Corded (Corded Saga #1) By Alyssa Rose Ivy [Review]


cordedRELEASE DATE:
 
January 10th 2017
AUTHOR: Alyssa Rose Ivy
GENRE:  New-Adult, Dystopia, Romance.
SUMMARY: In a world where women are commodities, the only thing more rare than finding true love is a happy ending.

Kayla is in hiding—her only crime being born a girl in a society of 99 percent men. When her sister and niece are kidnapped, she is willing to do anything to save them. Kayla ventures into the dangerous streets of the city, a place where a woman can be claimed by anyone unless she has been marked by a club.

Desperate, she turns to Mason, a powerful club leader whose help comes at a cost—her freedom.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

Alyssa Rose Ivy is famous for her paranormal romances and I’m already familiar with few of her works. Corded is actually Alyssa’s first dystopian novel and she didn’t disappoint me. This was pretty interesting read set in a dystopian world but I wish it was a bit long because I think 190 pages is too short for this story.  Nonetheless, I enjoyed reading it. Although it wasn’t a total perfection, I liked the unique concept, the setting and also the main characters.

Kayla lives in a world where 99 percent of population is men.  Being woman in her world is very rare and they are treated as precious commodities that are hard to find. They only have two fates – either get marked by a club or send to central, a breeding facility by the government. To avoid either of those cruel fates, kayla has lived her entire life in hiding in her rural village. When the traders finds her family, Kayla, her sister and her niece gets kidnapped by them. After somehow escaping from the traders, Kayla travels to city in search of a club where she could find her old friend Ethan who might help her but instead she finds the club leader Mason, who is willing to help her but only if she becomes his. Kayla will do anything to save her sister and her niece from the central even if she has to sacrifice her freedom she’ll not hesitate but she never expected to fall in love along the way though.

I liked Kayla! She’s a survivor and fighter who’ll go to any length’s to save her family. I admired her courage and also her love for her sister. Mason is quite an intriguing character. Honestly, I didn’t like him at first but as the story progressed, I grew to love him as well. Kayla and Mason has a great chemistry. It was a slow burning romance but I do feel it was a bit rushed maybe it has to do with the short length of the story. Nonetheless, I loved their relationship and the hot romance. I quiet enjoyed how they grew to love each other. For the supporting characters, I liked Jarrett and Addison. I pretty much hated Greer, he is quite a loathsome guy who is totally cunning and a complete douchebag.

The plot was unique, thrilling, and engaging. Being a fan of dystopian books, I’ve never read anything like this before so it was totally refreshing to read. It held my attention through out and It would be great if the ending wasn’t too rushed. The story moved in fast pace and told in dual pov. I liked the writing and the world building. The world the author created is every women’s worst nightmare because the women in this world have no freedom and treated like a thing that can be claimed or a slave that only exist for pleasuring men and also not to forget the breeder thing which definitely makes it a pretty fucked up world. I really don’t want to imagine myself in this cruel world but I do want to know how Kayla’s journey continues.

Overall, I liked it! The only flaw it has was the fast pacing which made the story feel a bit rushed but apart from that, it was a good read and I’ll definitely look forward to the next book.

Recommend it?
Yes!

I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves to read NA dystopian romance.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

4 thoughts on “Corded (Corded Saga #1) By Alyssa Rose Ivy [Review]

  1. Jen January 30, 2017 / 4:13 am

    I still have yet to discover Alyssa Rose Ivy and I was going to start with The Crescent Chronicles but this sounds really intriguing too! Thanks for the rec!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

