Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1) By Elly Blake [Review]


RELEASE DATE:
January 10, 2017
AUTHOR: Elly Blake

GENRE:  Young-Adult, Fantasy, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
SUMMARY: Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a fireblood who must hide her powers of heat and flame from the cruel frostblood ruling class that wants to destroy all that are left of her kind. So when her mother is killed for protecting her and rebel frostbloods demand her help to kill their rampaging king, she agrees. But Ruby’s powers are unpredictable, and she’s not sure she’s willing to let the rebels and an infuriating (yet irresistible) young man called Arcus use her as their weapon.

All she wants is revenge, but before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to take part in the king’s tournaments that pit fireblood prisoners against frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her and from the icy young man she has come to love.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

I was quite excited to read this book but the mixed reviews has made me a bit hesitant to pick this up but I’m glad that I finally gave into the temptation cause personally I enjoyed reading it. Though the plot may seem like a typical YA fantasy, it also has some unique aspects  that would make it worth a read. The best thing I loved about this book is the main characters who made this story even more interesting to read. I’m sucker for hate to love romances and this one was executed so well that I can’t help but love it. For a debut, I think it’s a great start for the author.

Ruby is a seventeen year old fireblood who must hide her powers of heat and flame from the cruel frostblood ruling class that wants to destroy all that are left of her kind. When she finally gets discovered by frostblood soldiers, her mother gets killed by the soldiers and she’s dragged down to the prison awaiting her trial. When she’s losing hope, she’s approached by two rebel frostbloods who helps her breaking out of the prison in exchange for her help in killing the evil frostblood king. Ruby despises frostbloods and now after her mother’s death she hates them even more. Ruby was always told to hide her powers since she was a child so she never had a proper training to control her fire. With the help of her two rescuer’s – a frostblood monk and an infuriating young frostblood, she trains hard to become strong enough to defeat the evil king.  But before they put their plans  into action, Ruby gets captured by frostblood soldiers and was taken before the king. The king forces Ruby to take part in his sadistic tournaments that pits firebloods against his frostblood warriors. Now Ruby not only has to fight for her survival but also for the people she grew to love.

I really liked Ruby who is sassy, feisty and brave. Though she’s tough, she’s quite vulnerable when it comes to controlling her power. I also liked her character development. She’s introduced as  someone who is struggling with her power but as the story progresses she finally grows into a strong women with confidence. Arcus is definitely a swoon worthy character. His mysterious and broody personality has intrigued me from the start. The hate to love relationship between Ruby and Arcus is the best aspect that I enjoyed the most in this book. Their relationship developed very slowly and I pretty much enjoyed all the banters between them that always brought a smile to my face. They also have a great chemistry and there is lots of tension between them because they belong to opposite elements fire and Ice and when they collide, sparks fly(literally). The supporting characters are okay but nothing interesting. The villain aka the evil frostblood king in this book is quite a sadistic guy. Though he looks very handsome on the outside, inside he is cold hearted, dark and wicked.

The plot was interesting! I liked the concept of fireblood and the frostblood. Though it began with a slow start, I enjoyed every minute of it. The first one third of the book is focused on getting used to the world and connecting to the characters. I immensely enjoyed the Gladiator Style tournament at the end and I really hope the next book has more action in it. The whole book was told in first person POV. For a debut author, Elly Blake has a compelling writing style and I absolutely loved it. I also liked the world building and it does have similarities to Red Queen In-fact, there are lot of aspects in this book that reminded me of Red queen but they hadn’t lessened my enjoyability.

Overall, I loved it! It’s a great start for a new YA fantasy series filled with romance, adventure, action and intrigue. The book finally concluded with no shocking cliffhangers but I’ll definitely look forward to the next book.

Recommend it?
Yes!

Despite all the cliche’s and tropes, I think it’s a well executed plot and definitely worth a read.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

7 thoughts on “Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1) By Elly Blake [Review]

    • ravenblake99 January 21, 2017 / 11:36 pm

      Yay! I really hope you enjoy it! I’ll definitely look forward to your thoughts on it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. avathenerd January 22, 2017 / 2:04 pm

    Great review! The cover kind of reminds me of Red Queen.
    I’ll check this one out.
    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly January 24, 2017 / 11:20 pm

    Really glad to hear about the character development in this book! I’m a huge fan of this in books, and it often seems like in fantasy novels, it’s overlooked due to plots and world building. Really looking forward to reading this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 January 28, 2017 / 12:16 am

      I really hope you enjoy it as well! Thanks for the visit! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

