In Ice We Burn By Alexandra Moody [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  November 10, 2016
AUTHOR: Alexandra Moody
GENRE:   Young- Adult, Fantasy, Adventure.
SUMMARY: A world of frost and snow. A prince with a heart of ice. A darkness lurking in the shadows, so evil it may destroy them all.

Eighteen-year-old Sloane has spent years training to be lethal. She can cut a man down as easily with her bare hands as she can with a sword. But when her brother goes missing on the green planet, Aeris, she will need more than her skills with a blade to save him.

Sneaking aboard the rescue mission may be easy for her, but the woods of Aeris aren’t as empty as her people first assumed. Sloane is about to meet her match, and he’s not exactly human…

Kidnapped and dragged to a mysterious frozen world, Sloane must gain her captor’s trust if she wants to escape. The only problem is: she didn’t plan to care for the strange people who live there. She didn’t expect the smoldering attraction she feels for the man who keeps her prisoner in the snow. And she never imagined the dark creatures that haunt the foreign world could hold the answers she is looking for.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

This was very intriguing book and I enjoyed every moment in it. I’m a great fan of sci-fi dystopian books with strong heroines and when I first read the blurb of this book, I was quite captivated and I knew I had to read this book ASAP. I found this book surprisingly good in everything, I loved the concept, the characters and the setting. This was my first book from Alexandra Moody and I was very much impressed with her creativity and story building skills. It’s a great start for a new series and I can’t wait to read more of it.

Eighteen Year Old Sloane has spent years in training to become lethal and strong. She’s a top skilled fighter in her academy. When her brother Ash and his crew goes missing in a green planet called Aeris, a rescue team was prepared to retrieve them. Sloane has a great tracking skills but she gets rejected to go along with them due to her overprotective father who is also a captain. But somehow she sneaks into the rescue pod by disguising herself as one of the rescue team member and finally arrives into the Planet Aeris. Sloane and her people thought that no life exists in the planet Aeris, she was proved wrong when she encounters a beautiful stranger who captures her and drags her into his mysterious world which is filled with ice and snow. To escape, she needs to earn her captor’s trust, who is cold and rude towards her.  As her stay in this strange land extends, she eventually warms up to their people and also to her attractive captor. But when a dangerous threat called braky’s surfaces, Sloane needs to escape from there and warn her people before it’s too late.

I loved Sloane even though sometimes she seemed a bit overconfident and selfish. She is quite stubborn, fiesty and tough character. Although she is strong, she isn’t perfect either. She also has some flaws and vulnerabilities that makes her real. Her love for her siblings is totally admirable and she’s very protective of her sister Rowena.  Rhyn is a captivating character. His hot and cold personality definitely intrigued me and not to forget his good looks. I loved the relationship between Sloane and Rhyn. I really enjoyed the first time they met where they physically fought each other. I loved how their relationship slowly developed and it’s definitely not a Stockholm syndrome kind of romance. with each time they met, they grew closer and started trusting each other. They haven’t confessed their feelings yet but they knew they are attracted to each other. So, I really can’t wait to know how their relationship progresses further. I also liked the supporting characters Emha and Kai. Emha is a brave girl who befriends Sloane and I liked their friendship. Kai is Rhyn’s older brother. He seemed a bit odd at first but later he turned out  to be very friendly. Rhyn’s mother Orelle is another character that I liked, she is very sweet and caring.

The plot is unique and very interesting. It’s a fast paced story which was engaging from the start and It was so captivating that I couldn’t stop turning the pages. I immensely enjoyed the fighting with the dark creatures named Braky’s. Seriously, It’s a perfect package of entertainment with right amount of action, intrigue and mystery. I liked the writing style, It was compelling and easy to understand. The book was mostly told in Sloane’s POV and there is also a few POV’s of Rhyn’s which I absolutely loved. I loved the whole setting especially the mysterious frozen world which is quite fascinating and beautiful in it’s own way. I also liked the glacies, the bird like vicious pets.

Overall, I loved it! The book ended it with a cliffhanger and I’m so desperate for the next book cause I’m dying to know what’s gonna happen next.

Recommend it?
Hell Yes!!!

I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves fast paced sci-fi dystopian novels with feisty heroines.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars] 

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

4 thoughts on “In Ice We Burn By Alexandra Moody [Review]

Leave a Reply

