Spinning Silver By Naomi Novik [Review]

Spinning SilverRELEASE DATE: July 10th, 2018
AUTHOR: 
Naomi Novik
GENRE:   
Adult, Fantasy, Magic, Retelling. 
PUBLISHER:
Macmillan
SUMMARY: 

Miryem is the daughter and granddaughter of moneylenders… but her father isn’t a very good one. Free to lend and reluctant to collect, he has loaned out most of his wife’s dowry and left the family on the edge of poverty–until Miryem steps in. Hardening her heart against her fellow villagers’ pleas, she sets out to collect what is owed–and finds herself more than up to the task. When her grandfather loans her a pouch of silver pennies, she brings it back full of gold.

But having the reputation of being able to change silver to gold can be more trouble than it’s worth–especially when her fate becomes tangled with the cold creatures that haunt the wood, and whose king has learned of her reputation and wants to exploit it for reasons Miryem cannot understand.

amazon-badge

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

Image result for it was wonderful gif

Once again, Naomi weaved a wonderful tale filled with magic and adventure. This book is a great treat for all the fairy-tale lovers. It’s a loose re-imagining of Rumpelstiltskin which incorporates other parts of fairy tales as well. I didn’t know much about the original Rumpelstiltskin tale, but I really loved the synopsis. I’ve been very eager to get my hands on this book since I’ve heard about it. To be honest, I actually enjoyed this book even more than Uprooted, Naomi’s another fairytale retelling. It was so good. The story was captivating enough to hold your attention till the end. The wintry setting was just beautiful and I really wish I had read this in winter because it makes a perfect winter read. The characters were amazing. I loved all the three female protagonists especially Miryem. I enjoyed seeing them grow into strong women.

Miryem is the daughter of a Jewish Moneylender who’s a kind and good hearted man. Her grandfather is also a successful Moneylender, but unfortunately her father’s not very good at his job. Because of his good heart, all the people in her village who owed him are reluctant to pay back their debts which lead their family into poverty. While her family are struggling to survive, the people who owed them are prospering in happiness. When Miryem’s mother falls sick, she hardens her heart and takes over her father’s job by setting out to collect what is owed to them. She soon becomes a successful money lender in her village. When her grandfather loans her a pouch of silver pennies, she turns them into gold with her smart mind. Soon her reputation as someone who can turn silver to gold escalates and it captures the attention of the staryk people, the cold magical creatures who loots their village for gold when the snow falls. When the king of staryk appears before her and offers her a deal, Miryem couldn’t say no to him because the other option is death. 

I thought this story is about Miryem but actually there are two more female protagonists in this book Wanda, and Irinushka.  Miryem is obviously the main protagonist, but I also loved Wanda and Irina. I enjoyed how their stories connected together. Miryem is a strong woman who’ll do anything to protect her loved ones. Wanda leads a hard life by living with a drunk abusive father and looking after her two brothers. When fate brings her a chance to escape the hell she’s living, she doesn’t hesitate to take it. Irina is the daughter of a duke whose mother died when she was young. She never have been loved by her father. She was raised by her nanny Magreta who’s more like a mother figure to her. When a demon targets her, she cleverly escapes from his clutches. Although I enjoyed these three woman, I mostly enjoyed Miryem, and Irina’s POV’s. As for the supporting characters, I really liked The winter King, Mirnatius, and little Stepon. There’s not much romance in this book which was kinda disappointing because I wanted more Winter King and Miryem. I absolutely loved their every interaction. 

The plot was amazing! It’s a slow paced read but it has an interesting story-line which will never leave you bored. The story sucked me in from the first chapter and I finished it in two sittings. It was an unpredictable read and never failed to surprise me till the end. The author’s narrating skills were pretty impressive. I loved her writing style. The book was told in multiple first person POV’s. I had an issue with the switching pov’s without announcement because it really confused me sometimes, and also it would’ve been great if the book was written in Miryem, Wanda, and Irina’s POV’s only because I really wasn’t interested in other’s POV’s. The world building was fantastic! I loved the cold wintry setting, magic, and the culture inspired from the Russian background and mythology. It reminded me of a lot of Bear and The Nightingale which is another Russian inspired fairy-tale retelling. If you loved this book, then you should also check that out.

Overall, I loved this book! It’s an enchanting tale about three strong women fighting to make their own fate. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. It definitely lived up to all the hype and I can’t wait to know what Naomi has in store for us  next. 

Recommend it?
YES
Image result for read the book gif

I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves fairy-tale retellings with strong female protagonists.  


MY RATING:
4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read it yet? Do you Plan to read it?
Please feel free to comment below!

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂Signature

37 thoughts on “Spinning Silver By Naomi Novik [Review]

  1. harpergraeblog August 12, 2018 / 10:52 pm

    This is one I’ve been tentative about reading, after reading your review though I’ve put it straight on the wishlist of books to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. meltotheany August 13, 2018 / 1:12 am

    Amazing review, beautiful! I’m so happy you enjoyed! And I can’t wait to see what Naomi Novik does next! Happy reading, Raven! ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sionna (Books in Her Eyes) August 13, 2018 / 2:37 am

    I guess I better read this book! I thought this was a sequel to Uprooted, which I haven’t read either. Now knowing that they are standalones makes me want to read them even more! Thanks for your enticing review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 16, 2018 / 4:31 am

      Spinning silver isn’t a sequel to Uprooted. They’re both set in different worlds. I hope you it enjoy when you finally get around to it. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. LairOfBooks August 13, 2018 / 4:47 am

    YASSSS! I agree with so many of your points like the unannounced switching of POV’s & also wishing I had read it during the Winter time. Overall I enjoyed this story & also found Miryem’s POV to be the most interesting. I haven’t read Uprooted but I’m now very interested in it & since I own a copy I may just read it this Winter 💜 Wonderful review Raven! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 16, 2018 / 4:39 am

      I’m glad you agree with me! Those switching POVs really confused me. I loved Miryem. She’s my favorite character. I can’t wait for you to read Uprooted. It’s a beauty and the beast retelling. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
      Thank you, Lilly! 😘

      Liked by 1 person

      • LairOfBooks August 16, 2018 / 9:09 am

        Thanks Raven! I hope I enjoy it as much as Spinning Silver 🤞🏼I LOVE a good BATB retelling ☺️💕

        Liked by 1 person

  5. readingbystarlightblog August 13, 2018 / 6:00 am

    I was a little hesitant to pick this one up… It was one of my more anticipated reads this year but I started Uprooted and I just feel so disconnected from the story and writing??? I want to love it so bad! Maybe it’s just the reading slump I’m stuck in *crosses fingers and toes*. After reading your review though I’m excited to read Spinning Silver – great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 16, 2018 / 4:46 am

      Uprooted was a magical read but I wouldn’t recommend you to read it while you’re in a slump because it’s a pretty slow paced read and I had skipped some pages to get to the end. Spinning Silver has an interesting story line. It was better than Uprooted. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it.
      Thank you! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ashley @ Book Tales August 13, 2018 / 6:23 am

    Glad to see another positive review for this one! It’s getting so much hype and I can’t wait to finally get to it! Amazing review Raven! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 16, 2018 / 4:47 am

      Thank you, Ashley! This book was amazing! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Happy reading! ❤️

      Like

  7. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirl) August 13, 2018 / 7:50 am

    Wonderful review! I absolutely loved this novel! I have to admit, I wasn’t too much a fan of Uprooted, but Spinning Silver totally blew me away with how much I enjoyed it. The random switching of POV confused me too, but I think that viewing it from all three of the girls’ perspectives (and even some of the others) definitely added depth to the story and the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 16, 2018 / 4:56 am

      Thank you! 😊 I’m glad you loved it too! Uprooted wasn’t my favorite either but I enjoyed the story. Spinning Silver was better than Uprooted. It has an interesting storyline and wonderful characters. The extra POV’s did add more depth to the story but it kinda slowed down the plot a bit.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. The Candid Cover August 13, 2018 / 4:32 pm

    This is one that I should be adding to my TBR asap! I love retellings like this and the fact that you loved it so much has me really excited about it. I will definitely have to give this a try. Lovely review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 16, 2018 / 4:59 am

      If you love retellings then you’ll definitely enjoy this book. It was so good. I hope you enjoy it when you finally get to it.
      Thank you! ❤️

      Like

  9. Tanaz Masaba August 13, 2018 / 7:53 pm

    I love fairytale retellings and Rumplestiltskin was one of my favorite childhood stories growing up! Amazing review as always Raven, and thanks for pinging this on my radar. Slow pacing isn’t really a problem for me as long as the plot and the character development is good enough, so I’ll definitely read this soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 16, 2018 / 5:02 am

      Thank you, Tanaz! ❤️If you love fairytale retellings and rumplestiltskin, then this book is just for you! You’ll definitely love it! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. ~ Angie Elle ~ August 13, 2018 / 10:56 pm

    My loan came in from the library, and I can’t wait to read this one! I missed out on all the Uprooted hubbub (which I still want to read,) but I’m glad to be reading this one soon.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Beware Of The Reader August 15, 2018 / 1:19 am

    Not read yet but adding to my TBR based on your fantastic review Raven!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Marie August 17, 2018 / 10:56 pm

    Lovely review, Raven! I am happy to hear you enjoyed that one a bit more than I did – but glad I wasn’t the only one a bit confused by the sudden changes of POV, haha. I’m happy you enjoyed it depite this! 🙂 ❤ Unfortunately, I had a bit of a hard time being captivated by the story overall, but I think that's a case of "it's just me" hahaha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 18, 2018 / 3:17 am

      Thank you, Marie! ❤️I’m sorry you didn’t love this book. I can understand why you didn’t connect with the story. The shifting POVs was a bit confusing and i think the slow pace didn’t worked out well for you. Anyways, I hope you’re enjoying your current read! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Jen August 20, 2018 / 10:28 am

    Oh my goodness, I STILL have to read her first book *hides face*. I’m so happy to hear how much you enjoyed this book and I have a feeling I’m going to love both of her books a lot when I pick them up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 25, 2018 / 4:40 am

      I can’t wait for you to read spinning silver. It’s a wonderful read but I must warn you it is a slow paced read and has multiple POVs. I really hope you enjoy it! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer September 5, 2018 / 10:27 am

    Great review of this retelling. ❤️ I have wondered about it. Thanks for the recommendation. I always like Rumpelstiltskin and how smart the girl was.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment