A Girl Like Me (Like Us #2) By Ginger Scott [Review]

A Girl Like Me (Like Us, #2)RELEASE DATE:  May 26th 2017
AUTHOR: Ginger Scott
GENRE: New-Adult, Contemporary, Romance
PUBLISHER: 
Ginger Scott
SUMMARY: I’m not supposed to be here.

Death has come for me more than once, and each time it’s been a boy who’s stood between me and my final breath.

I called him Christopher when he saved me as a child. When he came into my life again, only months ago, I knew him as Wes. Just as he did the time before, he disappeared the moment he made sure I was out of harm’s way; as if I didn’t need any more saving.

This time, though, death left me with a reminder of how powerful it is. I know it meant to strip me of my spirit again, but it failed.

Even so, I know I need Wes to survive. Our souls are woven together somehow, our every breath in sync. I feel it, even though everyone says I shouldn’t.

The world thinks he’s missing.
His loved ones don’t want to believe he’s dead.
Only I know just how special he is.

I’m going to find him and bring him home, where he belongs. Together, we’ll face impossible—we’ll rewrite our ending.

And when the bad guys come calling, we will always win.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

Related image

A Girl Like Me is one of my highly anticipated sequels of this year. I’ve been dying to read this book since I  finished the first book which was concluded with a huge cliffhanger. I was so excited when I finally got my hands on this book because all the mysteries are finally going to revealed in it. This book has so many surprising twists that I never  saw coming and boy, I absolutely enjoyed devouring it. This is a second book in a duet series. If you haven’t read the first book A Boy Like You yet you can also check out my thoughts on it at here.

*Spoilers ahead if you haven’t read the first book*

This book starts off where it was left off in the first book where Joss has fully recovered and  learned to live her life as an amputee after the accident and Wes is still missing. After receiving a mysterious message, Joss sets on a journey to search for wes because she thinks he’s still alive. She visits her grandma Grace on Arizona after hearing about her mother’s death. Her Grandma reveals some secrets that rises more questions. In search for the answers, she dugs up her family’s past which unveils some shocking secrets that she never knew.

* Minor Spoilers if you haven’t read this book *

“I don’t need a hero, Wes.” I say again, pressing our foreheads tight again, my thumbs both drawing soft lines along his jaw. “I just need you.”

Both of the main leads in the book are pretty much flawed and complex. I loved Joss in this book. She has become more strong, confident and mature after her recovery. She’s not the same wild and reckless girl anymore. Meeting Wes, her hero has changed her life and now with his absence, she feels broken. She’s determined to find him and never gives up on him. Wes is a wonderful character. In the first book, we have seen his sweet and caring side of him but we never knew of his past which was always a mystery. After the accident, he feels that he failed her in being her hero but Joss is determined to tell him that she never needed a hero, she just needed him. I loved the relationship between Joss and Wes. It was so intense, heartwarming and emotional. I enjoyed the deep connection between them and how they needed each other. Kyle is a great supporting character and also a great friend to Joss. I loved their friendship from the start. He was always there for her whenever she needed him. I hope the author writes another story with Kyle as the main lead. I also liked Taryn, Joss’s other childhood BFF and Wes’s brothers.

I loved the plot! It was Unique, emotional, heartwarming, mysterious, dramatic, and extra ordinary. Even though the story was slow paced it kept me on my toes till the end. The author cleverly weaved this story and it keeps you guessing through out. The Super twist in the story really surprised me. The author gave some hints in the first book but I never payed much attention to them and now It all makes sense. The mystery surrounding Wes and Joss past brought more twists to the story which made it even more interesting. I enjoyed reading the book from Joss’s POV. As for the writing style, It was captivating and totally addictive. I just flowed through it easily without any struggle.

Overall, I loved it! It’s a story about family, love, self discovery and friendship. The story finally concludes with a perfect ending and It was totally adorbs.

Recommend it?

I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves to read emotional contemporary reads filled with romance and mystery.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read this yet? Do you like to read this book?
Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤
See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

Signature

3 thoughts on “A Girl Like Me (Like Us #2) By Ginger Scott [Review]

  1. Candid Cover June 8, 2017 / 7:02 am

    OMG! This series does sound epic! I am going to have to add it to my growing TBR. Thanks so much for this lovely review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 June 9, 2017 / 3:02 am

      Thank you! This is really a wonderful read! I hope you enjoy this duet as much as I did! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

