The Belles (The Belles #1) By Dhonielle Clayton [Review]

The Belles (The Belles #1)RELEASE DATE: February 08th, 2018
AUTHOR:
Dhonielle Clayton
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Magic.
PUBLISHER:
Gollancz
SUMMARY: Camellia Beauregard is a Belle. In the opulent world of Orleans, Belles are revered, for they control beauty, and beauty is a commodity coveted above all else. In Orleans, the people are born gray, they are born damned, and only with the help of a Belle and her talents can they transform and be made beautiful.But it’s not enough for Camellia to be just a Belle. She wants to be the favorite-the Belle chosen by the queen of Orleans to live in the royal palace, to tend to the royal family and their court, to be recognized as the most talented Belle in the land.But once Camellia and her Belle sisters arrive at court, it becomes clear that being the favorite is not everything she always dreamed it would be.

Behind the gilded palace walls live dark secrets, and Camellia soon learns that the very essence of her existence is a lie-that her powers are far greater, and could be more dangerous, than she ever imagined. And when the queen asks Camellia to risk her own life and help the ailing princess by using Belle powers in unintended ways, Camellia now faces an impossible decision.With the future of Orleans and its people at stake, Camellia must decide: save herself and her sisters and the way of the Belles or resuscitate the princess, risk her own life, and change the ways of her world forever.

 

amazon-badge

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

I was very conflicted writing this review because I really enjoyed this book, but honestly it didn’t blew my mind away. I had some issues with the heroine and also with the pacing. This book was very unique with a lush setting and a beautifully dark concept but I wish it wasn’t too slow. This was my first book by Dhonielle Clayton so I don’t know what to expect from her.  The Belles was really a good read with a unique concept. There are some aspects I loved in this book but there are also some parts that I’m not really fan of.  There is a huge hype over this book and I’ve seen so many of my fellow bloggers giving praises to it which made me quite excited for this book. Sadly, It didn’t make me fall in love with it but I did enjoy the story so I’ll probably continue the series. I’m gonna leave out the summary part for this book because I don’t want to spoil the story for you so let’s get to the characters.  

I didn’t love Camellia but I didn’t hate her either. I was hoping for a rebel belle who can stand up against unfairness and injustice but Camellia is definitely not that. She was very confident when it comes to her skills but as a person, she was too innocent, naive and too trusting person who follows the rules. I wanted to like her but she disappointed me twice in the book, if you had read the book then you’ll know what I’m talking about. And her attraction to the stalker prince really made me roll my eyes cause I seriously don’t see the appeal. The romance was extremely insta-love and I didn’t love it.  I liked the other guy Rémy. He’s assigned as a bodyguard for Camellia. He’s an hard edged guy who’s very loyal to his kingdom but he also has a sweet side that loves his little sisters. I can’t wait to know more about him in the next book. I loved the sisterly bond between Camellia, Padma, Edel, Ambrosia, Valeria and Hana. Among these belle sisters, my favorite was  Edel. She’s stubborn, rebellious, snarky, and also a little bit troublemaker. The villain in this book is a psycho spoiled brat princess who seemed creepy. She’s pretty ruthless, clever, cunning, and quite manipulative. At the beginning, she didn’t seem like the villainy character to me, but as she slowly reveals her evil side, we can say that she definitely fits the villain category but not the strongest type.

The plot was interesting and very refreshing. It was so much darker than I had expected, but I really wish it wasn’t too slow. The first half of book gave princessy vibes with beautiful gowns, fashion, make-up, colorful flowers, and delicious food,  but after halfway through the plot, the story takes a dark turn and that’s where things starts to get interesting. Most of the book is focused on Camellia searching for answers and the only action you’ll get is at the end of the book. If you don’t mind slow paced books then you’ll definitely enjoy this book more than I did. The plot twists were good, they’ll definitely keep you hooked to the story. I loved the diversity in this book but I’ve seen some of the readers having an huge issue regarding the gay characters. It didn’t anger me enough to hate the book but it might anger some readers. Anyways, my major issue was with the heroine Camellia. Even after watching all the evil deeds of the princess, she hopes there’s still some good inside her and I was like “does she lack common sense?”. She does some few mistakes which are forgivable but what made me mad is at the ending part, where something horrible happens and she does nothing but watch and what makes it even worse is that she’s part of it. Her inability to take action really frustrated me.  Even though I was a bit disappointed with her, I’m still interested to see how the story continues in the next book. Okay enough of my rants, coming to the best parts of this book. The writing was beautiful. I loved the colorful lush setting and also the unique concept which shows the dark side of beauty and glamour. I liked the magical system. It was very unique but I did struggle to understand how the whole arcana thing works. 

Overall, I enjoyed this book but it didn’t make it into my favorites list! It’s an interesting read filled with political intrigue, beautiful setting, and a unique magic system. 

Recommend it?
Yes

I recommend this book to everyone who’s  looking for something new and refreshing in YA fantasy.

Trigger warning: Attempted Sexual Assault


MY RATING:
4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read this yet? Do you want to read this book?
Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

Signature

25 thoughts on “The Belles (The Belles #1) By Dhonielle Clayton [Review]

  1. booksandblends February 22, 2018 / 1:16 am

    Great review Raven! I just ordered this from Amazon last week, I’m going to add it to my March TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beware Of The Reader February 22, 2018 / 2:06 am

    Maybe the book was so hyped that you ended disappointed? Wonderful review Raven!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ashley @ Book Tales February 22, 2018 / 3:24 am

    I love the review! I’m trying to lower my expectations before I read this book, especially since I’ve been hearing mixed things, but I hope I enjoy it! I love some good plot twists!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. anovelglimpse February 22, 2018 / 6:14 am

    Oh, this was good to know! I was wondering about this book because it was so hyped. Maybe too much, huh? I might try this one on audio book. We’ll see. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions February 25, 2018 / 4:32 am

      I didn’t liked the MC that’s why I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I hoped. I really hope you enjoy it when you get to it! Thank you! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The Candid Cover February 22, 2018 / 5:21 pm

    This is one that I have been on the fence about. I am not sure that I would be able to get past the pacing. It is quite an interesting and unique concept, though. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions February 25, 2018 / 4:39 am

      It was really a unique read but currently I’m not fan of the MC. The pacing is slow but the mystery in the plot will keep the readers hooked to it till the end.

      Like

  6. Marie February 22, 2018 / 11:34 pm

    Lovely review, Raven! I’m glad to hear you overall enjoyed that one, I am currently reading it and, if I’m surprised that the pacing isn’t quicker, I’m still really loving it so far 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. LairOfBooks February 23, 2018 / 12:15 am

    Love your review Raven! I’m actually glad you mentioned Camelia being sort of a willing participant by not saying/doing anything…I know at the time that I read it I was also peeved by this but forgot to mention it in my review. This book does a great job of sweeping you up with it’s Lush world building but I agree, Camelia def wasn’t my fave character. Remy & Edel were however my faves & THAT ending! I have a feeling the next one will deliver on a couple of front so I’ll keep my fingers crossed for us lol. Happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions February 25, 2018 / 4:51 am

      Thank you, Lilly! 😊I was very furious with camellia at that scene. I was really hoping that she would do something to stop it but in the end she did nothing like a coward. I loved Edel and Remy. I think I would’ve loved this book a lot more if they were the MC’s. I really hope the next book doesn’t disappoint me.

      Like

  8. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer February 23, 2018 / 3:30 am

    I worried about the pacing when I read a excerpt, so I’m not surprised but I’m glad you enjoyed it on some level Raven! Great review Sister ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jen February 23, 2018 / 7:16 am

    Your the second person who’s mentioned it was slower than expected, so thank you so much for talking about that! If I end up picking up this book then I’ll definitely go into it with that mindset and I hope that helps out my reading experience. *fingers crossed*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions February 25, 2018 / 4:55 am

      Yeah, it’s a slow paced book but it’s still an interesting read. I really hope you enjoy it more than I did! Happy reading! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Poulami @ Daydreaming Books February 27, 2018 / 3:52 pm

    The female lead character seems a little too blunt. And the slow pacing is another bummer but I am still glad you enjoyed this. Although I don’t hate insta love as much as I loathe love triangles but this insta-love here definitely sounds bad. Simply bad. Anyway, I hope the sequel is better than this one! Great review Raven! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions February 28, 2018 / 4:30 am

      Thank you, Poulami! 😊❤️ Yeah, the insta love in this book was really bad but the story was pretty good. I really hope so!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. stephaniesbookreviews March 2, 2018 / 3:39 am

    I’ve been seeing a lot of mixed reviews on this book. I really like the cover. I think I’ll probably give it a try someday, but probably not anytime real soon. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Jackie @ Too Much of a Booknerd March 9, 2018 / 6:10 am

    I’m currently listening to the audiobook and I’m also having very mixed feelings! Nothing about the book has really hooked me so far and I can’t really connect to the world or the characters. I don’t know if it’s the book or just my personal taste so I guess I’ll just have to wait and see! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, I’ll try to lower my expectations a little! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment