The Scarecrow King By Jill Myles [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  September 22, 2013
AUTHOR: Jill Myles
GENRE:    Young-Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Jill Myles
SUMMARY: Princess Rinda of Balinore knows of only one way to get her cold father’s attention – to be an obnoxious, spoiled princess. When she finds out that the king plan to marrying her off to a far-flung nobleman, she puts on her best bratty show in front of the entire court. But Rinda’s plan backfires, and she soon finds herself married to the most ineligible man ever. Her new husband is monastery raised, poor as dirt, and a traveling minstrel.

A very, very bad traveling minstrel.

But Alek isn’t what he seems like on the surface, and neither is Rinda. She won’t take this marriage lying down, and schemes to find herself a new husband – a king. But as she and Alek travel together, they learn that not only are appearances deceiving, but goals can change in the blink of an eye, and love can get in the way of the strongest plans…

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

Oh boy, this book was a charming fun romantic tale that I quite enjoyed reading. The Scarecrow King is actually a retelling of King Thusbeard’s fairytale that I’ve never read before, in fact I never heard of it but I really really loved this book! It’s really a nice retelling and now I’m pretty curious to read the original tale. This was actually my second read from Jill Myles and the first one is the queen of blood that I really loved and when I found this book, I knew I’m really going to like this book. Princess Rinda and Alek are definitely fun characters that I quite adored.

Everyone in the kingdom of Balinore has a birthright magic and princess Rinda of Balinore is born with a magic that can bring luck to inanimate objects which is considered to be an insignificant magic in her kingdom. Except for her beautiful blonde sister, she’s ignored by everyone including her father. But everyone  adores her sister, princess  Imogen who is born with a strong magic, she can call water just by thinking about it. To get her father’s attention, Princess Rinda acts like a spoiled brat and spends his money tremendously without any care. When the king decides to marry off both the princess’s, Rinda gets pretty mad about it and decides to spoil his plans by bringing forth her bratty self at the entire court and insulting her suitors. But her plan backfires on her and instead of marrying a nobleman, she’s married to a travelling minstrel who is also dirt poor. But Alek isn’t what he seems and neither is Rinda. She won’t take this marriage lying down so she comes up with a scheme to find a husband who is a king. But as she and Alek travel together, they learn that not only are appearances deceiving, but goals can change in the blink of an eye, and love can get in the way of the strongest plans.

I loved Rinda! Although she acted like a spoiled brat and seemed very rude, I really liked her because I can pretty much understand why she has to be like that. Honestly, I felt a bit sympathetic towards her situation. I also loved the character development of her. The story tells us how she grows from a spoiled brat into a strong respectable woman. Alek is definitely a charming character who is quite patient with Rinda’s mean personality. I  enjoyed the relationship between Rinda and Alek. I was literally swooning, every time Alek does some small little things to win Rinda’s heart.  I’m a fan of slow burn romances and I absolutely loved how their slow growing relationship develops into love. I wish there was more romance in it cause I didn’t get enough of it. As for the supporting characters, I pretty much hated Rinda’s father and as for Imogen, she was okay but nothing interesting.

The plot was wonderful! Though the main twist is easily predictable, it was a well executed plot that kept me engaged through out. Since, I haven’t heard of this tale before, it’s kinda refreshing to read this book. The story moved in a fast pace with no boring moments in between. I loved the writing style and I also enjoyed reading the story from Rinda’s perspective. The world building is good but it could’ve been great if there was a bit more world in it. Nonetheless, I liked every thing in it.

Overall, it was a charming and wonderful tale that made me smile! It is one of those tales that you want to re-read it again maybe sometime in the future. It’s a great retelling with right amount of adventure, magic and clean romance.

Recommend it?

I highly recommend it to all the readers who loves romantic fairytales and it’s retellings.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars] 

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

Signature

3 thoughts on “The Scarecrow King By Jill Myles [Review]

  1. aliciagaile February 2, 2017 / 10:40 am

    I read this book a long time ago and have recently been trying to track a copy down at my local library. I love the King Thrushbeard story. It’s not easy to make the princess character likable and stay true to her original counterpart but Jill Myles does it. Nice to see someone else enjoys this story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 2, 2017 / 10:39 pm

      It was a nice fairytale retelling and I wish more people had read this book. Thanks for the visit though! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

