Shadow Crown (Shadow Crown #1) By Kristen Martin [Review]

Shadow Crown (Shadow Crown #1) RELEASE DATE: October 3rd 2017
AUTHOR:
Kristen Martin
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, Magic.
PUBLISHER: Black Falcon Press
SUMMARY: 
For most people, the act of killing is intangible. Unfathomable. 

But not for seventeen-year-old Arden Eliri. 

Having been involved in Cruex assassination attempts as a mere child, killing is a natural disposition for her. Growing up without parents, in a castle ruled by an iron-fisted king, is the furthest thing from a fairy tale, as is being forced into the Cruex, the king s group of hand-selected assassins. But with each passing year, she comes to enjoy the act of killing more and more. Kill or be killed she chooses the former. A decade ago, King Darius Tymond banished The Caldari those who practice illusié, or old magick from Trendalath Kingdom, ensuring that no Caldari will ever step foot in his kingdom again. 
But Arden discovers otherwise after a dual-assigned mission goes horribly awry. Even more startling, she discovers that she may have more in common with the Caldari than she s been led to believe. Arden wants to trust that King Tymond s intentions are pure, but as their pasts collide in unexpected ways, the quicker she realizes the consequences and dangers of his reign. 

But Arden is also hiding something something that threatens her very existence and she ll have to face her inner darkness and conquer it before it destroys her . . . and the kingdom she’s come to call her home.

amazon-badgegoodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

This book was so disappointing! Its appealing cover is the first thing that grabbed my attention and when I read its premise I totally fell for it cause I love reading assassin books. I really expected this to be a good read because it has an intriguing synopsis and it was written by an amazon bestselling author.  Kristen Martin is a famous booktuber. I don’t follow her channel and I never read her Alpha trilogy so I didn’t know what to expect from her but this book was average and she needs a lot of improvement in her writing skills. The premise said perfect for fans of Marie Lu and  George R.R. Martin – Seriously? Are you kidding me? This really felt like a book for middle graders.  It has so many plot holes and underdeveloped characters.

Since young Arden Aleri is a member of Cruex, a group of skilled assassins of King Tymond. She’s a ruthless assassin who killed many people without any hesitation. All the members of Cruex are under the iron grip of King Darius Tymond. The Cruex assassin’s major job is to hunt down the caldari, people who practice illusié. On a high level mission, Aleri and another assassin named Rydan were selected to hunt down soames family. But at the time of assassination everything goes horribly wrong when Alderi realizes that the Soames are pretty much harmless and their only crime is being an illusié. She also discovers a power that is inside her. With this new discovery, Alderi suspects that King Tymond’s intentions aren’t really pure. So, she flees away from the scene without fully completing her mission which was certainly betraying her king. When she meets a group of Caldari, she decides to join them and she trains with them to control her new found power and also the darkness that is inside her. For a dangerous rescue mission, Alderi and her new friends needs to go back to the Kingdom which means she has to face the king she has betrayed and also her friend that she has left for dead.

All the characters in this book seemed underdeveloped and I couldn’t connect with any one of them. As an assassin, I expected Arden to be a kickass character with dark personality but she was nothing like that. She’s quite fragile and has lots of insecurities. She was looked after by Estelle, an illusié who totally seemed like a babysitter to her. She feeds her, trains her and she was always there for her whenever Arden gets panic attacks. Rydan, Arden’s friend and also one of the member of Cruex seemed like a fun guy at the beginning but he turns out to be a total douche. Braxton is  the only character that I liked in this book but he wasn’t fleshed out well enough. Xerin is the leader of a caldari group who has some interesting powers but he can’t even save his sister by himself. The villain, King Tymond wasn’t strong as I expect him to be instead he was pretty boring. He has no magic powers, he isn’t smart and without his assassins this guy is pretty much nothing. 

The plot was okay-ish but not engaging enough to hold my interest. After half way through the book I found myself counting the pages left to finish it. It’s a fast paced read but nothing exciting happens until the ending. The real action is found at the last ten percent of the book. The twists in the book are pretty predictable. The author didn’t gave any background info about how the magical system was formed and why the King hates the Caldari so much. Maybe it would be revealed in the next book but I won’t be picking it up anytime in the future. The writing was okay-okay. There are some grammatical errors, repetitive sentences, and I also found some modern terms in this book which definitely not fit in this world. I honestly felt like reading a wattpad novel and I can’t believe it was a published novel.  I usually love multiple POV’s in fantasy books, but sadly I didn’t enjoy it in this book. I really wished this was written in a single or maybe a dual POV. The world building and the magic system are good. They’re the only aspects that I liked in this book.

Overall, this was an above average fantasy read for me. It really has a great potential but the execution of the story, and the poor characterization and their development are its major downfall. 

Recommend it?
Image result for I'm not sure gif

If you like to give this book a shot, then go ahead but read it with low expectations.

MY RATING:4-stars14-stars1[2/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read this yet? Do you want to read it
Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤
See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

Signature

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “Shadow Crown (Shadow Crown #1) By Kristen Martin [Review]

  1. Trang (Bookidote) November 13, 2017 / 3:09 am

    Oh nooo not undervelopped characters T_T The cover is so pretty but THANK GOD for your review because I know I shouldnt judge by its cover 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lashaan (Bookidote) November 13, 2017 / 3:31 am

    Holy moly… This sounds awful.. I can’t imagine how disappointing it must have felt. I mean.. not only does it fail to impress, it’s written in a very middle-grade’ish style? It would’ve killed me instantly. Great honest review, Raven. The cover would’ve made me read it too…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions November 15, 2017 / 4:02 am

      Haha I was hoping for a action packed read filled with lots of twists but instead I got a boring read. It seemed like a poor attempt to write an assassin novel.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beware Of The Reader November 13, 2017 / 10:16 pm

    Oh no! Like you said the cover and the blurb were so promising! Too bad there was so many mistakes 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Poulami @ Daydreaming Books November 14, 2017 / 1:15 am

    I’m sorry this book didn’t live up to your expectations. The cover is really appealing though so I can get why you went into it but damn… this book sounds like a total disappointment. Nonetheless, great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions November 15, 2017 / 4:14 am

      I rarely give 2 stars to a book but this one totally deserves it. It was quite boring and it has so many errors.
      Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Celeste November 15, 2017 / 2:02 am

    I’m sorry you didn’t like this one! The cover looks so good though; totally deceiving with the actual content of the book from what you are saying 😕 I also never have quite high expectations for books that are written by youtubers to be honest, I just think that most of the cases they get published because of how “famous” they are or how big their following is instead of how good their writing skills are. And also, saying that it’s the perfect book for fans of Game of Thrones?! LMAOO I hate when they market books as “the next GOT” or “the next Harry Potter”, they seriously need to stop with that marketing trend because it fools no one. Anyways, amazing review!! 😀😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions November 17, 2017 / 5:30 am

      So far, I’ve read only two books by booktubers and I didn’t love them. First thing I’ve observed that they have zero writing skills and it makes me wonder how books like these are getting published. Adding to that, they add things like perfect for Sarah maas and Marie lu fans etc. I have Sasha Alsberg’s Zenith in my tbr and now I’m a bit hesitant to read it. I really hope it doesn’t disappoint me.
      Thank you! 😁

      Like

  6. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer November 15, 2017 / 7:01 am

    OH noooo! I was totally expecting a different review after I saw the cover and the premise…. I actually settled back to read you rave about the book… only to find it was terrible! Multiple POVs should only be attempted by writers who can make them feel different! (Major pet peeve of mine!) I’m so sorry that you could relate to NONE of the characters… better luck next time Raven! ♥️ Thanks for the eye opening review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions November 17, 2017 / 5:39 am

      Yeah, it’s a perfect bait for readers like us. This book was totally an underdeveloped book with so many plot holes. The story has potential but the execution was poor.

      Like

  7. Jen November 20, 2017 / 7:36 am

    Plot holes drive me CRAZY! It’s one of my top pet peeves for books. Especially since I highlight in my Kindle or tab my hardback for things that should get answered. So I’ll definitely be avoiding this book. I’m sorry this was such a disaster and I hope you love the next book you pick up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s