Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) By Leigh Bardugo [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  September 27, 2016
AUTHOR: Leigh Bardugo
GENRE:   Young- Adult, Fantasy, Adventure.
PUBLISHER: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
SUMMARY: Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

Firstly, I loved the cover of this book. It looks so beautiful and I can’t get enough of it. Secondly, the story was so thrilling that I couldn’t take my eyes off the pages. Crooked Kingdom is one of my highly anticipated releases of this year. I’ve been waiting ages for this book since I’ve last finished Six of crows. The six of crows series is action-packed, adventurous and exciting enough to give you adrenaline rush that you crave for in a fantasy book. I still can’t believe that it was finally over and finishing it has left me with a huge book hangover. I honestly feel there should’ve been one more book in this series cause I think two books isn’t enough for this story and I’m also not really satisfied with that ending  I mean WTH! I want more Inej and Kaz cause it can’t end like that and also that tragic death scene which totally devastated me. Nonetheless, It was an awesome read and I’m definitely gonna miss all the characters especially Nina and Inej.

*Warning Minor Spoilers *

After pulling off a greatest heist that is quite deadly and dangerous, Kaz and his crew thought they would be collecting their huge reward and go on their separate ways but instead  they get double crossed and one of their crew member Inej gets kidnapped. Now Kaz has left one week before saving Inej from the clutches of Van Eck. With low resources, allies and hope, Kaz and his crew has to come up with a new mastermind plan to rescue Inej before it’s too late. With all the old and new rivals of Kaz ganging up to challenge him, can he able to outsmart his enemies that are far cunning and smarter than he thought.

I loved all the main characters of this book but Inej aka wraith is definitely a star of this book. She is one of the strongest characters that I love in this series and I never could get enough of her. She has lots of belief in her religion and herself and she never loses hope. Kaz Brekker aka Dirtyhand is another favorite character of mine besides Inej. This guy is quite a mystery that I  really want to unveil from the start. He is hard to understand but he is definitely an intriguing guy. Despite having a hard edged and cold personality, he really cares for his crew. His Smartness has no limits cause even after all the hope is lost, he weaves some clever plots to outsmart his enemy. Nina aka heartrender is quite a gem in this book. In the last book, she takes Jurda puram to save her crew but the after effects leaves her craving for more of the drug. With the war waging for the new drug, Nina discovers some deadly new powers that she couldn’t control.  Matthias is a total hottie with a temper and being in the crew for sometime has definitely changed his rude behavior towards the crew. In the first book, he used to be pretty rude to everyone especially to Nina but in this book they can’t keep their hands off each other. I loved Jesper and Wylan! We finally get to know the background story of these two and I felt a bit Sad with the Wylan’s story. His father is definitely an a**hole and totally deserves everything that he got in the end.

This book has three relationships but Matthias and Nina are my favorite couple. They have great chemistry and understanding towards each other. As for Inej and kaz, their relationship frustrated the hell out of  me but it doesn’t mean that I didn’t liked it. There is so much angst and want between them but what I really want is some romance which I didn’t get enough of it so it’s a bit disappointing. The relationship between Jesper and Wylan is nothing too intense to fangirl over but they are obviously sweet and cute couple.

The plot is quite exciting and cleverly  written. From the start, the story kept me on edge and when the game of conning begins, it becomes more interesting and thrilling. There are some surprising twists in the plot that you don’t see it coming. The pacing is a bit slow at the start but don’t worry as the story progresses it will improve. Even though I loved this book, I have to say this book might be hard to get into for some people especially with it having lots of conning plots that may seem confusing at the start.  The world building is amazing, as always. It’s good to be back in the streets of Ketterdam. The writing is flawless and the book is mostly told from the six POV of Kaz, Inej, Matthias, Nina, Jesper and Wylan. Besides the clever Plot, the characters are the best part of this book. Leigh has written each of the characters in a way to make us love them individually for what they really are including their flaws.

Overall, it was an incredible read but the tragic death scene at the end seemed so much unfair and I still don’t understand  why it was necessary. It was so heartwrenching and totally unpredictable. I hated the author for this part. First Darklyn from Grisha trilogy and now this Argh!!! Why Leigh? Why….???

Six Of Crows Duology is a perfect YA fantasy read filled with kickass action, thievery, adventure, suspense, light romance and lots of twists.

Do I Recommend?

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars] 

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

6 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) By Leigh Bardugo [Review]

  1. I think I’m the only person on the planet who had a hard time getting into Six of Crows. It took me until about halfway through to get hooked, but one I was, I couldn’t put it down. I put myself on hold at my library for Crooked Kingdom, but after reading your great review I may just have to buy it!💁🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 November 1, 2016 / 11:26 pm

      It was soooo good except for the bittersweet ending! You Must Read It ASAP! I’ll look forward to your thoughts on it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

