By Your Side By Kasie West [Review]

By Your SideRELEASE DATE:  January 31st, 2017
AUTHOR: Kasie West
GENRE:  Young-Adult,Contemporary, Romance.
PUBLISHER: HarperTeen
SUMMARY: When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-


This is a typical YA contemporary read with cute, fluffy, and sweet romance. I like Kasie West’s books but I was a bit disappointed with this book because I expected more from this and it also seemed a bit less romantic than her other books.  I loved the premise of the book especially the locked in the library part but when I finally got into the story, I found that it wasn’t as exciting as it sounded. If you’re wanting to read this just because of “locked in a library with a bad boy” part then trust me, you’re in for a disappointment because nothing exciting happens between them. The story mainly focuses on Autumn’s anxiety disorder and how she cope’s with it without having her friends finding out about it. Autumn and Dax are good characters but they aren’t great either.

The story follows high school girl Autumn who is planning for an outing with her friends gets accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend. When she thinks she’s the only one locked inside the library, she’s surprised to find school’s bad boy Dax there. Dax is a loner with bad reputation and rumor has it that he’s gone to juvie for beating some guy. Autumn isn’t comfortable being locked up with school’s bad boy and hopes that her almost boyfriend Jeff and her friends realizes that she wasn’t with them and come backs for her soon but unfortunately, no one come backs for her. After spending some time with Dax, Autumn realizes that he wasn’t what she expected him to be. For the next couple of days, they spend the time together watching TV and eating candy bars which eventually makes them open up to each other and they develop a special bond. But will their feelings stay the same after their time in the library comes to an end and they go back to their own lives?

I liked Autumn and Dax! They are so cute together but I can’t seem to connect with either of them. I honestly enjoyed the relationship between them but I wish there was more spark and tension between them. The romance between them is definitely fluffy and cute but I felt the chemistry lacking. I liked the way they opened up to each other and begin to see how much they fit perfectly together. Being locked in a library is every bookworms dream come true and it’s such a waste that Autumn turned out to be not much of a reader. Friendship is another major theme of this book but I found myself hating all the friends of Autumn. I liked Autumn’s family members and how much they care for each other. For a bad boy, Dax seemed kinda sweet and I felt a bit sad for his homeless situation.

The plot is decent but nothing emotional enough to move me. Though I enjoyed the relationship between Autumn and Dax, I felt pretty much bored in most of the parts. The story moved in a slow pace which is definitely the main reason that made it more boring for me. The plot twist might surprise some readers but I already saw that coming. The writing is flawless and I don’t have any issues with it. The book was told in Autumn’s POV and it would be great if the story is told from Dax’s perspective too.

Overall, it was okay but I didn’t loved it! Honestly, I was actually going to give this three stars but for the efforts put by the author, I’ve decided to add an half star to it. This book majorly deals with friendship, family and love and I can certainly say that many readers would fangirl over it but sadly, I’m not one of them but I still won’t stop checking out more books from kasie.

Recommend it?
Yes!

Although I didn’t loved it, I would definitely recommend this book to everyone because it really wasn’t a bad read and maybe you’ll enjoy it more than me.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

So, what do you think of this book? Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

12 thoughts on “By Your Side By Kasie West [Review]

  1. Jen February 12, 2017 / 5:38 am

    Beside it being Kasie West, the reason I was most excited about this book was definitely the “locked in a library with a bad boy”. So thanks for heads up and I’ll definitely go into it with a different mind frame.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 13, 2017 / 8:14 pm

      I had the same thoughts before picking it up but I really hope you enjoy it more than I did! I’ll look forward to your thoughts on it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marie February 12, 2017 / 1:44 pm

    Lovely review! Too bad you couldn’t connect too much with the characters here :/ I have this book on my TBR and it seemed like a cute and fluffy read, I think I will go in reading this with not too many expectations, in order not to be too disappointed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 13, 2017 / 8:17 pm

      Thank you! If you love cute and fluffy YA reads with clean romance then you’ll definitely love reading this book. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Analee @ Book Snacks February 13, 2017 / 2:52 am

    Oh no I was looking forward to this book so much–and the locked in a library part was definitely a part of it. This book has been getting many mixed reviews, which is disappointing but thanks so much for the heads up in this review! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 13, 2017 / 8:29 pm

      Yeah, it was disappointing that this book didn’t turned out to be as I had expected. The locked in a library part is definitely misleading because there is no tension between the characters and I was quite surprised to find that romance isn’t really the central focus of this book. Anyway, I hope you enjoy it more than I did! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kelly February 14, 2017 / 3:03 am

    Sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy this one more! I absolutely loved it, and I guess since it was my first Kasie West book that I didn’t notice the differences between this one and some of her others. I was kind of bummed out that that over half the book didn’t even take place in the library, though. Definitely could have used some more romance. Great review!

    Like

    • ravenblake99 February 14, 2017 / 3:16 pm

      I’m glad to hear that you loved it! You must also check out the fill in boyfriend! It’s my favorite book from kasie west and I think you’ll definitely enjoy it. 🙂

      Like

  5. Summer @ Xingsings February 15, 2017 / 9:02 am

    I’m about to start this one so reading your review was perfect timing. What drew me to this book was admittedly because the main character is a fellow season. 😉 But I’m really looking forward to this being light reading. I’m sorry to hear this didn’t wow you as a contemporary but still proved to be enjoyable and cute. Nice review!

    Summer

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 15, 2017 / 8:47 pm

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy it more than I did! Happy Reading! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

