THE ENEMY WITHIN By Scott Burn [Review]

THE ENEMY WITHINRELEASE DATE:  July 24th 2016
AUTHOR: Scott Burn
GENRE: Young-Adult, Sci-Fi, Aliens
SUMMARY:
Seventeen-year-old Max has always felt like an outsider. When the agonizing apocalyptic visions begin, he decides suicide is his only escape. He soon finds himself in an institution under the guidance of a therapist who sees something exceptional in him. Just as he begins to leave the hallucinations behind, Max discovers the visions weren’t just in his head.

There are three others who have shared those same thoughts and they’ve been searching for Max. Like him, they are something more than human. Each of them possesses certain abilities, which they’re going to need when a covert military group begins hunting them down.

As the danger escalates, Max doesn’t know which side to trust. But in the end, his choice will decide the fate of both species.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

* ecopy received from the author in exchange for an honest review *

Well, this was an interesting book to read but I really can’t say that it was mindblowingly amazing. Though the plot felt very realistic and intriguing, it failed to excite me as much as I thought it would. I liked the switching multiple perspectives of the story which brought tension to the story but sometimes it hindered my enjoyability. Reading this book felt like watching an above average sci-fi movie. I loved the sci-fi elements and super powers aspect in this story. I felt a little bit sad when the book ended with no alien interaction from the other world and I also want to know more about the Eye. Nonetheless, I think it’s a good sci-fi read that many sci-fi lovers would love to devour.

The story is about Max, a seventeen year old boy who’s having apocalyptic visions that  pretty much messed up his life which eventually lead him to commit suicide to get free from the nightmares. Unfortunately, he gets saved by the cops and sent to an psychiatric asylum for teenagers with drug addictions and other issues. There he meets a therapist who helps Max with his problem and he says that Max is a genius and he deserves a better life. Later Max learns that his hallucinations are more than what they seem when he sees people he never met before but strangely they seem familiar to him. When he finally meets the other three, he discovers that they are same nonhuman like him and all of them have been on earth to fulfill a mission. Now the fate of two species lies on Max’s hands. With the military forces on their trail, Max needs to make a decision that’ll change everything.

Honestly, I can’t connect with any of the characters in this book maybe because I can’t relate to them. I liked Max but the secondary  characters Vincent, Jamie and Noah pretty much lacked in depth and I didn’t care much about them.  The character Max felt very realistic and I liked the character development of him. He started as a weak and naive teenager who doesn’t know how to deal with his visions and the special powers but as the story progresses he begins to grow strong. Vincent is kinda alpha of the group who always looks out for the safety of their group, Noah is a jokester of the group who always seems to be drunk and finally, we have Jamie who is sort of a mind reader, she can easily read your deep thoughts without any struggle. All four of them possess unique super powers and I enjoyed how they used their powers to deflect all of their obstacles to reach their destination.

The plot is unique and interesting. Though I liked the story, I have to be honest that I got bored in the middle part of the book. The plot is also pretty confusing at the start but as the story progressed I was able to put everything together and I finally ended up liking it but not loving it. The Eye, the strange alien satellite definitely brought intrigue to the story. The romance aspect in this book seemed unnecessary because it didn’t bring anything to the plot. The twist at the end is pretty clever, I didn’t see that coming. I quite enjoyed the action parts in the book and also the ending where things became more intense. As I already said before, the book was told in multiple perspectives[third person] but I mostly enjoyed Max and the military guys perspectives. The author’s writing style is okay, it is simple and easy enough to understand.

Overall, it was a good read! Though I didn’t enjoyed it as much as I expected to, I would definitely read it’s sequel if the author decides to write it.

Recommend it?
Yes!

The Enemy Within is a YA sci-fi debut filled with adventure, action and intrigue. I recommend it to all the sci-fi lovers.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars1[3/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

3 thoughts on “THE ENEMY WITHIN By Scott Burn [Review]

  1. TeacherofYA March 17, 2017 / 1:17 am

    Yeah, it’s definitely an action-packed read!!
    I think it would have helped if the book was longer and I would love a sequel…but it definitely has a certain tone.
    Still happy that you’re sharing Scott’s book!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 March 17, 2017 / 7:40 pm

      I totally agree! I would’ve enjoyed it more if the book was a bit longer. Anyway, I’m glad that you’ve loved it more than I did. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

