The Great Hunt (Eurona Duology #1) By Wendy Higgins [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  March 08, 2016
AUTHOR: Wendy Higgins
GENRE:Young-Adult, Fantasy,  Romance.
PUBLISHER: HarperTeen

SUMMARY: When a strange beast terrorizes the kingdom of Lochlanach, fear stirs revolt. In an act of desperation, a proclamation is sent to all of Eurona—kill the creature and win the ultimate prize: the daughter of King Lochson’s hand in marriage.

Princess Aerity knows her duty to the kingdom but cannot bear the idea of marrying a stranger…until a brooding local hunter, Paxton Seabolt, catches her attention. There’s no denying the unspoken lure between them…or his mysterious resentment.

Paxton is not the marrying type. Nor does he care much for spoiled royals and their arcane laws. He’s determined to keep his focus on the task at hand—ridding the kingdom of the beast—but the princess continues to surprise him, and the perilous secrets he’s buried begin to surface.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

The Great Hunt is actually a retelling of one of Grimm’s tale “The shadow bone” and I went into the story not knowing anything about the original tale. What really intrigued me was the premise which sounded very promising and I love reading fairy tale retellings. This book was one of my highly anticipating books of this year. Although this book was such an entertaining read, it didn’t reached my expectations and I felt something lacking in it so I was kinda little bit disappointed. I liked Wendy Higgin’s Sweet Trilogy that’s why I had put high expectations on it otherwise maybe I could’ve loved it. Nonetheless, it was enjoyable read but It isn’t going to be one of my favorites.

When a strange beast terrorizes the kingdom of Lochlanach, fear stirs revolt. So many people were unsuccessful in hunting the beast and in an act of desperation the king sends a proclamation to the entire Eurona that he’ll give his daughter’s hand in marriage as a prize to whoever kills the beast. Hunters from all over the Eurona arrives to Lochlanach to participate in the hunt just so they could kill the beast and win the prize. Princess Aerity gets shocked at her father’s proclamation but eventually she agrees to sacrifice herself as a prize for the sake of her kingdom. When Aerity meets the local hunter Paxton, a spark of interest flares with in her. Despite of his rude behavior towards her, she can’t help getting more attracted towards him and she can feel there’s some invisible attraction between them. Paxton don’t care about the prize, he just wants to kill the beast and he expected princess Aerity to be some rich spoiled princess who doesn’t care about low-lives like him but when he first meets Paxton she turns out to be completely different from what he thought.

Princess Aerity is a likable character who is brave, kind and unselfish but she wasn’t really a strong character as I expected her to be. She’s quite vulnerable and a bit damsel in distress type of character. Basically, I like strong characters who are strong headed and also someone who stands up for herself. Paxton is a character who is broody, cocky and a bit judgmental too. Though he was kind of rude towards Aerity at the beginning, there’s some mysterious charm in  him that made me like him. I enjoyed the relationship between Aerity and Paxton. I liked the intense chemistry between them and also the sexual tension which can be easily felt. There’s also a triangle in the plot but I felt it was too weak because the other love interest is barely there in the plot.  As for the supporting characters, there are some interesting characters in the plot but they aren’t fleshed out well and I really like to know more about them in the sequel.

I loved the concept but I didn’t liked how it was executed. The plot was mysterious but it lacked the excitement, action and thrill. The story moved in a uneven pace, sometimes it was fast and sometimes it was slow but mostly it was slow. However, there are some twists in the plot that’ll keep the readers engaged through out.  It has interesting world-building, there are actually five kingdoms in Eurona and it’s pretty sad that we only get to know about Lochlanach in this book but I’ll look forward to explore the other four kingdoms especially Zorfina, The Drylands and Kalor, The Hotlands in the next installment. I enjoyed the writing. Wendy Higgins is a great author, she has a beautiful writing style and I flowed through it quite easily. The characters are intriguingly good but aren’t great either cause I can’t connect with any of the characters. The story is written in multiple POV which gave more insight to the story and I had no trouble at all.

overall, I liked it! Despite of the flaws,  I don’t regret reading it. At the end part, the story became more interesting and it was finally concluded with a minor cliffhanger leaving so many things as a mystery. So, I think it’s really not that bad and I’ll definitely look forward to the finale.

Do I recommend it?
Yes, I recommend it to the readers who like to read fairytale retellings and also fantasy novels.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars1 4-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

8 thoughts on “The Great Hunt (Eurona Duology #1) By Wendy Higgins [Review]

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books March 29, 2016 / 12:31 am

    I’ve heard the same thing on Goodreada, that’s why despite Sweet Trilogy being one of my absolute favourites, I’m reluctant to pick this up. After reading your review, I think It looks like it’s not going to happen anytime sooner. Nonetheless great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 March 29, 2016 / 1:12 am

      Thank you! Despite all the mixed reviews, I still gave this a try because it was wendy’s book. I think I wouldn’t have disappointed If i had gone with low expectations. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly March 31, 2016 / 2:12 am

    I have been super excited for this book for a long time, and I finally managed to get my hands on a copy of it, so I’m pretty pumped about reading it. I’m a sucker for fairy tale retellings (even though I haven’t even heard of the one this is based on before learning about this book). I absolutely loved your review – it made me even more excited for it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

