Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) By Victoria Schwab [Review]

Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity, #2) RELEASE DATE: June 13th 2017
AUTHOR:
Victoria Schwab
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Dystopia, fantasy, Paranormal, Horror.
PUBLISHER: 
Greenwillow Books
SUMMARY: 
Kate Harker is a girl who isn’t afraid of the dark. She’s a girl who hunts monsters. And she’s good at it. August Flynn is a monster who can never be human. No matter how much he once yearned for it. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

Nearly six months after Kate and August were first thrown together, the war between the monsters and the humans is a terrifying reality. In Verity, August has become the leader he never wished to be, and in Prosperity, Kate has become the ruthless hunter she knew she could be. When a new monster emerges from the shadows—one who feeds on chaos and brings out its victim’s inner demons—it lures Kate home, where she finds more than she bargained for. She’ll face a monster she thought she killed, a boy she thought she knew, and a demon all her own.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

Image result for it's great conclusion gif

“There were two kinds of monsters, the kind that hunted the streets and the kind that lived in your head. She could fight the first, but the second was more dangerous. It was always, always, always a step ahead.”

Monsters Of Verity is my first series by V. E. Schwab. I enjoyed the first book Savage Song but sadly, It hasn’t met my expectations. However, I still wanted to give the finale a chance because I liked the characters and the ending of the first book intrigued me enough to check out the next book. Our Dark Duet turned out to be a great conclusion to this Duology. Even though the ending left me a little sad, I think it was a perfect ending to the story. It was even better than the first one and I absolutely loved it. The main characters are totally amazing in this book and I liked the gripping plot which held my attention through out.  

The book picks up six months after the events of Savage Song. Kate Harker is living a new life in Prosperity by hiding her real identity and hunting monsters in the night. August Flynn has succumbed to the darkness and finally embraced his destiny to help his people in Verity. He is the new captain of FTF and helps getting rid of Sinners.  When a new monster emerges in Prosperity it brings chaos everywhere by making people turning against each other and when it goes to Verity, Kate has no choice but to go back to her home town in order kill that thing before it’s too late. After arriving at Verity, she’s surprised to find that the monster she thought she has killed is still alive and a monster of her own alongside him. Now Kate and August has to team up together to kill not only their old enemy but also the new dangerous threat that is wreaking havoc everywhere.

I loved Kate and August! I absolutely enjoyed their character development through out. They’re really good in this book and their flaws makes them so real! Kate is totally kickass! I love her snarkiness along with her great personality. She is strong yet Vulnerable but she never gives up hope and fights till the end. August is a pretty complex character. He’s not the same sweet boy in the first book who yearned to become a human and lead a normal life. He has matured so much since the first book and finally became the leader his people wanted him to be. I enjoyed the relationship between Kate and August. Sadly, there is not much romance in this book because it’s not the major aspect of this book but I still enjoyed their every interaction and how they connect with each other. As for the other characters, I liked Kate’s new friends in prosperity. It’s too bad they didn’t get major parts in this book. If you’ve read the first book then you already know Sloan is still alive. That guy is freaky as hell and definitely gives the dark villainy vibes. Soro Flynn, August’s brother who is also a Sunai monster like him really intrigued me even though he seemed rude in the beginning. I wouldn’t mind a spin-off with him as the main lead. I also liked Ilsa Flynn. She’s such a sweet character and I’m glad she’s not dead. 

The plot was exciting and gripping making you want to find out what would happen next. I was totally hooked to the story right from the first page and with each chapter it becomes even more interesting. The story is more action packed, more darker and more emotional than the first book. It  is a fast paced plot however, I still found some parts a bit slow. Victoria’s writing style is pretty amazing! It’s one of the best aspects of this book and I enjoyed how she described everything so vividly. I liked the POV shift between multiple characters which brought more excitement and depth to the story. The world building is great and also the monsters aspect in this book which makes it a unique read. I’m glad that we finally get to have a glimpse on Prosperity and how it looks totally opposite to Verity, a place filled with monsters. 

Overall, I loved it! The book finally concludes with a sad and emotional ending which left me surprised and heartbroken. Nevertheless, it was a good ending for a finale. Now I’m so ready to devour the ADSOM series. I’ve been hearing lots of praises for this series and I can’t wait to check it out for myself.   

Recommend it?
Image result for yes gif

The monsters of Verity mainly deals with a fight between Good and evil, Light and Dark. I highly recommend this duology to everyone who loves to read Dark YA fantasy set in a dystopian world with paranormal elements.

MY RATING:4-stars1 4-stars14-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read this yet? Do you like to read this book?

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤
See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

32 thoughts on “Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) By Victoria Schwab [Review]

  1. LairOfBooks July 6, 2017 / 1:38 am

    Awesome! I was waiting to read your thoughts on this satisfyingly sad conclusion. Though as sad as it was, I honestly can’t see it ending any other way now. I would love to see more of The Wardens in a spin-off *fingers crossed* I’m also craving more of Schwabs writing & need to get back to the Shades of Magic series. The first book is slow paced like all of her firsts lol but i enjoyed it, need to read A Gathering of Shadows soon. Great review Raven! happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 7, 2017 / 2:01 am

      Thank you! I’m very excited to start Shades of Magic series. I’m glad you enjoyed the first book and I hope you enjoy the next book too! Happy Reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd July 6, 2017 / 3:32 am

    I’m glad to hear you liked this one even though you didn’t like the first one as much! I have yet to read a VE Schwab book but her books sound so intriguing to me! Wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 7, 2017 / 2:07 am

      Thank you! Monsters Of Verity is really an intriguing duology. I hope you get to read it soon. I’m planning to read ADSOM pretty soon and I’m so excited for it. I really hope it doesn’t disappoint me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 7, 2017 / 2:31 am

      Thank you! It’s really a great series! Just give it a try maybe you’ll like it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ChicNerdReads July 6, 2017 / 7:48 am

    Awesome review!! Glad to know that you liked it! Loved the sad conclusion, it gave such a realistic feel to the book. I definitely agree that Sloan is creepy! waaaayyy too creepy. there were times that i was like “i really hope i don’t have nightmares because of this” lol. LOVED THIS REVIEW!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 7, 2017 / 2:15 am

      Thank you! I really hate sad endings but surprisingly, I wasn’t mad at this one. Yeah, Sloan gave me the creeps too. He reminded me of Nosferatu. LOL! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Candid Cover July 6, 2017 / 8:09 am

    I keep hearing so many great things about this one! I am so glad that you enjoyed it. You have made me want to bump it up on my TBR! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 7, 2017 / 2:16 am

      I’m so excited for you to read it. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Analee @ Book Snacks July 6, 2017 / 10:13 am

    Yayayay I am SO glad to hear you enjoyed this one, especially since the first one didn’t meet your expectations! I am SO excited to read this book ahah. I hope you enjoy the Shades of Magic series when you pick it up, it’s one of my favourites. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 7, 2017 / 2:17 am

      You need to pick this up soon! I can’t wait to start ADSOM! It sounds totally epic! 🙂

      Like

  6. Poulami @ Daydreaming Books July 6, 2017 / 4:33 pm

    I haven’t read any of Victoria Schwab’s book till now!! But I am hoping to start very soooon! I’m glad you enjoyed this one, this book just got pushed up in my tbr. 🙂 Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 7, 2017 / 2:22 am

      Thank you, Poulami! I absolutely loved Victoria’s beautiful writing style and I really hope you pick this up soon cause I really want to hear your thoughts on it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Poulami @ Daydreaming Books July 9, 2017 / 9:45 pm

        I will definitely soonish!!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Ashley (The Infinite Library) July 6, 2017 / 6:52 pm

    Ah! I really want to read this series. The first book has been on my TBR for ages and I love Schwab’s books. Everyone’s said great things about this one so far. I hope it lives up to my expectations when I finally get there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 7, 2017 / 2:26 am

      I really think it’s a great series even though the first book didn’t met my expectations. I hope you enjoy it when you finally get to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. calliopethebookgoddess July 7, 2017 / 12:48 am

    Loved the review! I know romance wasn’t really a big part of this book but I would love to read a little novella about Kate and Au
    gust being all romantic cause their relationship is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 7, 2017 / 2:39 am

      Thank you! I totally agree! I really wished there was more romantic scenes between Kate and August because they’d make a great couple. The ending was totally heart-wrenching, I didn’t see that coming. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate July 7, 2017 / 8:21 pm

    I am absolutely reading this duology soon! I thought it was a trilogy so I was putting it off but now I have no excuse hahaha
    Great review, Raven! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 8, 2017 / 2:36 am

      YAY! I hope you love it! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!
      Thank you and Happy Reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Breeny's Books July 8, 2017 / 6:37 pm

    I really need to start this series, and your review made me super pumped to do so. I’m glad you enjoyed this book, and I look forward to reading more of your reviews!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 12, 2017 / 2:11 am

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy reading this duology when you finally get to read it.
      Oh, that’s great! Welcome to blogoshpere! My only advice for you is to keep interacting with the other bloggers and don’t get worried about the low stats and followers count because they’ll usually grow in time. Thank you for the visit! I’m on my way to check out your blog! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks July 11, 2017 / 5:16 am

    This is a brilliant review! Like you, I wasn’t blown away by the first book, which bummed me out because I’m such a massive Schwab fan (ADSOM might be one of my favorite fantasy series ever!) But this one has me intrigued, especially because you said it has a bittersweet ending. Those are my favorite!

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 12, 2017 / 1:44 am

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy it more than the first book! I really need to start ADSOM soon! 🙂

      Like

  12. Lashaan (Bookidote) July 21, 2017 / 12:11 pm

    This Savage Song was my first book by Schwab too and I actually really loved it. I thought it was a really amazing YA debut hahah I had to skim through your review though, but based on your gif and that opening paragraph, I’m now EVEN MORE excited to read this finale!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 July 22, 2017 / 2:35 am

      I’m so excited for you to read this book. It’s even better than the first book. I hope you enjoy it when you finally get to read it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment