Much Ado About Something By Michelle Ray [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  January 15, 2016
AUTHOR: Michelle Ray
GENRE:Young-Adult,Contemporary,  Romance.
SUMMARY: Beatriz and Ben don’t see eye to eye on much, but they do agree on one thing: they can’t stand each other. No way are they going to date again. Ever. But when Beatriz’s cousin Hope starts at Messina Prep everything changes. Not only does she want to fix Beatriz’s love life, but she also attracts the attention of Ben’s best friend Clay…and the two cruelest guys at school.

Told from alternating points of view, Much Ado About Something lets Beatriz and Ben tell their sides of the story as they try to navigate love, sex, rumors, family and tragedy. Not necessarily in that order.

 

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

 

MY REV (Copy)

This book was so much  fun, romantic, emotional and tragic. It is a modern retelling of one of Shakespeare’s classics and I really enjoyed it. The author really did great in turning this classic into something that will excite teens, young-adults and also adults. Even if you aren’t into Shakespeare, you’ll still enjoy reading this book cause I’m not a great fan of Shakespeare but I still had fun reading it. All the characters in this book are well built and the plot was interesting enough to hold the readers attention through out. At first, I was a bit hesitant to pick it up because I was afraid that it’s going to be another typical high school romance novel with too much teen angst and drama but I’m so glad I was wrong. It is really a great book that heavily deals with friendship, love and family which is the best thing that I loved about it.

Beatriz and Ben used to be best friends/lovers but due to a mistake from Ben they decide to break up and from then on they can’t stand each other. When Beatriz cousin Hope starts at her high school everything changes. Hope catches the attention of Ben’s best friend Clay and also the school’s bad guys who takes pleasure in bullying. Clay and Hope gets fed up with Ben and Beatriz daily quarrels, so together they plan to fix the relationship between them. As this was going on, the school’s bad guys has been planning something nefarious which creates a chain of events that leads to a tragedy that changes their life forever.

Ben and Beatriz are both lovely characters. I really liked Beatriz and she is a character that we can easily relate to. She is intelligent, independent and also a bit feminist. Ben is a fun guy to know and though he likes to taunt Beatriz but inside he really misses her. I loved the relationship between Ben and Beatriz. Although they broke up with each other, they’d love to taunt and goad each other which is something I really enjoyed a lot. I really liked the hate/love relationship between them and how they slowly grow to love each other again and finally gave their relationship a second chance. The romance between them is simply sweet and adorable.  As for the supporting characters, I liked everyone. They are all well-built, well connected and well played in the plot.

The plot was interesting and exciting. It might be partially predictable but it was entertaining and mysterious enough to make us glued to it till the end. I liked the pacing of the book, it was medium paced which is quiet good because it was neither slow nor fast. I loved the writing. Miss Michelle has a distinctive writing style which is realistic, witty and solid. The story was written in Ben and Beatriz POV that has made it more fun to read and going through their minds has made me emotionally connected to them. There are lots of character development at the end which makes the whole story come to life and it’s also a strongest factor of this book.

Overall, it was entertaining and thought provoking. The author has perfectly portrayed the friendship and all the struggles faced by the teenagers. It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book that revolves around high school and I’m glad that I gave it a try.  Would I recommend it? Yes, I highly recommend it because I think it’s a great YA novel that must be read by everyone.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1 [4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

5 thoughts on “Much Ado About Something By Michelle Ray [Review]

    • ravenblake99 March 22, 2016 / 12:48 am

      It really is a amazing book! I think you’ll definitely like it and I really hope you get to read it soon.
      Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. tanazmasaba March 22, 2016 / 11:10 am

    Sounds like a book I should pick up! I’m not a huge fan of Shakespeare but I did enjoy Much Ado About Nothing even though it had some of his rather irritating cliches (girl gets accused of being a slut, guy misunderstands girl, etc etc). I’m curious to see how the writer incorporates that into a YA Contemporary. Thanks for the review and the recommendation lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 March 23, 2016 / 1:30 am

      I enjoyed reading this book and I think you might like it too. I’ll look forward to your thoughts on it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

