Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel [Review]

Black Bird of the Gallows RELEASE DATE: September 5th 2017
AUTHOR:
Meg Kassel 
GENRE:
Young-Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Entangled Teen
SUMMARY: 

A simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear, the morgues will soon be full.

Angie Dovage can tell there’s more to Reece Fernandez than just the tall, brooding athlete who has her classmates swooning, but she can’t imagine his presence signals a tragedy that will devastate her small town. When something supernatural tries to attack her, Angie is thrown into a battle between good and evil she never saw coming. Right in the center of it is Reece—and he’s not human.

What’s more, she knows something most don’t. That the secrets her town holds could kill them all. But that’s only half as dangerous as falling in love with a harbinger of death.

amazon-badgegoodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

First of all, I love the beautiful raven cover of this book which is the first thing that grabbed my interest. The refreshing concept of this book is another thing that intrigued me. For a while, I was actually on the fence on whether to read this or not because few readers complained about the insta-love issue in this book which I’m really not fan of but after hearing so many great things about it, I finally decided to give this a shot. For me, this book was a nostalgic read. It brought me back to my younger days when I used to devour YA paranormal books. I really liked the characters and the unique concept of this book but honestly, I think this book should’ve been a bit longer. 

Angie Dovage is a high school senior girl with a dark past who currently lives with her father and a adorable dog named Roger. She’s a bit of an outcast in her school due to her past but her two best friends doesn’t care about it and she loves making music with them. When a new family moves in next door, Angie sneaks a peak at her new neighbors and finds a handsome boy who takes her breath away. Next day, When her path crosses with the same boy at the bus stop, she gets intrigued by him until some strange boy’s appearance freaks her out. Her classmates gets swooned by Reece’s athlete build and his handsome looks. Angie feels that he was totally out of her league. When crows starts to flock around him, Angie believes something isn’t right about him. Soon strange things starts to happen around town and Angie confronts the new guy Reece who might have all the answers but she wasn’t expecting something supernatural and she gets pretty much shocked to learn that he wasn’t human either. He’s a harbinger of death and Angie is terrified to learn that something bad will happen to her town and she can’t do anything to stop it but survive it.

Angie is a pretty likable character but some of her stalkerish actions seemed a bit weird to me. She’s sweet, fun and a talented girl who loves working as a DJ at a local club near her town. Reece Fernandez is a pretty complex character who reminded me a bit of Edward Cullen but I’m glad Reece is not a complete broody boy like him. I really liked how he never stopped fighting for his love despite knowing that his forbidden relationship with Angie will never work out. The romance between Angie and Reece definitely seemed insta-ish to me because of how quickly they developed feelings for each other but it really wasn’t bad either and I did liked their sweet romance. As for the secondary characters, I loved Angie’s dad. They really have a great father-daughter relationship. Angie’s two best friends Deno and Lacy are really great friends who always supports her. I pretty much liked the friendship between these trio. Reece family members seemed interestingly weird.  The author didn’t gave much focus to them but I wish she did. The bee guy who loves to make chaos with his bee sting seemed totally creepy. He has an ability to change his face that always freaks the hell out of Angie.

The plot was interesting and engaging! Even though the concept of this book is refreshing to read, I need to be honest that some aspects in this book are definitely cliched. Nevertheless, I still enjoyed the story and also the interesting twist at the end which was totally unpredictable. The last twenty percent of the plot is totally chaotic and action packed. The concept of a Beekeeper and the harbinger of death gave a dark and creepy vibe to the entire plot which I really loved. The pacing was slow at the start  but it eventually picks up when things start to take an interesting turn in the second half. The writing style is pretty good and easy to understand. The whole book was told from Angie’s first person POV but I wish it was told in dual POV. I loved the setting and the whole dark atmosphere the author has created with the creepy crows and the bees. 

Overall, it was a good read! I loved the concept, the characters, and the plot. It is a stand-alone novel but I really think it should’ve been a duology. Anyways, For a debut the author has done a great job and I’ll definitely look forward to more books from her.

Recommend it?
Image result for yes gif

I highly recommend this book to all the readers who loves YA paranormal romance.


MY RATING:
4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read this yet? Do you want to read it?
Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤
See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

Signature

28 thoughts on “Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel [Review]

  1. Beware Of The Reader September 22, 2017 / 12:10 am

    This is my next read after I finish my current ARC!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sofii @A Book. A Thought. September 22, 2017 / 12:23 am

    Great Review 💕!, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I agree, I think it should be at least a duology, I feel the end is very open and I still have questions 😩

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 26, 2017 / 1:24 am

      Yeah, me too! I really want to know more about the harbingers of death and bee keepers. The ending was satisfying but it felt like there’s going to be more.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. LairOfBooks September 22, 2017 / 1:03 am

    Lovely review Raven! I had a copy of this one from Bookcon but didn’t give it a go after Gretchen @ChicNerdReads read it & had similar comments to yours. Seems like a massive world to fit into a stand-alone. I haven’t read a paranormal YA book in so long but I’d probably be open to reading a series starter.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. meltotheany September 22, 2017 / 1:18 am

    AMAZING review, love! Oh my gosh, that opening line, “First of all, I love the beautiful raven cover of this book which is the first thing that grabbed my interest.” made me giggle out loud! Haha! ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kelly September 22, 2017 / 6:03 am

    I haven’t read t his yet, but I definitely have it on my list of books to buy as soon as possible! I was drawn in by that cover without even knowing what it was about, to be honest (glad I wasn’t the only one, haha). This was such a great review, and I’m glad that you enjoyed it enough to be able to get past the flaws! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 26, 2017 / 1:35 am

      Thank You! It’s a must buy if you like to own books with beautiful covers and this one is a total shelf candy. Anyways, I hope you enjoy this book when you finally get to read it. 🙂

      Like

  6. Michelle @ Pink Polka Dot Books September 22, 2017 / 9:51 am

    I think the reason I’ve been wanting to read this is because of nostalgia also!! It just SOUNDS so much like a book from 5+ years ago, and I’ve been kind of missing those books!! But yeah, I’m not big on romance– and I’m DEFINITELY not cool w/ Edward Cullen-types. I’m going to give it try, but if the romance is too much, I’ll probably set it down. Great review!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 26, 2017 / 1:43 am

      Thank you, Michelle! I’m not fan of the romance in this book but I still enjoyed it because it wasn’t gag worthy. The plot is pretty good though. I hope you like it when you decide to give it a shot. 🙂

      Like

  7. Candid Cover September 22, 2017 / 9:25 pm

    Those darn clichés! This one does sound like a great read, though! Thanks for your lovely review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 26, 2017 / 1:45 am

      You’re welcome! It’s not mind blowingly amazing but it’s definitely an entertaining read. I hope you give it a shot! 🙂

      Like

  8. Poulami @ Daydreaming Books September 25, 2017 / 9:54 pm

    Yes, I do agree. The cover with that colour combination is freaking gorgeous! Although the plot sounds interesting and fun, I think I’ll pass and I’m glad you enjoyed it despite the cliched aspects. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate September 26, 2017 / 3:09 am

    I’ve been seeing so many reviews of this book lately! Glad to see you enjoyed it despite everything… I mean, I get why some things would not make sense/sound cliché. It’s YA paranormal and that is usually the norm. But still.
    It’s cool that the relationships in this are so nice and the creepiness/darkness definitely sounds awesome too 🙂
    Wonderful review, Raven!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions September 28, 2017 / 2:41 am

      Thank you, Sophie! Yeah, it does have some typical YA paranormal aspects which might annoy some readers but I still found myself enjoying the story. I hope you give it a shot someday! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Jen September 29, 2017 / 1:50 am

    It was a nostalgic read for me also, and it’s actually made me hunt and try to find paranomal books that I will love. 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed this book and she’s releasing a book next year that has beekeepers in the title, so I’m wondering if it’ll be from one of their povs? We’ll see!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions October 1, 2017 / 2:37 am

      Oh really! That’s great! I actually didn’t know about it but thanks for the info. I’ll definitely look forward to it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. TeacherofYA October 15, 2017 / 4:12 pm

    It DEF needs to be a duology!! I’m so in love with this book. Sorry I’m behind on my blog hopping but I had to read your review of this, and I’m glad you liked it! 😘❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raven @ Dreamy Addictions October 18, 2017 / 10:23 pm

      IKR? I really want to know more about beekeepers and Harbingers of death. And I also want more Angie and Reece. I hope the author decides to make this into a series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

