The Other Side Of Gravity (Oxygen #1) By Shelly Crane [ARC Review]

RELEASE DATE:  March 15 , 2016
AUTHOR: Shelly Crane
GENRE: Young-Adult, Sci-fi, Dystopia, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Kiss Me Publications, LLC

SUMMARY: My name is Maxton and I’m a trader.

I live on a soulless planet where gravity, oxygen, and everything else are sold to the highest bidder on the black market. People are sold on the black market, too. You have to work really hard not to become one of those people. Pay your taxes, keep your friends and family close, and more than anything else—don’t get caught by the Militia. But all the rules changed for me the day I found her.

My name is Sophelia and I’m a stowaway.

I’ve been a slave for almost as long as I can remember. Waiting for the one day, one second, for my proprietor to turn his head so I could run and never look back. Now I’m on the run. And on a planet where no one is on your side and people would turn you in for a good meal or a piece of a silver, being on the run on Landu is the last place you want to be. Until he found me.

I won’t survive without him.

I can’t breathe without her.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

 * ARC RECEIVED FROM THE PUBLISHER VIA NET GALLEY *

The other side of gravity is a refreshing read having a unique world building. This book isn’t a total perfection because it does have its flaws. The story started out great but in the second half it somewhat lost it’s intensity with too much romance in the plot. The characters are not bad but they could’ve been much better. I’m not saying it was entirely bad it was just that I loved Shelly crane’s other series so I expected much more from it. Nonetheless it was  entertaining enough and I absolutely loved the world building.

The story is set in a planet where Oxygen, Gravity and Water are scarce and they are sold to the highest bidder in the black market. The people on this planet survive by Oxygen and gravity pills but each family must pay their taxes in order to earn their living and daily ration otherwise they are sold as slaves. Seventeen Year old Sophelia is a slave since she was young and she always wanted to escape the life she was living. When sophelia finally reached her breaking point, she decides to run from her proprietor and escapes from the hell she was living. When she gets caught by a black market trader named Maxton she don’t know what to do and begs for his help. Maxton has lots of responsibility on his shoulder and when he finds a stowaway in his ship, he gets pretty surprised and helping the slave will make him a traitor which he can’t afford to especially when he has a family that depends on him. So, when he betrays her by giving up her location, Maxton finally realizes that he has done the wrong thing and decides to help her escaping. Together they escape and become the outlaws chased by the authorities.

Sophelia is likable and somewhat ok but she wasn’t that great as expected. On the outside she might look like a strong character but inside she is quite vulnerable due to her being a slave since she was young. She doesn’t trust anyone but when she gets to know more about Maxton, she slowly learns to trust him. Maxton is a brave, responsible and pretty much nice guy who cares very much for his family and friends. He always tries hard to make Sophelia understand that she is more than a slave and daily pampers her with different delicious items of food which is totally romantic and cute. As for the romance, there is insta-attraction from Maxton’s side due to Soph being a beautiful red head and there is lots of sexual tension between him and Soph. The chemistry between them is quite steamy and in the second half it becomes more intense when they finally realize how much they desire each other. This book doesn’t have any strong supporting characters which is a bit disappointing because they always make the plot more strong and enjoyable.

The plot was exciting and fast paced in the first half but in the second half it became slow with too much romance and make-out sessions which I find it a bit annoying because the mc’s seemed like horny teenagers who can’t keep their hands to themselves. When it comes to sci-fi dystopian books I always prefer it to have equal amount of action and romance which this book obviously failed to do so. However, there are some major twists in the second half that made it worthwhile to continue.  I loved the world building  which is the best aspect of this book. Some things may seem too hard to believe like gravity pills but I really enjoyed it. The story was written in Max and Soph’s POV and the writing is great as expected from the author cause it’s the next best thing besides the setting.

Oveall, it was a nice start for a new sci-fi dystopian series and I liked it enough to continue the series. The story ended with a major cliffhanger that left me shocked and I’m dying to know what’s gonna happen next.

Do I recommend it?
Yeah, despite the flaws, this book definitely worth a shot and I highly recommend it to the sci-fi dystopian readers.

 

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1 [3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

5 thoughts on “The Other Side Of Gravity (Oxygen #1) By Shelly Crane [ARC Review]

  1. Candid Cover April 23, 2016 / 4:51 pm

    I haven’t heard of this one before. The synopsis sounds like it has quite a unique concept. I would have to agree with you on a fast-paced story that has too much romance. I always feel like there should be some sort of balance. Lovely review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 April 25, 2016 / 2:29 am

      Thank you! I loved the unique concept of this book! If you like to read it then do give this a try. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

