Bone Crier’s Moon (Bone Grace #1) By Kathryn Purdie [Review]

Bone Crier's Moon (Bone Grace #1)RELEASE DATE: March 3rd, 2020
AUTHOR:
Kathryn Purdie
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Magic, Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Katherine Tegen Books
SYNOPSIS:

Bone Criers have a sacred duty. They alone can keep the dead from preying on the living. But their power to ferry the spirits of the dead into goddess Elara’s Night Heavens or Tyrus’s Underworld comes from sacrifice. The gods demand a promise of dedication. And that promise comes at the cost of the Bone Criers’ one true love.

Ailesse has been prepared since birth to become the matriarch of the Bone Criers, a mysterious famille of women who use strengths drawn from animal bones to ferry dead souls. But first she must complete her rite of passage and kill the boy she’s also destined to love.

Bastien’s father was slain by a Bone Crier and he’s been seeking revenge ever since. Yet when he finally captures one, his vengeance will have to wait. Ailesse’s ritual has begun and now their fates are entwined—in life and in death.

Sabine has never had the stomach for the Bone Criers’ work. But when her best friend Ailesse is taken captive, Sabine will do whatever it takes to save her, even if it means defying their traditions—and their matriarch—to break the bond between Ailesse and Bastien. Before they all die.

 

amazon-badge

 

MY REV (Copy)

Bone Crier’s Moon is the first installment in Kathryn Purdie’s second YA fantasy series Bone Grace. It’s one of my highly anticipated books of 2020 because I’m a sucker for anything that has enemies to lovers trope. I loved the cover which is of course designed by the talented charlie Bowater. This was a captivating story filled with romance, sisterly love, friendship, magic, and betrayal. The plot was unique but it doesn’t mean that I didn’t have any issues with it. It’s one of those books that you would either hate it or love it.

Bone Crier’s Moon tells the story of Bone criers, women who ferry the spirits of the dead into goddess Elara’s Night Heavens or Tyrus’s Underworld. To dedicate their service to the gods they sacrifice their true love by killing them. All the bone criers gain strength from the animal bones. Ailesse has been prepared since birth to become the matriarch of the Bone Criers, but for the first rite passage she must kill her true love. Her best friend Sabine doesn’t like blood shed and being a bone crier. To help her friend in her rite of passage, they travel to the mortal world to lure her lover and kill him. Bastien’s father was killed by a bone crier when he was young and since then he’s been planning for revenge. After a long wait, the time has come for avenging his father’s death. He sets a trap for a bone crier and finally captures Ailesse but he doesn’t kill her. Meanwhile, Sabine is determined to rescue her friend even if it means going against their matriarch. 

The book follows three characters Ailesse, Bastien, and Sabine. Ailesse is a strong and determined character but I wasn’t very much impressed with her. She isn’t a worst character, I just found her okay-ish. Nothing extra-ordinary. Bastien is also the same. He wasn’t intriguing and I found him a bit dull. I wish there’s some backstory about him. I honestly didn’t care much for Ailese and Bastien but I really loved Sabine. She’s complex and very much loyal to her friend. I really enjoyed her character development. If it isn’t for her, I would’ve given this book a three star rating. The supporting characters aren’t memorable enough to describe. 

The plot was interesting but it’s definitely not a fast paced read. If you’re hooked to the plot then you wouldn’t mind much about the pace. Even though Ailesse and Bastien aren’t my favorite characters, I did enjoyed the forbidden romance between them. The sisterly bond between Ailesse and Sabine was pretty good too. I enjoyed it a lot more than the romance. The author’s writing was captivating. I didn’t have any issues with it. The book was written in multiple POV’s but I mostly enjoyed Sabine’s POV. The world building was great. I loved the bone crier’s concept which was very unique. I hope there’s more magic in the next installment.

Overall, I enjoyed this book! Despite issues, I can’t stop myself from reading it till the end. The book finally concludes with a cliffhanger and I’m definitely picking up the next book when it comes out. 

Recommend it?
YES

I would recommend this book if you like enemies to lovers trope. It was either a hit or miss for some people so I suggest you to lower your expectations before jumping into it. 

MY RATING:

4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1
[4/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read it yet? Do you Plan to read it?
Please feel free to comment below!

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

 

14 thoughts on “Bone Crier’s Moon (Bone Grace #1) By Kathryn Purdie [Review]

  1. Aila @ One Way Or An Author July 21, 2020 / 1:33 am

    Oof, sorry to see the main characters weren’t your fave! 😥 I read Purdie’s previous trilogy’s first book, Burning Glass, and reallyyy disliked it (lol) so I’ve been staying away from her new releases. Glad to see you enjoyed it though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions July 23, 2020 / 1:30 am

      I’ve read Burning Glass by the author and it was a mixed bag for me. I gave it three stars! I’m glad this wasn’t a total disappointment! 😁

      Like

  2. Jen July 21, 2020 / 6:53 am

    I’m a sucker for the enemies to lovers trope too! I’m sorry the romance and Ailesse weren’t spectacular, but here’s hoping the next book is even better and picks up in those areas *fingers crossed*!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shalini July 21, 2020 / 9:18 am

    I have been seeing this around. Not sure if it is for me, great review

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carolina @fictionologyst July 21, 2020 / 9:26 am

    Raveeeen oh how I’ve missed reading your review. This book has a trope that I love, I’m a sucker for enemies to lover too and it sounds like something I might like!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie @BewareOfTheReader July 21, 2020 / 1:29 pm

    I love enemies to lovers but that’s really too bad that the main characters are kind of dull!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Candid Cover July 21, 2020 / 5:39 pm

    I had no idea that Purdie has a new series! This does sound like it will be a great read even though there are a few issues. I will have to give it a try as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment