These Vicious Masks (These Vicious Masks #1) By Tarun Shanker & Kelly Zekas [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  February 9, 2016
AUTHOR: Tarun Shanker & Kelly Zekas
GENRE:Young-Adult, Historical, Mystery, Fantasy,  Romance.
PUBLISHER: Swoon Reads

SUMMARY: England, 1882. Evelyn is bored with society and its expectations. So when her beloved sister, Rose, mysteriously vanishes. she ignores her parents and travels to London to find her, accompanied by the dashing Mr. Kent. But they’re not the only ones looking for Rose. The reclusive young gentleman Sebastian Braddock is also searching for her, claiming that both sisters have special healing powers. Evelyn is convinced that Sebastian must be mad, until she discovers that his strange tales of extraordinary people are true—and that her sister is in graver danger than she feared.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

First of all, I loved the idea of Jane Austen meets X-men and I was quite excited to read it but did it really satisfied me? Well, it was definitely entertaining but I don’t think it was something that’ll blow your mind. I thought it’s going to be pretty action packed but to my disappointment the plot was mostly focused on the mystery behind the Rose’s abduction and an introduction to the characters with extra-ordinary powers. Nonetheless, the story was gripping with the mystery and I did enjoyed it. It was really a nice introduction to the series but the romance needs more work.

The story is set in a 18th century England in which Evelyn Wyndham’s boring life revolves around gowns and attending balls. In a ball, she meets the aloof Mr. Sebastian Braddock who totally ignores her presence and seems quite interested in her sister Rose. When her sister suddenly vanishes, she fears something might have happened to her. So, against her parent’s wishes, she travels to London with her friend, the dashing Mr.Nicholas Kent in search of her sister. In London, her path once again crosses with Mr. Braddock who claims that she and her sister has special healing powers and he tells her that he’s the only one who can help finding her sister in exchange for a favor. At first, Evelyn doesn’t believe his words and thinks he must be mad but when she witnesses herself the power within her, she finally believes him and agrees to the deal. Together, they search for Rose and during their search they happen to learn that her sister is in more danger than she had thought.

Evelyn definitely resembles Jane Austen’s Elizabeth Bennett. She is brave, stubborn intelligent, sassy and witty. I really liked her character because she doesn’t hesitate to break any rules of the society just so she could find her sister. Mr. Sebastian Braddock, our very own Mr. Darcy who likes to keep himself and very unsocial. He is somewhat a mysterious character that we would like to unveil. The dashing Mr. Kent is a character that everyone loves. He has a playful personality who likes to flirt and has a very good sense of humor. As for the romance, I’m not at all satisfied with it cause there’s barely any romance in it and I was expecting something swoon worthy. I really liked the relationship between Evelyn and Sebastian but the chemistry between them seemed lacking. There’s also a triangle in the plot and thankfully it wasn’t anything annoying that’ll effect our enjoyability.

The plot was mysterious and engaging but the pacing seemed a bit slow at few parts that made me want to skip those pages. There isn’t any praise worthy action in it which is a bit disappointing and I really hope the sequel makes up for it. There’s also some twists in the plot that really surprised me and the story became more interesting with the appearance of new characters with extra ordinary powers. The authors perfectly depicted the 18th century England and I really liked how they fused it with paranormal fiction. The writing was quite good nothing over dramatic and just the way I like it. I liked all the characters in the plot and really enjoyed the witty banters.

All in all, it was a good start for a new series and I really hope the sequel would be much more entertaining and exciting. Although, it wasn’t up to my expectations, it was definitely worth reading and yeah, I would totally recommend it.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1 [3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

11 thoughts on “These Vicious Masks (These Vicious Masks #1) By Tarun Shanker & Kelly Zekas [Review]

  1. aentee @ read at midnight April 10, 2016 / 12:16 pm

    This book sounds like an intriguing mix between the paranormal and historical. It’s a shame to hear that the romance was so underdeveloped, especially seeing its basis on Pride & Prejudice. Great and balanced review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 April 11, 2016 / 2:06 am

      It was really an interesting read! Yeah, the romance was a bit disappointing but it definitely has a impressive plot and I hope it’ll get improved in the sequel. Thank you! 😀

      Like

  2. Amy April 10, 2016 / 6:14 pm

    Our reaction to this book was like the exact same haha! It was a good book but nothing wow worthy! I’m also hopefully that the sequel will be better, because I feel like the end of that novel set the story up to have a really good rest of the series! I felt that the really shocking thing that happens at the end of the book wasn’t anywhere near as emotional as it should have been! Or that Sebastian and her connection was really lacking in chemistry! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 April 11, 2016 / 2:03 am

      Thank you! I’m glad you felt the same way and yeah, I totally agree with you on the ending. The story somewhat felt like a prequel to the series and I hope the sequel would be much better especially the romance. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amy April 11, 2016 / 4:26 am

        Yes! Especially the X-men element of the story! Like that didn’t come into it at all until right at the end!

        Liked by 1 person

      • ravenblake99 April 11, 2016 / 10:54 pm

        Yeah, from the beginning I was kind of waiting for that part and I thought why did the authors took so long to introduce those new characters. It could’ve been more exciting if they appeared a bit earlier.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. jennreneeread April 13, 2016 / 4:53 pm

    I have been reading this book and I get what you mean. Its good and I am enjoying it but its not really grabbing me like I had hoped it would.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 April 14, 2016 / 1:38 am

      Yeah, that’s what I’ve been hearing from lots of readers but I think the sequel’s going to be much better. so, I’m giving this series another chance.:D

      Like

  4. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books April 16, 2016 / 12:51 am

    I do want to give this one a try but looks like I should not get my hopes too high! Loved your review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 April 17, 2016 / 1:49 am

      Thank you! I think you’ll enjoy this book just go with low expectations. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

