Ward Against Death (Chronicles of a Reluctant Necromancer #1) By Melanie Card [Review]


wardagainstdeath-500x750RELEASE DATE:
 
 December 1st 2012
AUTHOR: Melanie Card
GENRE:  Young-Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Entangled TEEN
SUMMARY: Twenty-year-old Ward de’Ath expected this to be a simple job-bring a nobleman’s daughter back from the dead for fifteen minutes, let her family say good-bye, and launch his fledgling career as a necromancer. Goddess knows he can’t be a surgeon-the Quayestri already branded him a criminal for trying-so bringing people back from the dead it is.  But when Ward wakes the beautiful Celia Carlyle, he gets more than he bargained for. Insistent that she’s been murdered, Celia begs Ward to keep her alive and help her find justice. By the time she drags him out her bedroom window and into the sewers, Ward can’t bring himself to break his damned physician’s Oath and desert her.  However, nothing is as it seems-including Celia. One second, she’s treating Ward like sewage, the next she’s kissing him. And for a nobleman’s daughter, she sure has a lot of enemies. If he could just convince his heart to give up on the infuriating beauty, he might get out of this alive…

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

*ARC Received from publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

I actually requested this on a whim while I was feeling bored and when I finally got into it surprisingly I found myself enjoying this. I loved the concept of the book especially the necromancers and assassins aspect which is actually the first thing that grabbed my attention. The main characters Celia and Ward are pretty much enjoyable.  It’s been a while since I’ve read a book about Necromancy and I’m glad that I gave this a try.  It’s a refreshing take on necromancers and honestly, for a debut I think it’s quite impressive and I really want to know how the story goes further.

The story follows Twenty-year-old fledgling necromancer Ward de’Ath who dreams to become a surgeon which is kinda illegal and forbidden in his world. When he is expected to raise a noble woman named celia from the dead for fifteen minutes so that she could say her final goodbye’s to her family and friends, things get out of control when she doesn’t follows his orders and instead begs for him to make her stay alive until she finds her murderers and have her justice. Moved by Celia’s beautiful face and innocence, Ward agrees to help her and together they escape from there. While on the run from Celia’s enemies, Ward observes that Celia’s isn’t as innocent and weak as she seems to be and finally realizes that he’s been played by her innocent act. She drags him around nasty sewers and every dark corner in the town that almost makes him want to leave her on her own but he doesn’t have a heart to desert her. Bound by his own stupid Physician’s oath, Ward doesn’t have any choice but to help her. As their search for the Celia’s murderer gets more dangerous, Ward gets more attracted to Celia and he knows what he feels for her is very much wrong because it’s totally against the rules.

I liked Celia! She is definitely a strong female protagonist because she’s a freaking assassin who kicks butts and will not hesitate to kill. She’s a fearless person who possesses hard edged personality and doesn’t trust anyone easily. Ward is pretty adorable character and I absolutely loved him. He is pretty much different from your usual stereotype hero’s and is quite opposite to Celia’s personality. He’s naive, awkward, innocent, sweet, clumsy, and loyal. Though he’s not as much as strong as Celia, he’s got his own strength that makes him unique in his own way. The relationship between Celia and Ward is pretty much enjoyable. Though they don’t trust each other, they do make a perfect strong team. The romance between them is definitely slow burning. Despite hating Celia, Ward couldn’t help but get infatuated by her and tries hard to resist his attraction knowing it wouldn’t work out between them. They both deny their attraction towards each other until the end of the book so, I’ll definitely look forward to know how their relationship develops further.

The plot is very intriguing and mysterious. I was engaged to the story from the start and it was totally unputdownable. I loved the non-stop action and also the mystery surrounding the Celia’s murder. The pacing was good and the writing was captivating through out.  I’m so glad to find that this book was told in dual POV’s because I actually thought it was told in only Ward’s POV and I enjoyed seeing the story from both perspectives. The world the author created is absolutely fantastic. I liked every aspect of this world especially the political intrigue, magic, necromancers, assassins and guilds. I can’t wait to explore more of this world.

Overall, I loved it! Though it wasn’t a total perfection, it was definitely an addictive read that many readers would love to devour. There isn’t any shocking cliffhangers at the end but it didn’t lessened my enthusiasm to read the next book in the series.

Recommend it?
Yes!

I highly recommend this book to all the readers who are looking for an action packed YA paranormal read with a hint of romance.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

So, what do you think of this book? Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

4 thoughts on “Ward Against Death (Chronicles of a Reluctant Necromancer #1) By Melanie Card [Review]

  1. Jen February 12, 2017 / 1:09 am

    I’m SO happy to see your review for Ward Against Death, because I forgot that I even had this book sitting on my Kindle until I went to buy it on Amazon after reading your review! It’s been there for over a year and a half *hides face*. Pushing it up my TBR and you have me so excited to jump into this world!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 13, 2017 / 8:11 pm

      I can totally relate to you! I have lots of books sitting in my e-reader for years and I still haven’t gotten around to read them yet. Anyway, I hope you enjoy this book when you get to it. Happy Reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jen February 14, 2017 / 1:24 am

        I’m not alone in my problem with too many unread books on my Kindle then, woohoo, LOL! Thanks Raven!

        Like

Leave a Reply

