A Kiss in the Dark By Gina Ciocca [Review]

A Kiss in the DarkRELEASE DATE: March 06th, 2018
AUTHOR:
Gina Ciocca
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Contemporary, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Simon Pulse
SUMMARY:

After being kissed by a mystery guy when the lights go out during a football game, Macy is determined to figure out which of three possible boys is the culprit in this funny, poignant, and achingly romantic novel from the author of Last Year’s Mistake.

When the lights go out at a Georgia high school football game, senior Macy Atwood finds herself in the arms of a boy who kisses her senseless—but he’s gone by the time the lights come back on. All she knows is that there was something special—and oddly familiar—about her mystery kisser.

Noah Granger, Ridgedale’s resident bad boy and newest transfer student, has no problem taking credit for the kiss, but Macy can’t shake the feeling that he’s lying. Especially since a photograph of Macy and former star football player Joel Hargrove resurfaced online moments before the blackout, a not-so-random reminder of how hard she fell for Joel last year. And how doing so ultimately sent her lifelong friendships with Meredith Kopala and Ben Collins up in literal smoke.

Soon last year’s wounds begin to reopen as Macy realizes the events that unfolded during junior year are somehow tied to her mystery kisser.

But the closer Macy gets to figuring it all out, the more she starts to worry that the boy who kissed her in the dark and the boy who is stealing her heart might be two very different people.

amazon-badge

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

I have mixed feelings about this book. It was fun to read, but honestly I didn’t enjoy it as much as I hoped. From the blurb and the cover, I expected some swoon worthy romance not some high school drama. The mystery and the twists in the plot were pretty much predictable. The main character was not bad but her ignorance quite frustrated me. I’m not saying it was a terrible read because the plot was entertaining enough to enjoy and some might even love it if you’re into books set in high school. This was actually my first book by Gina Ciocca but definitely not my last.

The book starts with high school senior Macy Atwood attending the football game. Everyone was assembled at the ground, but suddenly when the lights go out, someone kisses her passionately in the dark. Macy gets surprised by the kiss but she couldn’t push him away because he feels like someone familiar that she don’t want to let go. When the lights turns back on, her mystery kisser disappears leaving her perplexed. Macy feels that he is someone she already knows and currently she has two people in her mind. It’s either Noah Granger, the school’s bad boy and transfer student or her ex-boyfriend Joel Hargrove who broke her heart. Noah quickly takes credit for the kiss but she believes that he’s lying. So much has happened on her junior year which ruined her friendship with Meredith Kopala and Ben Collins. Now dealing with the last year’s events, Macy tries to figure out who actually kissed her.

Macy Atwood is an okay-ish character but she’s not my favorite protagonist. I really liked her at the beginning but as the story progressed, she started to annoy me. She seemed too dumb to figure out the answers even when they are right in front of her. I really wanted to strangle her when she can’t see the obvious. Joel is a complex character who’s fighting his own issues. He was always treated like an outsider in his school because he once belonged to their rival school. Noah is the school’s bad boy and and a new transfer student. Okay, there’s nothing special about this guy except for the secret he’s hiding. I really liked Ben Collins. He’s super sweet, caring, talented, and good hearted. I also liked Macy’s best friend Meredith. I felt sorry for Meredith but I really enjoyed the friendship between her and Macy.

The plot was fun but I hate that it was mostly centered around high school homecoming drama. Apart from the mystery kisser aspect, it was nothing original. The mystery and the twists were pretty easy to figure out. I was somewhat disappointed with the romance part. The cover is a bit deceiving because romance is definitely not the major focus in this book. The only redeeming factors of this book are the friendship, the family dynamics, and the diverse aspects. The writing was pretty good and easy to follow. The whole story was told in Macy’s first person POV. I liked the format of this book. The story alternates between Macy’s senior year and junior year so we could see what really happened in the past.

Overall, I enjoyed the book but I didn’t love it. The drama kept me interested but I wish there was more romance, and the secondary characters were a bit more fleshed out. Anyway, the story finally wraps up pretty nicely with a satisfying cute ending.

Recommend it?
Yes

I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves to read YA contemporary books surrounding high school life. 


MY RATING: 
4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read this yet? Do you want to read it?
Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤
See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

31 thoughts on “A Kiss in the Dark By Gina Ciocca [Review]

  1. booksandblends March 21, 2018 / 2:01 am

    Great review, Raven! I hate you didn’t like it as much as you wanted to.
    I had my eye on this one, but I think I’m going to pass on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions April 1, 2018 / 9:05 pm

      Thank you, Kayla! I know you love romance as much as I do so I don’t think you would enjoy this book much either. And sorry for the late reply, I just found your comment in my spam folder. I don’t know why it has gone into the spam.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. stephaniesbookreviews March 21, 2018 / 3:09 am

    This looks pretty cute! It does seem like it would be pretty clichéd and predictable, but sometimes I’m in the mood for that. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kelly G March 21, 2018 / 6:28 am

    I am super excited to read this book. I really love the cover for this one and it sounds like such an incredibly romantic read, so I’m hoping for a nice, cute book to settle down with!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Beware Of The Reader March 21, 2018 / 11:09 pm

    So sorry you got rather high school drama than swoony romance Raven!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions March 24, 2018 / 1:42 am

      This book is mostly about homecoming and prom. There is a cute romance but it’s definitely not swoon worthy.

      Like

  5. Marie March 21, 2018 / 11:47 pm

    Lovely review, Raven! I’m sorry to hear that this book didn’t entirely convince you, it always is annoying whenever the main character isn’t your favorite and the drama just takes over everything. The whole mystery and synopsis sounded like you could be in for a very cute and swoony romance, I’m sorry you didn’t got much of that :/ Hope your next read will be better 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions March 24, 2018 / 1:50 am

      Thank you, Marie! I had my fill of high school drama but now I’m so over it. I think other people will enjoy it more than I did. The predictable mystery was a bit disappointing. Thank you, I hope so too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Poulami @ Daydreaming Books March 22, 2018 / 12:41 am

    This book sounds okayish… but that is not a love triangle I am going to invest my heart in and by the sound of it, the protagonist didn’t live up to your expectations, so that’s a red signal for me.
    Anyway, great review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Becky Gutierrez March 22, 2018 / 10:22 pm

    I actually got this book last weekend! I really can’t wait to read it, loved your review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The Candid Cover March 23, 2018 / 3:54 am

    Man! It is so disappointing when a book that sounds amazing doesn’t quite live up to your expectations. I get a bit turned off with a predictable plot as well. I hope that you love your next read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions March 24, 2018 / 2:06 am

      I hate predictable plots too and the whole high school drama in this book seemed too much to me. I wish it focused a bit more on other aspects too. Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  9. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate March 23, 2018 / 5:33 am

    Aw, it sucks that this was such an okay read… I mean, I was expecting it to be super cute and romantic and yet it focused too much on the drama. That’s a real shame. I’m personally bored of all the high school dynamics and dumb protagonists without a worthy personality. It’s all very “meh”.
    I’m glad this had some redeeming qualities and wasn’t awful but I expected more after hearing such good things about Ciocca’s work.
    Amazing review, Raven!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions March 24, 2018 / 2:15 am

      I might’ve loved this book ten years back but now I’m so over high school drama. I thought I would love this book but it’s mostly about homecoming, prom, and mending broken friendships. The romance was cute but it was very little in this book. I’ve heard Last Year’s Mistake is pretty good so I might give it a shot someday.
      Thank you, Sophie! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Prima March 23, 2018 / 5:13 pm

    When you get drama instead of cute romance… WHY 😦 From your review, it sounds like this book is a lot like the author’s other one, Last Year’s Mistakes, with the kind of annoying main character and the petty high school drama. I really enjoyed it though – the romance in it was pretty good. I’ll definitely check this one out though. Your review has made me really curious about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions March 24, 2018 / 2:19 am

      I’ve heard great things about Last Year’s Mistakes and I really want to give it a shot too. Anyway, I hope you enjoy this book more than I did.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer March 24, 2018 / 12:30 pm

    Aren’t three star reviews the worst to write?! I feel like I’m saying don’t read it but do read it at the same time! So odd this wasn’t romance centered with that cover… great review Raven, not a fan of high school so I’ll pass ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions March 29, 2018 / 3:52 am

      Thank you, Dani! Three star reviews always gives me a hard time. If you aren’t fan of high school books then it’s better skip this one.

      Like

  12. Jen April 2, 2018 / 12:03 pm

    I get so frustrated when the answers are right there and the character never gets them. I just want to shake some sense into them. While it still sounds like a cute book, here’s hoping that the next book you pick up by her will be much more fabulous read!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions April 3, 2018 / 5:34 am

      IKR? It’s totally frustrating! Everyone gets it except for the MC who’s totally oblivious to everything. I’ve heard the other books by the author are pretty good maybe I’ll give them a shot.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment