The Replacement Crush By Lisa Brown Roberts [ARC Review]

RELEASE DATE:  Sep 06, 2016
AUTHOR: Lisa Brown Roberts
GENRE: Young-Adult, Contempoary, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Entangled Teen 
SUMMARY: True love can’t be strategized.

After book blogger Vivian Galdi’s longtime crush pretends their secret summer kissing sessions never happened, Vivian creates a list of safe crushes, determined to protect her heart.

But nerd-hot Dallas, the sweet new guy in town, sends the mission and Vivian’s zing meter into chaos. While designing software for the bookstore where Vivian works, Dallas wages a counter-mission.

Operation Replacement Crush is in full effect. And Dallas is determined to take her heart off the shelf.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review and this is in no way influenced my rating.

 This book was cute and fun to read. At first I had my doubts but I’m glad I gave it a try and it turns out to be better than expected.  The plot was obviously predictable but the story was written in a way that kept my interest through out. I really enjoyed all the nerdiness and the witty banters between Vivian and Dallas. If it wasn’t for the main protagonist and her stupid decisions, I would’ve loved it more. This was my second book from Lisa and I would definitely look forward to her next book.

After summer break, book blogger Vivian Galdi’s longtime crush ignores her and pretends their secret summer kissing sessions never happened. She gets rejected just because she didn’t slept with him. To overcome her heartbreak, Vivian makes a list of guys to be her replacement crush. Enter hot nerd Dallas aka McNerd, new guy in town who’s helping with designing software for their bookstore.  As the two start to spend time together, she starts to have second thoughts. Vivian could have another chance in finding love if only she’s willing to give up her mission.

Vivian is a relatable character, she was fun, quirky, dorky and book nerd. She’s also a book blogger and reviewer who specializes in romance books. Although I liked her, I really can’t say that she’s a great character because her repeatedly making stupid decisions really irritated me and sometimes I wanted to strangle her and knock some sense into her. Dallas is adorkably hot, intelligent and cute. The relationship between Dallas and Vivian is  uber cute. They are both trekkies and even though I’m not a trekkie, I really enjoyed their banters. They connect with each other so well and you can feel their chemistry from the start. Together they are adorable couple and I wish there was more romance in this book. The secondary characters  Jaz, Toff, Iggy and Amy are pretty nice who made this book more fun to read.

Except for some parts most of the plot was predictable but it was entertaining enough to hold your attention. The mystery behind Dallas real identity has made it more intriguing and when it was finally revealed I was totally surprised. The story moved in a fast pace and was told in Vivian’s Perspective. I liked the writing, it was easy simple, witty and easy to understand.

Overall, I liked it! It was quick, fun and light read. It would make a perfect beach read or summer read. Trigger Warning: There is an attempted rape scene at the second part of the book.

Do I Recommend it?
Yes, If you are looking for a adorakable and romantic contemporary read filled with lots of bookish nerdiness then definitely give this a try.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

One thought on “The Replacement Crush By Lisa Brown Roberts [ARC Review]

Leave a Reply

