Heir of Illaria (Illaria #1) By Dyan Chick [Review]

Heir of Illaria (Illaria #1) RELEASE DATE:  January 23, 2017
AUTHOR: Dyan Chick
GENRE:  Young-Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal.
PUBLISHER: Illaria Publishing
SUMMARY: 

In Illaria, there is a fate worse than death.

As long as I can remember, I’ve been taught to fear the Necromancer King. He controls the kingdom of Illaria with dark sorcery and the constant threat of his undead army. I never thought I’d have reason to cross his path. Everything changed the day his guards tried to kill me. That’s when I found out my whole life has been a lie. By joining a resistance group called the White Ravens, I’ve claimed new roles. Princess of Illaria, sorceress in training, and threat to the Necromancer King.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

Heir of Illaria is an entertaining YA fantasy read with an interesting plot and unique setting! Although I enjoyed reading this book, I wasn’t completely satisfied with it because of few issues. This is a clear case of it’s not you, it’s me. I didn’t put high expectations on this book but I was very intrigued when I read the premise of it. The characters are good but I was disappointed with how the romance was executed. Some parts of the story felt rushed and less detailed. However, readers who are new to this genre would definitely love this book.

The story follows Seventeen year old Wilona who lives with her grandmother in a village far away from the king’s Castle. Her grandmother warned her to never step out of the village but one day when she sneaks out into the kings woods her paths crosses with the kings soldiers. Her mistake brings the kings soldier’s later on her doorstep who tries to kill her. Surprisingly, she’s saved by a woman who claims that she’s a member of a resistance group called White Ravens. Later, Wilona learns that she’s the old kings daughter which makes her a princess and also a huge threat to the necromancer king. Wilona don’t know anything about being a princess or a sorceress. Before joining the resistance group she was warned not to trust anyone. When Wilona finally arrives at the White Ravens she’s in for many surprises and it seems like she also possess a unique power that can help them defeat the Necromancer King.

I liked Wilona! She is innocent and naive girl who hadn’t seen a violence in her entire life. She started as a weak character but eventually she grows into a strong character who can speak for herself. Ashton is a sorcerer apprentice and also Wilona’s love interest who helps wilona in discovering her elemental power. I wasn’t impressed with his character yet but I do really want to know more about him. Though the romance isn’t the central focus of the book, I think it could’ve been better executed. There’s barely any heart to heart conversations between them but suddenly they’re in love with each other and that’s why it seemed a bit awkward for me. The secondary characters are interesting but sadly they aren’t fleshed out well. Saffron is a kickass character and I liked her friendship with Wilona. Max is a character that I didn’t liked from the start and I pretty much hated how he treated Wilona like how she doesn’t have a say in anything. The necromancer king also the evil villain of this story is definitely not what I expected him to be and would love to see more of him.

The plot is pretty interesting but at the same time it was quite predictable because It’s a typical fantasy plot that I’ve already seen in lots of books. The story started with an exciting start but as it progressed, It slowly turned into less exciting when the plot took a slow pace with Wilona’s training. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the ending part and I wish the story was a bit more detailed and more action packed. The romance feels forced and It’s one of my favorite aspects in YA fantasy reads so it’s a bit disappointing. The story was told in Wilona’s POV and the writing is flawless. I liked the elemental magical system and also the kingdom of Illaria, they are the best aspects of this book. The book finally concluded with a minor cliffhanger and I might read it’s sequel but I’m not sure yet.

Overall, I like it but I don’t love it! For a debut novel, I think it’s a good start and hope the sequel would be much better.

Recommend it?
Yes!

Despite the issues, it still makes a good YA fantasy read and I would definitely recommend everyone to give this a try! 🙂

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars1[3/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

11 thoughts on “Heir of Illaria (Illaria #1) By Dyan Chick [Review]

  1. Analee @ Book Snacks March 4, 2017 / 10:03 pm

    Aha it’s too bad it was disappointing in some aspects; glad you still liked it enough despite the issues! Lovely review, I hope you enjoy the next book more. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Poulami @ Daydreaming Books March 4, 2017 / 11:44 pm

    This book sounds interesting, I’m glad you enjoyed it despite its flaws. Love that cover btw. Anyway, great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 March 5, 2017 / 12:15 am

      It definitely is! Though it wasn’t a total perfection, it was an enjoyable read. Yeah, the cover does look beautiful!
      Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sophiethestark March 6, 2017 / 9:47 pm

    Heard good things about this one! I think the main issues you had with it are to be expected for a debut novel, so maybe the sequel will do better. Lovely review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. TeacherofYA March 7, 2017 / 12:19 am

    I’m glad you at least enjoyed it! I liked it a lot!
    You should try Look To The Stars by Catherine Wilson! I finished that a bit ago and I loved it so much! It’s really well-written!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 March 7, 2017 / 2:19 am

      I’m glad you loved it!
      Oh, that book sounds pretty interesting! I’ll definitely check it out but for now I’m going to add it to my tbr! Thanks for the visit! 🙂

      Like

  5. Jen March 8, 2017 / 9:38 pm

    I love when characters grow throughout the book, and it sounds like Wilona did an amazing job doing that! Here’s hoping the 2nd book is even better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

