Submerged(Dance of the Elements #2) By A.M. Deese [ARC Review]

Submerged (Dance of the Elements #2)RELEASE DATE: June 29th 2019
AUTHOR:
A.M. Deese
GENRE:
    Young-Adult,Fantasy, Adventure, Magic, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Independently Published 
SUMMARY:

A WARRIOR PRINCESS.

A DOPPLEGANGER.

CHAOTIC SEAS AND ANCIENT SECRETS.

“Jura pictured her friend’s beautiful face.”

Jura and Tylak have successfully infiltrated the nation of Kitoi in search of answers but come upon a web of lies that will unravel the world as they know it. With the Tri-Alliance shattered and puppets controlling The Republic, they must find a way to save their nation before all perish.

“Tylak reached for her hand, interlacing her fingers with his own.”

Together, Jura and Tylak set out to free Amira from the clutches of a ruler gone mad. Jura hopes to meet with the Sea King in a desperate attempt to stop the impending war. Instead, she encounters his daughter, Coralyn, a powerful princess with plans of her own.

With the drums of war beating faster, and more secrets rising all around her, Jura and her allies must stop the Queen of Shadows before the Sand Sea is submerged in chaos.

amazon-badge

MY REV (Copy)

*ARC received from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Submerged is the second book in the Dance Of The Elements series. Last year, I’ve read the first book Ignited and I really liked it. I think this one’s a pretty good sequel. I enjoyed it even more than the first book. I liked the new set of characters and also the main characters Jura and Tylak. This series has a unique concept and great world building. The multiple POV’s might become a issue for some readers, but if you can handle that, then you’ll definitely enjoy reading this series. The following review contains minor spoilers from the first book.

The story follows six characters Jura, Tylak, Kay, Coral, Ash, Beshar, and Amira. Although this book features seven characters, the central focus was on Jura and Tylak’s journey. After the events in the first book, Jura and Tylak journey to Kitoi to rescue her friend Amira. She doesn’t have any answers for her strange powers yet but she’ll do anything to save her people. The former Shadow Dancer Tylak decides to be her bodyguard along their journey. Jura starts to have feelings for Tylak who filled the void left by her first love Markhim. I quite enjoyed Tylak and Jura’s relationship in this book. The romance was a pretty much a slow burn. I also enjoyed the bond between Ash and Kay. They’re like father and daughter. Little girl Kay is very naive and innocent but she has a strong fire power. She has a potential to become a strong weapon if trained well. I enjoyed watching her grow and can’t wait to see her in action in the next book. Beshar, the Ninth of the thirteen was an interesting character. His bodyguards The Samur are a bit creepy. He’s on the good side and helps Amira to fight against the unknown villain, he’s aware that her father is controlled by someone who wants to destroy tri-alliance and bring war into the world. Princess Coral is the daughter of the Sea King. She’s one of the major characters in the book. After a tragic event, she sets on the journey to vengeance. Amira is Jura’s best friend. She was kidnapped as a bait for Jura. She’s pretty confused about her situation, but she’ll do anything to survive.

The plot was engaging throughout. It’s a little long book, but I never felt the need to skip the pages. Once you’re into the story, you’re hooked. The plot moved in a steady pace, it’s neither fast or slow. There are a lot of interesting twists and turns throughout. I liked the writing style of the author. The book was written in third person multiple POV’s. The shifting POV’s between different characters didn’t bother me much. It gave more insight to the story. The ending was pretty good. I’m excited to know what happens in the next book. The world building and the magic was perfect and unique. It’s one of the best aspect of this series.

Overall, I loved this book!  It’s a perfect YA fantasy read filled with magic, adventure, and romance. The book concluded with a cliffhanger and I’m very much excited for the next book.

Recommend it?
Yes

I highly recommend this book for YA fantasy lovers.

MY RATING:

4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1
[4/5 Stars]


So, What do you think of this book? Have you read it yet? Do you Plan to read it?
Please feel free to comment below!

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

 

18 thoughts on “Submerged(Dance of the Elements #2) By A.M. Deese [ARC Review]

  1. Beware Of The Reader August 18, 2019 / 7:59 pm

    First time that I hear about it Raven! But it does seem a good fantasy series!

    Like

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 21, 2019 / 2:02 am

      Thank you, Lashaan! Yeah, you’re right! The face and the expression looks a bit a similar to the one in the Black Swan poster.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate August 19, 2019 / 3:37 pm

    I’m so happy you enjoyed this even more than the first book, Raven! It does sound like a wonderful story, and I don’t mind multiple POVs as long as they’re done well. Too many and it can get confusing, I admit, but it doesn’t sound like the case here. Also, hurray for a fast-paced, gripping plot!
    I love doppelganger stories as well, they always have really interesting dynamics going on.
    Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 21, 2019 / 2:06 am

      Thank you, Sophie! I struggled with the multiple POV’s in the first book but as the story progressed, I started to enjoy it. I hope you give it a shot if you’re looking for something unique.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Candid Cover August 20, 2019 / 6:09 pm

    I love it when a second book in a series surpasses the first! This sounds like such an enjoyable concept. I can see why you have enjoyed these books so much. I will have to keep an eye out for them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions August 21, 2019 / 2:07 am

      I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did! Yeah, it was really a unique read with interesting characters. I hope you enjoy it if you decide to give it a shot!

      Like

  4. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer August 24, 2019 / 12:03 am

    Oooooh I wasn’t really interested in this but I really enjoy 3rd person Multiple POVs! I also find it really gives a story more depth. I’m really getting a handle on your ratings too Raven! I feel like a 4 is a really solid read and will be one I would enjoy coming from you. ❤️ I’m interested in the Samur too! I’ve been hankering for creepy. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 9, 2019 / 12:30 am

      I rarely give five stars so yeah four stars means a solid read for me. I hope you enjoy this series if you decide to give it a shot!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jen September 4, 2019 / 10:01 am

    This series has the prettiest covers! And I can like multiple povs to learn more about the story, as long as they sound different enough from each other. This one sounds really good, here’s hoping you don’t have to wait too long to find out what happens next!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment