Unfathomable Chance By K.T. Munson [ARC Review]

RELEASE DATE:  December 1, 2016
AUTHOR: K.T. Munson
GENRE:     Young-Adult, Fantasy,  Sci-fi, Aliens, Adventure.
SUMMARY: When Diana woke up on her 23rd birthday she thought it was going to be a normal day. She thought of donuts, coffee, and laughter. She did not think she was going to become the center in a galactic race to win her heart. None too pleased with the prospect of alien races descending on Earth to try and woo her, Diana does the only reasonable thing she can; she runs. Now she has to try and find a way to get rid of the blasted bracelet that is the cause of all the recent craziness in her life. The problem is this isn’t an ordinary bracelet; it contains the Heart of the Cosmos. Furthermore the Cosmos chose her for a reason and it isn’t keen on letting her go until she finishes what it started over ten years ago. Something tried to destroy it and now Diana isn’t just worried about her heart, she is worried about her life.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

* I received this arc from the author in exchange for my honest review and I was kind of late in posting this review but still it’s better late than never. *

This book was an enjoyable read but it doesn’t mean that it’s one of my favorites either. Though I liked the entire concept of the book, I had some minor issues with the main character and also with the flow of the book.  Nonetheless, it was a good read with interesting plot and unique world building. I had no high expectations when I picked this up and I’m glad that it turned out to be pretty entertaining read cause I love reading sci-fi reads with hot aliens in it.  It actually kinda reminded me of Jupiter Ascending movie but the story is so much different from that.

When Diana was a young girl she stumbles upon a mysterious bracelet that comes out of nowhere. Ten years later, on her 23rd birthday her normal life takes a adventurous turn when she gets attacked by  mysterious guys in suits. She later learns that the strange bracelet is actually a heart of cosmos which makes her a bearer of cosmos and soon to be empress of the universe. Many Aliens tries to impress her and woo her for her hand in marriage so that they can rule the entire universe alongside her. With no choice, Diana runs away to hide and wants to get rid of the bracelet. When she seeks the heart of the cosmos for help, she was given a task to complete in order to get her freedom from the bracelet. With danger lurking around the corner, Diana sets out to find the answers she was looking for and earn her freedom to get back to her normal life. 

Diana is a strong character but I had a few issues with the character development. She started as a naive person who doesn’t know anything about cosmos or anything about inter galactic races. She also didn’t know anything about being empress either but suddenly without any triggers she was confident and acts like she’s used to being an empress which really confused me a bit. Nonetheless, I liked her.  Kal Zed, the adorable talking cat is my favorite character. He is so hilarious and I quiet enjoyed the conversations between him and Diana. Dimar is a sexy hot alien that I really liked and I couldn’t get enough of him. The chemistry between Dimar and Diana is great. There is not much romance in this book but I really hoped there was more romance in it. Jacrifcar, the alien assassin is another interesting character that Intrigued me and I would love to read a book about him if the author ever decides to write a book about him. I also liked Melanie, Diana’s best friend. She’s fun, spunky, and very supportive. 

The plot is engaging with adventure, intrigue, suspense and light romance. The pacing is good but I felt it was a bit rushed at the end. It was a short book and honestly I feel that it should’ve been a bit more longer. I liked the writing. It was simple and easy to understand. The book was told in Diana’s POV and I would’ve probably liked it more if it was also written in Dimar’s POV. The setting is great and I loved it. when it comes to sci-fi books, the world building would always be my first priority and the author has done a great job in building this world. 

Overall, it was a good sci-fi read! Although it wasn’t a mind blowing read, I quite enjoyed reading this book and I would definitely recommend it to all the sci-fi book lovers. 

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars] 

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

3 thoughts on “Unfathomable Chance By K.T. Munson [ARC Review]

Leave a Reply

