The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) By Richelle Mead [Review]


RELEASE DATE:
 
 April 12, 2016

AUTHOR: Richelle Mead
GENRE: Young-Adult, Fantasy, Historical,  Romance.
PUBLISHER:
Razorbill
SUMMARY: Big and sweeping, spanning the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies capable of arranging powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.

When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together, they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise—first, as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and later, when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.

But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands. . . .

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

Richelle Mead is one of my favorite authors so I had put high expectations on this book after reading it’s intriguing blurb but sadly it was quite a disappointment. This book was mostly historical fiction and there isn’t any strong fantasy element in it. It has a decent plot but nothing exciting. The characters are pretty okay but the romance seemed quite dull to me and I can’t believe it was the same author who wrote the amazing The Vampire Academy series. Lately, I’ve been seeing Richelle Mead’s new works aren’t doing anything great which makes me hesitate to pick up her other works. As for the glittering court, I don’t think I would continue with this series but I still think it’s a good start for a new YA historical series.

The story is about a young  noble woman named Adelaide who craves a life full of adventure but not to lead a boring life being a submissive wife to a husband. She wanted to avoid the arranged marriage set by her grandmother and the opportunity presents itself in the form of The Glittering Court where young girls are trained to become a upper class woman capable enough to marry rich and wealthy husband in the new world.  In order to enter in to the glittering court, she poses herself as her maid. In the glittering court, she befriends Tamsin and Mira and grabs the attention of Cedric Thorn,  son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court and also the only person who knows her real identity. When Adelaide accidentally finds a deadly secret about Thorn she becomes concerned about him and tries hard in her deception to help him. When they finally arrive to Adoria, things started to get complicated when she catches the attention of a governor who’s hell bent on making Adelaide his wife. The growing attraction between Adelaide and cedric is another complication that’ll make a huge scandal and also ruin their efforts if they ever acted upon it.

The characters are good but not that great and I had difficulty in connecting with them. Adelaid is an okay character but she isn’t strong kickass female lead I had expected her to be. She may seem vulnerable but  when it comes to helping others, she is very determined and brave. Cedric is quite dashing and swoon worthy character. I liked the relationship between cedric and Adelaid but the romance seemed too dull to me and their chemistry was lacking. Although I was disappointed with the romance, I loved the friendship between Adelaide, Mira and Tamsin. I really enjoyed how they always look out for each other and it’s the only part that I loved about this book.

The plot and the concept are definitely interesting and unique but it isn’t something exciting or thrilling with mind blowing action. It was good enough to read but honestly I mostly felt bored while reading it because it heavily lacked in action and it’s pacing made it more worse. It’s slow pacing was another issue that I have with this book because I totally hate slow paced books. Add to that, there’s not much world building in it which is a bit disappointing. The story was written in Adelaid POV and It could’ve been great if it was written in multiple POV that could help us connect better with the other characters. The writing was addicting and flawless, as always but it still couldn’t able to change my opinion on this book.

Although it didn’t worked out for me, It wasn’t bad either. Honestly, I would’ve liked it more if I hadn’t put high expectations on it. I expected it to be a epic fantasy read but it turns out to be an historical fiction.

Do I recommend it?
Yes, despite the issues, it’ll still make a good YA historical read and if you are interested  then definitely give it a try.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars1[3/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

15 thoughts on “The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) By Richelle Mead [Review]

    • ravenblake99 May 9, 2016 / 12:39 am

      Thank you! Don’t worry, it really wasn’t that bad. The story wraps up in a nice way but don’t expect anything mind-blowing. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books May 8, 2016 / 2:06 am

    I’m sorry you didn’t like this book as much as you wanted to. I’ve seen mixed reviews for this book, so I’m a bit hesitant to go into this one though I might just give it a try someday. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 May 9, 2016 / 12:44 am

      Thank you Poulami! Yeah, the synopsis sounded promising and it’s a shame that it didn’t lived up to it. It’s a book that must be avoided when you’re in a reading slump and I really hope you enjoy it more than I did. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly May 10, 2016 / 1:47 am

    Wonderful review! This is another one of those really hyped up books that I bought because I thought I would absolutely love (I did read Soundless by Richelle Mead and I thought that was pretty good, but I haven’t read anything else written by her). I didn’t get to read it yet, but from the reviews I’ve been seeing, I’m not sure how I’m going to like it after all. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy this one more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 May 11, 2016 / 2:22 am

      Thank you! It’s pretty sad that I didn’t enjoy it as much as I expected but do give it a shot maybe it’ll be more to your liking. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. thebibliotheque May 10, 2016 / 2:35 pm

    Oh sh*t, so many people excited about this book (me included) and most of the reviews I’ve read are giving such low ratings. That’s a great review though 🙂 Too bad you didn’t completely enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 May 11, 2016 / 2:14 am

      Thank you! I really wanted to like this but the plot was a bit boring and nowhere near exciting like VA. Though it didn’t worked out for me, why don’t you give it a try cause I’ve seen so many readers loving it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Claire aka Coffeeholic Bookworm May 14, 2016 / 8:13 pm

    I had the same sentiments. Glittering Court didn’t strike me as forthcoming as Richelle Mead’s other works. This sounded like a ripoff of The Selection series.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Summer @ Xingsings May 19, 2016 / 12:27 pm

    As you know, I’m also a fan of Richelle Mead and after hearing that this was slated to be very similar to the CW show, Reign, which was one my guilty pleasures last year, I’ve had high expectations. I still haven’t had a chance to pick this one up in the stores yet, but I’m sorry to hear it was overall lackluster with a few good moments here and there. I’m still going to give it a try though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 May 23, 2016 / 12:21 am

      This book wasn’t action packed and it lacked building the tension in the plot but I really hope it works out for you. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

