The Alchemists of Loom (Loom Saga #1) By Elise Kova [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  January 10, 2017
AUTHOR: Elise Kova
GENRE:  Young-Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, Steampunk.
PUBLISHER: Keymaster Press
SUMMARY: Her vengeance. His vision.

Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.

Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.

When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.

He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

I was quite conflicted on how to rate this book. I loved Elise Kova’s Air Awaken’s series and I was really excited to read this new series from her. After finishing this book, I felt it wasn’t as amazing as Air Awakens but it doesn’t mean it was bad either because I enjoyed reading it.  Honestly, It’s a great fantasy read with a mix of sci-fi steampunk elements but I had  struggled a bit in understanding the beautiful world the author has created and what’s really going on. The main characters are interesting but I wasn’t able to connect emotionally with them as much as I did with Vhalla and Aldrik from Air Awakens series. Nonetheless, I think it’s a great start for a new series and many fantasy lovers would absolutely love it.

After losing everyone she loves from the Dragon King, Arianna hates dragons and takes great pleasure in killing them. She’s a chimera and also the most notorious criminal in loom, the White Wraith. She’s a engineer turned thief who uses her magical talents on deadly heists and takes any jobs that defies her dragon oppressors. Cvareh is a dragon from Nova who is against the dragon king’s ruling and wants to dethrone him and put his sister on the throne but Cvareh first needs to escape from the dragon assassins who are on his tail. When Cvareh meets Ari, he knew she’s the only one who can help him reach his destination and so he makes a deal with her. Ari should’ve killed the dragon when she got the chance but when he makes a irresistible offer that she can’t refuse, she agrees to help him.

I liked Ari! She’s  a strong character who is intelligent and total badass. Her real identity is a mystery from the start but as the story progresses it was easy to figure out. Cvareh is a bit hard to connect but I liked him as well. For a dragon, I expected him to be a strong arrogant alpha male but he proved me wrong. Florence is a adorable character. She’s Ari’s young assistant who helps making amazing magical revolvers that blows things up. I quiet enjoyed the sisterly friendship between Ari and Florrence. The romance between Cvareh and Ari is definitely a slow burn. Though I loved their relationship, I wish there was more intimate scenes between them and I’d really want to how their relationship develops further. The supporting characters are okay and the villain is pretty interesting too and I’d like to know more about him as well.

The plot is interesting and unique. It was hard to get into it but once you’re in, you’re totally hooked. This series is a bit violent with lots of gore and gruesome killings and I loved it.The story started a bit slow for me but the pace eventually picks up when Ari meets Cvareh. There are also lots of twists in the second half which definitely made the story even more interesting to read. The story was told in multiple POV which helped me a lot to put everything together and I also enjoyed the beautiful writing style. Though the world  is a bit confusing to understand at first, it definitely is the best thing I loved in this book. The world of Loom is a great mix of steampunk, magic and paranormal creatures like dragons fenhri and chimera. It’s quite a fascinating world that I immensely enjoyed and I’ll definitely look forward to explore the world of nova in the next book.

Overall, I loved it but not as much as I expected. Though it was young adult read, I’m glad the main characters are a bit older. The book concluded with a minor cliffhanger and there are still some mysteries that are left unsolved. I really hope the next book going to be even more better and I can’t wait to know what happens next.

Recommend it?
Yes!

I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves to read action packed steampunk fantasy books with a kickass female protagonist.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

So, what do you think of this book? Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

11 thoughts on “The Alchemists of Loom (Loom Saga #1) By Elise Kova [Review]

    • ravenblake99 January 31, 2017 / 5:42 pm

      It’s definitely an intriguing read and I really hope you enjoy it as well! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Kelly January 31, 2017 / 8:07 am

    This book sounds so amazing…I keep seeing it everywhere. I haven’t read the Air Awakens series, so I didn’t pick this one up, but I might have to! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 January 31, 2017 / 5:44 pm

      You must read this book if you are into fantasy books with fantastic world building. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it. Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books January 31, 2017 / 3:37 pm

    I agree with you there. I didn’t quite enjoy this book, there was something about the writing which put me off. Nonetheless, I did enjoy it.Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 January 31, 2017 / 5:46 pm

      Despite the issues, it was a good read and I’m glad you enjoyed it as well! Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Candid Cover February 1, 2017 / 6:36 am

    I have yet to read either of Kova’s series. I have heard that the first is much more enjoyable. I really should give these books a try soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 2, 2017 / 10:46 pm

      Yeah, you must! They are pretty amazing books and I hope you enjoy them when you get to them! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

