, Eva knows something is wrong. Halcyon has charged with a heinous crime, and though her life is spared, she is sentenced to 15 years.

Suspicious of the charges, brought forth by Halcyon’s army commander, as well as the details of the crime, Eva volunteers to take part of her sister’s sentence. Continue reading

The Damned (The Beautiful #2) By Renée Ahdieh [Review]

The Damned (The Beautiful, #2)RELEASE DATE: July 7th 2020
AUTHOR:
Renée Ahdieh
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Adventure.
PUBLISHER:
G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
SYNOPSIS:

Following the events of The Beautiful, Sébastien Saint Germain is now cursed and forever changed. The treaty between the Fallen and the Brotherhood has been broken, and war between the immortals seems imminent. The price of loving Celine was costly. But Celine has also paid a high price for loving Bastien. Continue reading