Nemesis (Nemesis #1) By Anna Banks [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  October 4, 2016
AUTHOR: Anna Banks
GENRE:   Young- Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Feiwel & Friends
SUMMARY: The princess didn’t expect to fall in love–with her nemesis.

Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee from his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift could save Tarik’s kingdom from the Quiet Plague. But should she trust her growing feelings for her nemesis, or should she hide her gifts at all costs?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

I’ve really waited a long time to get this book in my hands. When I first read the synopsis of this book, I was very very intrigued especially with that captivating cover. I pretty much loved the cover even though how freaky it may look cause I really think it’s a kickass cover . Before reading this book, I’ve seen so many mixed reviews which made me too afraid to pick it up because I really don’t want to be disappointed after all the torturous waiting. After I was finished with the book, I have to say it wasn’t a mindblowing read but it definitely has all the elements to love it. Anna Banks is a great author and Nemesis is an amazing start for a good fantasy series.

Princess Sephora is a last forger who can create spectorium whenever she can. Spectorium is an energy which can also be used as a huge currency in all the kingdoms. When she discovers her father’s evil plans by using her as a weapon in a war, she flees from there to protect the five kingdoms and also herself. She escapes to a enemy kingdom called Theoria and struggles to survive there without her identity being discovered. When she gets captured to serve for the new king of Theoria, she gets pretty furious and writes letters to summon the king which is obviously ignored. But Princess Sephora does not like being ignored so after some hard determination and struggle, she finally confronts the falcon king. When she meets the king, she gets quite surprised by him cause she never thought he would be so young and compassionate. The Kingdom of Theoria is suffering from a mysterious plague that can only be cured with the help of Spectorium which they are heavily lacking. Princess Sephora can save the kingdom if she wants to, but Tarik aka Falcon king is still her enemy and she doesn’t want her secret to be discovered and once again used as a war weapon. With her growing feelings can she be able to trust her enemy enough to save the kingdom or let them die.

I really liked Sephora! She’s a strong character who is fiesty, witty and endearing. What I most liked about her is her helping nature. Even though she can’t use her power, she does everything she can to help the people who needs it. Tarik is definitely a captivating character. Although he hates being on the throne, he is a good king who is kind and always cares about his people’s well being. I liked the relationship between Tarik and Sephora. It was a slow burning romance that I always adore. The banters between them are quite enjoyable as well as the steamy sexual tension. As for the secondary characters, I liked Sethos, Tarik’s younger brother. He has quite a fun personality and also has a liking for Sephora and always likes to flirt with her. But rest assured there isn’t any triangle cause Sephora only has eyes for one guy.

The plot is somewhat predictable but it was well executed and kept my interest through out. The story was engaging from the start and never left me bored. The pacing was quite good and the story was told in both sephora and Tarik’s POV which is another great aspect of this book. I always love books with dual POV’s. The writing is pretty amazing and easy to understand. The world the author created is quite fascinating. I didn’t know that it was actually based on Egyptian culture which is what interested me the most and I loved the body painting thing where people have to paint their skin for some occasions. I really hope the next book’s cover has Tarik’s face on it painted in gold. Along with the Egyptian culture there are also some magical and a few scientific elements in it that I really liked.

Except for a few flaws, overall it was a very entertaining read that I really enjoyed.  I liked the characters, the setting and the story. The minor cliffhanger at the end isn’t frustrating enough to get you mad but it does leave you wanting for more. So, yes I’m definitely going to read the next book.

Do I Recommend it?
A huge Yes!!!

I highly recommend this book to all the YA fantasy lovers but I must warn you though it isn’t a fully action packed fantasy novel.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars] 

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

5 thoughts on “Nemesis (Nemesis #1) By Anna Banks [Review]

    • ravenblake99 November 1, 2016 / 11:22 pm

      Thank you! I hope you get to read this one cause I really want to hear your thoughts on it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Kelly November 2, 2016 / 2:57 am

    This sounds so good and I have heard so many amazing things about it so far! I usually like fantasy novels that are full of action, but I think I might give this one a go anyway. I have an ARC of it on my shelf so why not?

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 November 3, 2016 / 10:50 pm

      That’s great! i hope you enjoy it when you get to it! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

