Soulless (The Immortal Gene #1) By Jacinta Maree [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  October 01, 2015
AUTHOR: Jacinta Maree
GENRE:  New-Adult, Fantasy, dystopia, Supernatural.
PUBLISHER: Inked Rabbit Publishing
SUMMARY: Welcome to Soulless.
We are the generation that laughs at death.

Reincarnation; what was once considered a gift of immortality has become an eternity of nightmares.
Nadia Richards lives in a world plagued by reincarnation, a system of recycling souls where all past memories, personalities and traumatic events are relived daily in disjointed sequences. Trapped within their own warped realities, not even the richest and most powerful are saved from their own minds unraveling. Madness is the new human nature, and civilizations are crumpling beneath themselves trying to outrun it.
Within a society that ignores death, Nadia appears to be the one exception to the reincarnation trap. Born without any reincarnated memories and with printless eyes, the hot tempered 19 year old quickly becomes the ultimate prize to all those wishing to end the vicious cycle, or for some, to ensure they could evade death forever.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

This book is surprisingly quite good. Actually I’m not into re-incarnation thing but the synopsis convinced me enough to give it a chance and I’m glad that I did cause this book has definitely impressed me with it’s amazing world building and intriguing characters.  Although I did enjoyed this book a lot, it isn’t a total perfection either cause I did had some minor issues that can be overlooked with the interesting plot. Nonetheless, the author has done a great job in writing this story. 

The story is set in a futuristic world where re-incarnation is a normal thing where each individual is born with memories of their past lives and the cycle continues with every birth. The society is run by Elite and the poor are just left to tend for themselves. 19 Year Old Nadia is born without a soul imprint that carries her re-incarnation memories making her an anomaly among her people. When the Elite captures her to experiment on her they discover something big that might change the future of the entire humanity. With the help of a criminal, Nadia escapes from being a lab rat and learns that she has a fate that is far bigger than she thought and she could be the key to the end of re-incarnation cycle.

Nadia is a fighter and a survivor who never gives up hope. She cares for her sister a lot and very protective towards her. Due to her abnormality, her parents never cared about her safety or well being and I pretty much hated them when they sacrificed her to the elite which I think is a a**hole thing to do. Diesel is somewhat mysterious and interesting character that we don’t know much about yet and I’m looking forward to know more about him. He is flawed and his hard personality might be unlikable at the start but as the story progressed I’ve come to like him more. The relationship between Nadia and Diesel is pretty much complicated but I really enjoyed all the angst and the slow burn romance between them.
“I won’t let you become my biggest regret. I won’t let this feeling go. Do you understand me? You win, Nadia. For whatever twisted and insane reason, I am choosing you, so please… don’t run from me.”
I totally ship them and I can’t wait to see how their relationship develops further. The Supporting characters are not bad but nothing interesting either. I liked Tristan and I felt a bit sad that we don’t get to see him any more. 

The plot is engaging and interesting. The story began with a slow start but eventually the pace picked up as the story progressed. What really interested me the most in this book is Nadia and how she struggles in this cruel world to survive. Besides the great characters, Jacinta Maree created a wonderful world that is very creative, unique and Imaginative and I loved it. The story is told in  Nadia POV and I quite enjoyed viewing everything from her perspective. 

Overall, it was an entertaining dystopian read filled with action, adventure and light romance. Seriously, it has great characters and amazing world building. The ending part was quite exciting and it finally concluded with a cliffhanger that nearly killed me and I can’t wait to find out what happens next. 

Do I recommend it?
Yes! Yes! Yes!

I highly recommend this book to everyone especially to all the dystopian lovers. 

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars] 

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

4 thoughts on “Soulless (The Immortal Gene #1) By Jacinta Maree [Review]

Leave a Reply

