Tell Me No Lies (Follow Me Back #2) By A.V. Geiger [Review]

Tell Me No Lies (Follow Me Back)RELEASE DATE: June 5th, 2018
AUTHOR: 
A.V. Geiger
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary, Romance. 
PUBLISHER:
Sourcebooks Fire
SUMMARY:

RealEricThorn
No one knows what happened to pop icon Eric Thorn. His Twitter account? Frozen. His cell phone? Cracked and bloody, buried in the snow.

Snowflake734
Tessa Hart knows the truth, but she’s finally left her #EricThornObsessed days behind. She has no intention of ever touching her Twitter app again. But SnapChat…That’s safer, right?

Agoraphobic fangirl Tessa Hart has finally left her house—only to trade one hiding place for another. But she can only stay out of sight for so long before she’s forced to face the deadly consequences of the past.

Back in an interrogation room, answers only lead to more questions in the pulse-pounding conclusion to the Follow Me Back duology.

amazon-badge

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

Tell Me No Lies is one of my highly anticipated sequels of 2018. The first book Follow Me back had ended with an horrifying cliffhanger that left me quite shocked, and since then I was pretty much dying to know what really happened at the end.  I had high expectations for this book, but sadly it didn’t meet my expectations. To be honest, I really enjoyed it, but I was also left disappointed. The story was engaging and thrilling,  but it wasn’t as amazing as the first book. Unlike the first book, this one failed to excite me. Some parts were totally unbelievable and unrealistic. Sometimes the characters made some stupid decisions which really annoyed me. However, despite the flaws, it wasn’t really a boring read.

I’m skipping writing the summary part because I don’t want to give away anything. As the first book, this book also followed the same format starting with a police interrogation transcripts as the story alternates between the past and the present. I liked the police interrogation parts the most because they had always kept me at the edge. There are also lots of  transcripts of Twitter Chats, and Snapchat messages. I liked how the author made use of the social media apps in her story and also making us aware of the dangers of social media communication and how it can ruin lives.

Coming to our main characters, the relationship between Tessa and Eric grows even more strong in this book. They’re both totally flawed, fighting their own demons but they’re perfect for each other. Tessa and Eric were quite paranoid in this book and while dealing with their mental issues, they want to be together by hiding from the world. I love flawed characters but these two annoyed me when they made stupid mistakes. As for the other character Blair, he was still alive roaming around everywhere in search for his Tessa. He’s a creepy stalker and I can’t believe that I felt a bit sympathetic towards him at the end. There are some old and new characters that makes an appearance in this book but revealing them will be a spoiler.

To be honest, the Plot was engaging throughout but my major issue was that it felt way too unrealistic. If you could ignore that fact, then you would probably enjoy this book more than I did. The story begins with a slow start, but don’t worry the pace eventually picks up speed. I liked the sweet romance between Tella and Eric but it’s not the central focus of the story. There are lots of unexpected twists in the book that’ll keep you hooked to the plot till the end. The writing was pretty good. The book was told in third person POV switching between the past to the present police interrogation. Its unique format is one of the aspects I liked about this series.

Overall, it was an enjoyable read filled with mystery, suspense, thrill, drama, and romance. Besides the Internet and social media dangers, this book also heavily deals with mental illness such as anxiety and agrophobia. The ending really isn’t what I had expected, the author cleverly crafted it.  Although It’s a pretty satisfying ending, I’m still left with mixed feelings.

Recommend it?
Yes

Despite my issues, I would definitely recommend this duology to all the readers who likes to read YA thrillers.


MY RATING:
4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read it yet? Do you Plan to read it?
Please feel free to comment below!

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂Signature

18 thoughts on “Tell Me No Lies (Follow Me Back #2) By A.V. Geiger [Review]

  1. stephaniesbookreviews June 12, 2018 / 3:58 am

    I’m really sad that this didn’t live up to the first book, but I it’s good to hear you still enjoyed it. I’m crossing my fingers it comes to my library soon! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. See, the issues you mentioned (plus I never really connected with Eric), are what made me give the first book 3.5 stars, but then that ending! Still, this sequel sounds pretty good so I’m giving it a try. Thanks for your wonderful honest review Raven

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michelle @ Pink Polka Dot Books June 12, 2018 / 12:42 pm

    I am SO glad I read this review because I just started reading this book and was kind of bored??? I am really glad to know it picks up and has twists and turns. Right now I’m just kind of annoyed that Eric is being the typical YA guy who thinks that Tessa is some breakable flower that needs to be protected. Like I know she has anxiety and stuff, but stop treating her like porcelain!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions June 17, 2018 / 4:12 am

      I hope you enjoyed the book more than I did! Eric and Tessa are not my favorite characters but they’re not bad either.

      Like

  4. Beware Of The Reader June 13, 2018 / 2:18 am

    Damn!!!! Too bad as it was one of your most awaited reads! Anyway wonderful review Raven!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Candid Cover June 14, 2018 / 4:31 pm

    I think that this is a series that I might enjoy. I do enjoy a good mystery and this one seems like it is a little bit different from others that I have read. I will add it to my list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jen June 17, 2018 / 6:16 am

    Aren’t cliffhangers the best and worst thing in the world?😂 I’m so sorry that this book didn’t end up being as wonderful as the first. That’s always such a bummer, hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions June 18, 2018 / 2:34 am

      The first book was quite a page turner but this one was just a decent YA thriller with unrealistic plot. I shouldn’t have put such high expectations on it.
      Aww..Thank you Jen, Big hugs right back!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer June 21, 2018 / 1:48 am

    Thanks for the candid review! My writing partner loves mysteries and their puzzles. Going to recommend the books to her anyway, the first sounds great. ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment