Soldier (Talon #3) By Julie Kagawa [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  April 26, 2016
AUTHOR: Julie Kagawa
GENRE: Young-Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Dragons.
PUBLISHER: Harlequin Teen

SUMMARY: When forced to choose between safety with the dragon organization Talon and being hunted forever as an outcast, Ember Hill chose to stand with Riley and his band of rogue dragons rather than become an assassin for Talon. She’s lost any contact with her twin brother, Dante, a Talon devotee, as well as Garret, the former-enemy soldier who challenged her beliefs about her human side. As Ember and Riley hide and regroup to fight another day, Garret journeys alone to the United Kingdom, birthplace of the ancient and secret Order of St. George, to spy on his former brothers and uncover deadly and shocking secrets that will shake the foundations of dragons and dragon-slayers alike and place them all in imminent danger as Talon’s new order rises.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

After the bittersweet ending in the Rogue, I was really looking forward to this book because its about Garret my favorite character in this series. As expected, this book turned out to be amazing with equal amount of action, intrigue and romance. There’s lots of revelations in this book that really surprised me and I can’t say how much I enjoyed it. I hated how things ended in the prequel but this one totally blew me away with the twists and that nightmarish cliffhanger has literally left me shattered. I’m so desperate for the next book, after so many struggles and sacrifices it doesn’t have to end like that and I really hope the author doesn’t disappoint us in the next book.

When Ember learns more about Talon and their plans for her, she finally chooses to be an outcast rather than an assassin and bands with the rebel dragon Riley. She has lost contact with her brother Dante who is currently working for Talon and also Garret, an ex-soldier of St. George who captivated her human side and left her when she chose to be with Riley. While Ember and Riley are together on the mission to save rogue dragons and hatchlings from Talon and their secret experimentations, Garret arrives in London to spy on St. George in order to confirm his suspicions but what he finds there is totally shocking that will shake the foundations of St. George and their teachings. Garret needs to go back to Ember and warn her from the threat that was so much bigger than they thought.

Ember isn’t my favorite character yet but she isn’t bad either. Her indecisiveness has always annoyed me and in the previous book Talon, I really hated her decision but I’m glad that she changed her mind and finally chose the one her heart desired. Garret is totally kickass in this book and I was kind of felt bad for him when Ember rejected him just because he is human. He is really such a great guy cause even though after getting rejected, he respected her decision and never stopped loving her. Riley, the rogue dragon is an okay character but he didn’t impressed me much. He is the leader of the rogue organization and always acted like an older guy who was quite possessive towards Ember maybe that’s why he seemed less appealing to me. The triangle in this might seem frustrating with Ember liking both guys. Her human side likes Garett but her dragon side is attracted to Cobalt/Riley making it complicated enough for her to choose the one she likes the most but thankfully at the end of this book she has finally made her decision and I’m so happy with it otherwise I would’ve hated her forever. From the start, I always rooted for Garret and yeah there is a chemistry between Riley and Ember but it was missing all the sparks however in the case of Ember and Garret there’s lots of fireworks and sexual tension. As for the supporting characters, I loved Jade, a chinese female dragon who was totally kickass in her own way. Dante doesn’t have much part in this book but he did played a major role in this book.

The plot was amazing! It started a bit slow but the pace picked up after a few chapters and from then on it was unputdownable. The story got more intense as the plot thickens and lot’s of secrets are revealed. Despite the triangle, there’s a lots of action in this book that I really enjoyed. This book was written in Ember, Garett, Riley and Dante’s POV which really helped me in understanding the story better. I loved the writing style so I have no issues with it.

Overall, It was fantastic! So many secrets are revealed and the ending was so heart wrenching that I’m dying to know what’s gonna happen next in Legion. Julie really knows how to grab readers attention with her engaging plots and massive cliffhangers that’ll definitely make the readers come back for more.

Soldier is the third installment in the action packed YA series Talon by Julie Kagawa and I highly recommend it. If you like reading action packed fantasy books with dragons set in a modern world then definitely give this series a shot.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

8 thoughts on “Soldier (Talon #3) By Julie Kagawa [Review]

  1. susannahhtaylor June 1, 2016 / 2:55 am

    I really need to read this series and if my TBR every decides to come down, I’m definitely picking this up!

    Like

  2. Summer @ Xingsings June 1, 2016 / 9:32 am

    To be honest, I’ve been quite skeptical of the entire trilogy since most books with dragons never mix well with me. But I still ended up buying books one and two because the covers for this series is gorgeous! And I’m so glad that this finale lived up to your expectations (and had your favorite character appearing lots). 🙂

    Like

    • ravenblake99 June 3, 2016 / 12:09 am

      I love the covers too! This book isn’t a finale and I think there’s still two more books left in the series that aren’t published yet. So far, I’m quite enjoying this series and I hope you give it a try.😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

