You Don’t Know My Name (The Black Angel Chronicles #1) By Kristen Orlando [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  January 10, 2017
AUTHOR: Kristen Orlando
GENRE:  Young-Adult, Contemporary, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Swoon Reads
SUMMARY: Fighter. Faker. Student. Spy.

Seventeen-year-old Reagan Elizabeth Hillis is used to changing identities overnight, lying to every friend she’s ever had, and pushing away anyone who gets too close. Trained in mortal combat and weaponry her entire life, Reagan is expected to follow in her parents’ footsteps and join the ranks of the most powerful top-secret agency in the world, the Black Angels. Falling in love with the boy next door was never part of the plan. Now Reagan must decide: Will she use her incredible talents and lead the dangerous life she was born into, or throw it all away to follow her heart and embrace the normal life she’s always wanted? And does she even have a choice?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

You Don’t know my name is a pretty interesting YA read but it did started like any typical YA contemporary romance would. I’m glad the plot isn’t centered around the romance because although I liked the relationship between Reagan and her neighbor Luke, I expected more angst in their relationship especially with Reagan being from a spy family who are always on the run from their enemies. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the thrilling action portrayed in the second half.

The story follows Seventeen Year old high school student Reagan Elizabeth Hillis whose   entire life was spent on combat,  weapons and tactics. She was expected to join the Black Angels, the secret government agency and become the next secret agent just like her parents but what Reagan really wants is to go to a college and lead a normal life without constantly fearing for her life. When Reagan meets Luke, instant attraction takes place but she knew their relationship would never work out. When the relationship between Luke and Reagan grows more stronger, Reagan needs to make a decision so that neither of them wouldn’t get more hurt. But suddenly, her whole world turns upside down, when her parent’s gets kidnapped by a dangerous enemy who wants revenge.

I liked Reagan because she seemed very realistic. Though she is strong and tough, she’s like any stubborn, whiny and annoying teenager who craves for her parents attention whose life always revolves around dangerous missions that could get them killed. Her whininess and stubborn personality did get on my nerves at the start but as the story progresses I grew to like her. Luke is kinda like cute and sweet guy from next door. There was insta attraction between Reagan and Luke but their relationship grew from friendship to love.  The romance was too sweet and fluffy for my taste but I think many readers would definitely love this kinda romance. I wanted to know more about the relationship between Reagan and her parents but sadly it isn’t fleshed out well.

The plot was good but the first one third of the book is pretty much predictable. The story started a bit slow for my taste but things take interesting turn when Reagan’s parents gets kidnapped and I was totally hooked. Honestly, I enjoyed the thrilling action more than sweet romance portrayed in it. For a debut author, the writing is okay and simple enough to understand.  The characters are good but not that great either.

Overall, I liked it! Despite the issues, I think it’s a great start for a new YA spy thriller series. The ending was totally shocking though and I really want to know what happens next.

Recommend it?
Yes!

I recommend this to everyone who likes to read action packed YA books with a dash of sweet romance.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

5 thoughts on “You Don’t Know My Name (The Black Angel Chronicles #1) By Kristen Orlando [Review]

  1. Kelly February 6, 2017 / 5:25 am

    For some reason, I found myself instantly in love with this book from the first page – it seemed like it had just the right amount of romance, awesome spy stuff (okay, I would have loved more of this, but still), and action, so I was hooked. I DO wish they would have made it a little less predictable, like you said, but it was a solid start to a new series. I won’t like though – that ending had me crying and wanting to throw the book across the room. Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 7, 2017 / 2:03 am

      Thank you! Yeah, that ending was totally shocking! I didn’t see that coming and I want to know happens next. 😀

      Like

  2. Jen February 11, 2017 / 8:47 pm

    This sounds like such an adorable book and I love when characters grow on you that you can’t help but like them! Wonderful review, Raven! And hopefully your next book is a little less predictable.😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

