Punk 57 By Penelope Douglas [Review]


Punk.jpgRELEASE DATE:
 
October 21, 2016
AUTHOR: Penelope Douglas
GENRE:  New-Adult, Contemporary, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Penelope Douglas LLC
SUMMARY: “We were perfect together. Until we met.”

Misha

I can’t help but smile at the lyrics in her letter. She misses me.

In fifth grade, my teacher set us up with pen pals from a different school. Thinking I was a girl, with a name like Misha, the other teacher paired me up with her student, Ryen. My teacher, believing Ryen was a boy like me, agreed.

It didn’t take long for us to figure out the mistake. And in no time at all, we were arguing about everything. The best take-out pizza. Android vs. iPhone. Whether or not Eminem is the greatest rapper ever…

And that was the start. For the next seven years, it was us.

Her letters are always on black paper with silver writing. Sometimes there’s one a week or three in a day, but I need them. She’s the only one who keeps me on track, talks me down, and accepts everything I am.

We only had three rules. No social media, no phone numbers, no pictures. We had a good thing going. Why ruin it?

Until I run across a photo of a girl online. Name’s Ryen, loves Gallo’s pizza, and worships her iPhone. What are the chances?

F*ck it. I need to meet her.

I just don’t expect to hate what I find.

Ryen

He hasn’t written in three months. Something’s wrong. Did he die? Get arrested? Knowing Misha, neither would be a stretch.

Without him around, I’m going crazy. I need to know someone is listening. It’s my own fault. I should’ve gotten his phone number or picture or something.

He could be gone forever.

Or right under my nose, and I wouldn’t even know it.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

“We were perfect together. Until we met.” 

Oh boy this book was totally an emotional roller-coaster ride! I loved Bully so I was pretty much excited to read Punk 57 and after I was finished with this book, I can’t say how much I enjoyed it. Penelope Douglas is one of my favorite authors who writes hate to love romances so well that’ll definitely make you feel emotionally attached to the characters. Seriously, I had so many feels while reading this book and the main characters are absolutely amazing. The hate and love relationship between them was portrayed really well in this book. Actually, I expected this to be a fun contemporary read and I didn’t expect this to be so dark, emotional and thrilling that’ll get my mind messed up in a good way. It was fucking fantastic and I rarely say those words for contemporary books.

“They don’t get you and me. I know that’s what you’re afraid of. You’re perfect. I’m never in line. You’re beautiful, and I’m bad, right?”

The story is about Misha and Ryen who are pen-pals and best friends since elementary school  but they never met face to face. It all started when Misha and Ryen’s teachers set them up as pen-pals mistaking their genders due to their names. For seven years, they wrote letters to each other and had three rules – No social media, no phone numbers, no pictures. They don’t want to ruin their relationship by meeting each other so when Misha accidentally comes across a girl who’s named Ryen, he couldn’t resist the temptation and he can’t believe what he finds, she is totally different from the girl he had expected. He feels so cheated and betrayed, and really wants to hate her. It’s been three months since Misha wrote Ryen a letter and it’s totally making her insane. She’s already regretting the rules they had set for each other but she never want to lose hope and still continues to write letters to him hoping someday he might reply to her.

“We’re all ugly, Ryen. The only difference is, some hide it and some wear it.”

Ryen and Misha are definitely the characters you’ll grow to love. Ryen is someone who always want to fit in with her friends by wearing mean and bitchy personality but inside she’s quite opposite person who never wants to hurt anyone. When she was kid, she struggled to get along with other kids. Misha is her only escape who knows the real her but she never want to meet him in person afraid he’ll hate the facade she wears to hide her true self. Misha started as a regular caring and sweet guy that everyone would absolutely love but when a tragedy struck his life, he turns into this mean and cold person that loves hurting Ryen and treats her like shit.

I like girls,” he whispers in my ear, and my heart is pounding so hard it hurts.
Then the tip of his tongue glides up my neck, and I’m frozen, breathing a mile a minute as heat races through my blood.
Fuck.
“But you?” His deep voice and hot breath fall over the skin of my neck. “You kind of taste like shit.”

I totally hated his cold personality towards Ryen and sometimes I wanted to strangle him myself and still, I can’t help but love him. I loved the hate and love relationship between Ryen and Misha. Even though how much fucked up their relationship was, I can’t help but enjoy it. The chemistry between them is so hot like really really hot that’ll definitely make you sweat. The romance is quite erotic and definitely not PG rated. There was so much angst, lust and sexual tension between them and I absolutely enjoyed it. The secondary characters are okay but they didn’t grab my interest.

“Don’t you get it yet? You don’t have to be afraid or embarrassed. No one does you better than you. You can’t be replaced. Not everyone will see that, but only you need to.”

Though the plot was a bit predictable, it was well written and well executed. Ryen and Misha are wonderful main characters who are fucked up in their own way and it’s definitely what makes them special. From the first page, I was hooked to the story and I didn’t want to let go. The plot was so much intense, addictive, thought provoking and heart wrenchingly emotional that totally moved me. The pacing was great and I also enjoyed the dual POV of the book. The flawed characters are definitely the best aspect of this book.

Overall, I loved it! It was a great read that mainly deals with friendship, family and love. I wish I could recommend this to young adults but I think it isn’t appropriate to them due to the erotic romance and  dirty talk.

Recommend it?
Yes, Absolutely!

I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves NA contemporary romance and also to the readers who likes hate to love romance trope.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

11 thoughts on “Punk 57 By Penelope Douglas [Review]

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books February 6, 2017 / 1:49 am

    Couldn’t agree more! This was such an emotional roller coaster but I loved every second of this book! It was simply mind blowing! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen February 6, 2017 / 10:50 am

    YES to getting your “mind messed up in a good way”! Punk 57 was so addicting, hot and dark and I’m so happy you enjoyed it so much too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 7, 2017 / 1:56 am

      Yeah, it was an amazing read and that’s why I love Penelope’s books. I can’t wait to know what she has in store for us next! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

