This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  July 05, 2016
AUTHOR: Victoria Schwab
GENRE:  Young-Adult, Fantasy, dystopia, Supernatural.
PUBLISHER: Greenwillow Books
SUMMARY: There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

“Monsters, monsters, big and small,
“They’re gonna come and eat you all.
Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,
Shadow and bone will eat you raw.
Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,
Smile and bite and drink you dry.
Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,
Sing you a song and steal your soul.
Monsters, monsters, big and small,
They’re gonna come and eat you all!”
Victoria Schwab, This Savage Song

I was quite excited to read This Savage Song because this is actually my first book from V.E. Schwab and being a hardcore dystopian reader, I can’t miss this book. Well, I think this book is very unique and creative but sadly not amazing enough to fangirl over. After hearing great things about ADSOM, I expected this to be something awesome. So I was a little bit disappointed with what I’ve got.The story is interesting enough to enjoy and the world building is simple but nothing fascinating. I liked the main protagonists who are quite interesting and unique in their own way. And also this book does have Romeo and Juliet feel to it but there is no romance in it but still you’d want to know how their journey ends. This book heavily deals with friendship and self discovery that I really liked. What I liked the most in this book are the main characters and the writing style of the author.

The story is set in a city which is overrun with monsters like Corsai, Malchai and Sunai. The city of verity is divided into two parts: South and North where the North is under the protection of Harker and The South is under the protection of Flynn. In North, the monsters roam free and the people needs to pay to protect themselves from the monsters. Where as in South, the monsters and all sinners are exterminated to protect the civilians. Kate Harker wants to be like her ruthless father who controls the monsters in the north. After being kicked out from her sixth boarding school, Kate’s finally returning to her home. At the new school, she meets a new boy who intrigues her. August Flynn is a Sunai, a monster who can steal a soul with his music but he desperately craves a normal human life which isn’t possible for him. He always wants to help his family in protecting innocents. For his new job, he was sent to North by disguising himself as a human to spy on Kate Harker and befriend her but things doesn’t go as planned when Kate finds out his secret. Kate wants to bring August to her father but something goes wrong when a monster attacks her and both of them run for their lives.

August and Kate are the two main characters in this book. Kate is definitely a tough cookie with her badass, stubborn and bitchy personality. To get her father’s attention she has done some stupid things that I don’t agree with but I still like her.  August is a great character and is easy to connect with. He is sweet and adorable and definitely my favorite character in this book. When I first read the blurb, I thought this was going to be another star crossed lovers romance novel but there isn’t any romance instead it was heavily focused on the friendship between them which I immensely enjoyed. Kate and August are enemies to each other but when fate brings them together they start to trust each other and developed a unique friendship. The secondary characters are okay but nothing memorable enough to describe especially with my whole focus on the main characters.

The plot is pretty interesting with right amount of mystery, adventure and creepiness but still there’s something missing that I can’t put my finger on it. The first half is slow paced that’s why some readers may find the story a bit boring at the start but the pace definitely improves in the second half where the story takes a interesting turn that’ll engage the readers till the end.  The story was told in both Kate and August’s POV. The writing style of the author is beautiful and captivating. It is one of the great aspects of this book and I loved it. The world the author created is really simple and unique but honestly, I expected more from this author.

Overall, I liked it! Despite this book isn’t up to my expectations, I would definitely continue the series. The story concludes with a minor cliffhanger and I’ll look forward to know what happens next.

Do I Recommend It?
YES!!!

This Savage Song is a great start to a new YA fantasy/paranormal series and I would highly recommend it.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars1[3.5/5 Stars] 

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

8 thoughts on “This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab [Review]

    • ravenblake99 October 2, 2016 / 12:39 am

      Yeah, there are so many hardcore fans for ADSOM so I really want to check out her work. I wasn’t entirely satisfied with the story but it definitely intrigued me. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. aentee @ read at midnight October 16, 2016 / 11:27 am

    I agree with your assessment of the book, Victoria Schwab is one of my favourite writers at the moment and I felt this book lacked her usual edge. The characters and the world building, while solid, just did not live up to her previous work – especially Vicious which this book was based on. I am still curious to check out the sequel, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 October 19, 2016 / 12:59 am

      Yeah, The ending left me curious too so I’ll definitely look out for the next one! Thanks for the visit! 😀 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

