We Are the Stars By Teagan Hunter [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  February 16, 2017
AUTHOR: Teagan Hunter
GENRE:  New-Adult, Contemporary, Romance.
SYNOPSIS: The first time I saw Carsen Wheatley, I flipped him off.
The second time, I kneed him in the balls.
The third? I kissed him.

Why? Because Carsen needed it.

Angry and full of hate, Carsen is a lost soul, searching. Since the death of his mother, he’s cold and isolated, needing someone to fill the gap she left wide open, someone to kiss the anger from his soul.

That’s where I come in.

I’m restless, on the search for a new adventure, something to make me feel…well, anything. I’m certain I’ll find a permanent fix soon, but in the meantime, I have this summer job and Carsen to keep me going.

But the summer is only temporary, and so is the fix.

We are imperfect.
We are mismatched.
We are the stars.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

Related image

This book was fun to read but I still had a few issues with it. Firstly, both the main leads are twenty years old but they really felt like teenagers. Secondly, the romance felt a bit rushed, unrealistic and a bit meh but I did enjoyed their relationship though. I really want to give this a shot after reading the interesting synopsis that sounds very promising and also because it’s a short novella. It’s a good read but I think it could’ve been better. Honestly, I would’ve loved it if the story isn’t rushed and there was more depth in the secondary characters. Nonetheless, it was a enjoyable read and really not bad for a novella.

Elliot is bored with her routine life and wants something new and adventurous in her life. When her sight sets on the new guy in the town, she can’t wait to figure him out. Carsen is a troubled soul whose mother’s death turned him into a cold and bitter person. When Elliot’s best friend Jace warns her he’s a trouble and stay away from him, Elliot can see that he isn’t what everyone thinks. When Elliot meets him at her new summer job, she gets pissed by his attitude and knees him in the balls. When Carsen realizes that Elliot isn’t judgemental like everyone, they both make a truce and begins a friendly relationship that quickly turns into something else. Carsen wants to start a new life but he can’t seem to forget his dark past and also can’t control the hate and anger boiling inside him.

I liked both Elliot and Carsen but I can’t seem to connect with both of them. Elliot is a stubborn, sarcastic and energetic girl who has a weakness for fixing broken souls and doesn’t like judging people. Carsen has a hard edged personality on the outside but inside he was a sad angry guy looking out for someone to fill the gap in his lonely heart. I liked the relationship between Elliot and Carsen and how they connected with each other perfectly but what I didn’t liked is the romance which definitely felt rushed. I love hate to love romances because they always take time to grow trust and develop feelings, and this one took a faster pace that left me partially satisfied. Nonetheless, I loved their banters and the hot chemistry between them. There are also nice secondary characters in this book such as Carsen’s gay best friends Nate and blake, Elliot’s brothers and her hilarious parents etc., I thought Jace was a good guy but turns out he’s a complete A-hole.

It was a beautiful and engaging plot but I wish the story wasn’t rushed and the characters were a bit more mature. Some aspects of this book seemed a bit unrealistic too but I really wasn’t bothered with them. The pacing is okay and I loved the witty writing style of the author. I’m glad the story was told in both Elliot and Carsen’s POV because I always love dual POV. The story really has a great potential and I probably would’ve loved it more if it was written as a full length novel. The book ended with a satisfying conclusion but I was teeny-tiny bit disappointed with how it was finally wrapped up because I really want more.

Overall, I liked it! Despite the issues, it was a good read and many people would definitely love it more than me. Though the cover gives NA romance vibes, this book felt more like a mature YA romance.

Recommend it?
Yes!

I highly recommend this novella to all the readers who are looking for a quick romance reads.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars1[3/5 Stars]

So, What do you think of this book? Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

5 thoughts on “We Are the Stars By Teagan Hunter [Review]

  1. Analee @ Book Snacks February 23, 2017 / 4:23 am

    Aw, it’s too bad the romance was rushed! Slow burns are the best aha especially with a hate-to-love storyline. But it seems like a cute read overall! 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen February 27, 2017 / 12:38 pm

    Not being able to connect to the characters can be so frustrating. Especially in a shorter book, when there’s even less time to make that connection. But dual POVs is so much fun, and I’m glad you found elements in the book that you enjoyed! That always makes for a win!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 28, 2017 / 2:56 am

      IKR? This book has it’s pros and cons. Though I gave it a low rating, It was an enjoyable read till the end and I wasn’t bored anywhere. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

