Adamant (Alliance #1) By Emma L. Adams [Review]

Adamant (Alliance, #1) RELEASE DATE:  February 20th 2015
AUTHOR: Emma L. Adams
GENRE: Young-Adult/New-Adult, Fantasy, Magic, Sci-Fi. .
PUBLISHER: Emma L. Adams
SUMMARY: 
Few people know twenty-one year old Ada Fletcher is actually from another universe. After a devastating magical war tore apart her homeworld, she and her family were forced to defy the Inter-World Alliance and hide on the low-magic Earth. Stuck in a dead-end job in London, Ada has spent her life hiding her real identity and risking her safety to help others from her homeworld. Until she loses her job, is chased by a rampaging monster, and is arrested by the Alliance as a prime suspect for a murder she had nothing to do with. It really isn’t Ada’s day.

Kay Walker, grandson of the Alliance’s late founder, expects to spend his first week as an Alliance employee chasing monsters out of the Passages between worlds, not solving his supervisor’s murder or questioning a strange, fierce young woman he arrested in the Passages. Killer or not, she’s hiding something, and the closer he gets to the truth, the higher the body count rises.

The last thing Ada wants is to help the infuriating Alliance guard who arrested her, but it soon becomes clear that the Alliance knows too much about Ada’s magic. More, in fact, than she knows herself. Now she has to choose between loyalty to her family, and helping the Alliance save the Earth — and the Multiverse — from a deadly enemy.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

This is a very interesting read! I’ve read books with alternate universe but I’ve never read books with multiple universe. So when I first read the blurb, I knew I had to read this book. Like Emma’s other works, I enjoyed reading this book but to be honest, it’s really not one of my favorites. I’m currently loving her Legacy of flames trilogy and I already fell in love with the first two books in it. Nevertheless, Adamant is a great start for a series. The concept of this book is very intriguing. I loved the action, the world building and also the main characters.

Twenty-one Year Old Ada Fletcher is kind of an illegal immigrant from another universe. After the war between non-magical and magical race in their homeland Enzar, Ada and her guardian Nell Fletcher escapes from there and hides in the low magic Earth even though it’s against alliance rules. They currently live in London and helps refugees from their homeland by giving them safe passage, new identities and providing shelter while avoiding the alliance guards. The Inter world Alliance don’t want to interfere with their war so they restricted their people from entering Earth. In order to disguise their otherworldly appearance, Ada needs bloodrock and when they finally runs out of it, she plans to break into the Alliance Headquarters to steal from them. During her mission, she gets discovered while escaping and her situation gets more complicated when she later learns that there’s a murder of an Alliance employee. When she gets caught by one of the alliance guard named Kay Walker, grandson of the Alliance’s late founder, she’s taken to the Alliance central for interrogation. Kay believes that Ada isn’t really a murderer and when the body counts of his fellow employees rises, Kay wants to know the truth and decides to help Ada despite knowing that it will jeopardize his dreams of becoming an Alliance ambassador.

Ada Fletcher is a stubborn, fiesty and Kickass character. Even though she’s a likable character, sometimes she makes some stupid decisions like a silly teenager which really annoyed me a bit. I loved Kay Walker! He’s caring, sweet and fun character with a good heart. I expected him to be quiet arrogant but he totally proved me wrong. The relationship between Ada and Kay is pretty interesting. Ada doesn’t trust anyone easily especially people from Alliance because of her upbringing under Nell who told her since she was young that never to trust Alliance and when Kay tries to help her she doesn’t believe him but eventually she starts to trust him. The Romance isn’t really the major focus of this book but the story does end with a kiss which shows a beginning of their romance. The other characters like Ada’s friends Skyla and Delta are okay-ish but they didn’t intrigued me much. I liked Nell Fletcher! She is a motherly/sisterly figure to Ada. She is the only family Ada has left who has raised her after their escape from Enzar but she also seems to be hiding some secrets that we don’t know yet.

The Plot of this book is very intriguing! It is fast paced and action packed. At the beginning, I was a bit struggled to get into the story but eventually I immersed into it. Though it is a fast paced read, some scenes felt a bit dragged. There are some surprising twists in the plot. Some were easy to predict but some were not. I pretty much enjoyed the monster killing action. There are different kinds of monsters introduced in this world like wyverns, cethrax, dreyverns etc.. I’m not really familiar with some of them and how they look like but the way the author described them I can imagine they’re pretty ugly looking creatures. I liked the writing and enjoyed the dual POV[first-person] of this book. The world building is amazing! The passages are kind of doorways to different universes. My favorite is definitely Valeria. It’s one hell of a huge tech world where they use hover boots to travel around and also not to forget hover cars and bikes. I would definitely love to explore more of this world.  

Overall, I liked it! This book is a perfect mix of  Magic, fantasy and sci-fi. Despite few issues, I enjoyed reading this book and I might pick up the next book.

Recommend it?
YES!

I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves action packed YA sci-fi and fantasy books. 

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Have you read this yet? Do you like to read this book?
Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤
See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

Signature

11 thoughts on “Adamant (Alliance #1) By Emma L. Adams [Review]

  1. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate May 21, 2017 / 5:25 pm

    Ugh, I’m such a sucker for this type of romance XD The fact that he’s not an arrogant, idiotic alpha male and she’s not a silly, annoying damsel in distress makes it all the more enjoyable!
    I like the plot a lot and think this might be a really nice read 🙂 Great world building and fantasy elements… The only part I’m not super thrilled about is the first-person POV but those tend to be a hit or miss for me, so only one way to find out.
    Lovely review, Raven, and thanks for the rec! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 May 22, 2017 / 2:29 am

      Thank you! This is really an interesting read. It’s a perfect mix of sci-fi and fantasy. I’m a total sucker for this combination and I’m glad that I gave this a shot. I really hope you give this try too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lashaan (Bookidote) May 23, 2017 / 5:44 am

    Oh my, love the idea behind the multiple universe, and just the way you tease us about it has me super curious about it. This sounds like a fun, action-packed book! Really nice review, Raven! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 May 24, 2017 / 2:02 am

      Thank you Lashaan! I also loved the concept of this book too. Sci-fi, fantasy and magic is my favorite genre-bending mix. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

