Balance (Balance Series #1) By Janelle Stalder [Review]


balance-2bjanelle2bstalderRELEASE DATE:
 
 November 29, 2016

AUTHOR: Janelle Stalder
GENRE:    New-Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Black Quill Publishing

SUMMARY: A love written in the stars, or born in the depths of darkness?
Where fate has brought them together, so will it tear them apart.
This is not a story of chance, but one that was destined to come to pass, and with it the fall of the darkest shadow to roam the earth.
Vivian French will soon realize that monsters are not just characters from story books, but creatures who can tear your soul apart and leave nothing in its place.
This is not a love story. This is a tale, of a fallen angel and The One who will bring about a change in the Balance.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

Firstly, I loved the cover of the book which looks beautiful and gorgeous and secondly, It was my second series from the author so I’m very excited to read this. It’s a story about fallen angels, a human girl and a prophecy which sounds pretty much cliched but I do want to give this a try. So, I enjoyed reading this book but not as much as I did with Switch which is Janelle’s other book from the New world series that I really loved. Nonetheless, Balance is an entertaining and engaging paranormal romance. It’s not only a forbidden love story but also a fight between light and dark.

 When high school graduate and aspiring prosecutor Vivian French lands an internship in Banks and Sons, the biggest law firm in town, she meets Dermont Banks and his sons who are hot eye candies.  The Banks sons has a certain charm that attracts every women in the vicinity and she didn’t want to involve with any of them but something intrigues her about Caleb, Dermont’s youngest son who is quiet unfriendly and cold. But when Caleb suddenly recognizes her presence, she gets pretty confused by his behavior including his father and his brothers. Vivian doesn’t want to jeopardize her position by having a relationship with her boss’s son but neither can deny the attraction they feel towards each other. Dermont Banks and his sons aren’t what they seem and they harbor a dark secret that vivian is unaware of. Everyone is against vivian and Caleb’s relationship especially Dermont and when Vivian finally learns about the dark secret, her whole world turns upside down.

Vivian is a pretty likable and relatable character but she didn’t impressed me much either. She is sweet, innocent, naive and trusts people pretty easily but it doesn’t mean she’s weak either. I loved Caleb! He might seem a bit rude with his cold glares at the beginning but later on he becomes quite protective of her. He is a fallen angel who is supposed to be bad but after meeting Vivian he feels something for her that he shouldn’t be. It isn’t a insta-love but there is definitely a insta-attraction which I can accept with this book. I liked the romance between Vivian and Caleb and they had a great chemistry that I really enjoyed.The Supporting characters like Dermont, Collin and Kellan are not bad but they didn’t held my interest much so I hope they change my mind in the next book.

The plot is good but to be honest most of the aspects in this book seemed pretty much cliched. Being an avid reader of paranormal fiction books, I felt this was an overused paranormal trope but still I enjoyed Vivian and Caleb’s growing relationship. It was a decent paranormal romance that many readers would like to read. The pacing is good and I also liked the writing style. The story was told in multiple pov’s which I usually hate and surprisingly, I had no issue with it in this book.

Overall, it was a good start for a new series! Though it wasn’t up to my expectations, I would definitely look forward to the next book because the cliffhanger ending really piqued my interest and I want to know what happens next.

Do I recommend it!
Yes!
I would recommend it to all the readers who likes paranormal romance set in a modern world.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars] 

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂

Signature

One thought on “Balance (Balance Series #1) By Janelle Stalder [Review]

Leave a Reply

