Gambit (The Prodigy Chronicles #1) By C.L. Denault [Review]


RELEASE DATE:  March 31, 2015
AUTHOR: C.L. Denault
GENRE:Young-Adult,Fantasy, Dystopia, Romance.
PUBLISHER: REUTS Publications, LLC

SUMMARY: In Earth’s battle-ridden future, humans have evolved. Those with extraordinary skills rise to power and fame. Those without live in poverty.

Sixteen-year-old Willow Kent believed she was normal. But when a genetically-advanced military officer shows up in her village and questions her identity, long-buried secrets begin to emerge. With remarkable skills and a shocking genetic code the Core and its enemies will do anything to obtain, Willow suddenly finds the freedom she craves slipping through her fingers. Greed, corruption, and genetic tampering threaten every aspect of her existence as she’s thrust, unwilling, into the sophisticated culture of the elite Core city. To ensure peace, she must leave the past behind, marry a man she’s never met, and submit to the authority of a relentless officer with a hidden agenda of his own.

Her life has become a dangerous game. How much will she sacrifice in order to win?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

* E-copy received from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review * 

I’m so conflicted in writing this review because I liked this book but at the same time I hated it. When I first found out about this book, what really lured me wasn’t the eye catching cover but the intriguing blurb which sounded like totally my kinda book and I also happen to love books having aloof strong male characters in a dystopian world. Honestly, I’ve enjoyed reading this book but it definitely has it’s ups and downs. The characters, the world building and the writing were pretty good but I had a slight problem with the second half of the plot. Nonetheless, it was good introduction to the prodigy chronicles.

The story is set in a futuristic London where humans with extra ordinary skills live in a place called core with fame, power, technology and money and those without skills are lived far away from the core, living their lives in poverty and deprived of technology. Sixteen-year-old Willow Kent leads a simple life at  a village named McKaireth with her parents who runs a reputable tavern. The people of McKaireth gets startled with the sudden appearance of a core military officer at their village. At the tavern, when Willow caught his attention, he gets curious and questions her identity which will bring a lot of troubles to her if they are revealed. When long buried secrets gets emerged, the core officer eventually finds her real identity and makes it his duty to send her to the core that means leaving her happy life in her village. It seems Willow has an extra-ordinary skill  that many would kill to obtain. Now Willow has a new destiny to follow where she needs to marry a stranger for the sake of peace and she also must stop her growing attraction towards her captor who snatched her from a life filled with freedom and happiness.

Willow  is a likable character who’s got quite a stubborn personality and doesn’t give up without a fight. Actually, I really liked her but she wasn’t that great either. I think Sixteen is way too young and it would’ve been better if she was either seventeen or eighteen. Some readers might get displeased with  her attraction towards a certain cold hearted officer who abducted her from her family. Reece is a character that I really don’t get it and  he’s a character that you either hate him or love him. Basically, I love male characters who are dark, handsome, cold and aloof but Reece’s  bipolar personality seemed really annoying and also confusing sometimes. In the first half we see him as a cold hearted A-hole  who abuses her whenever she doesn’t surrender to his authority and in the second half we see him as a total different person acting sweet and helps brushing Willow’s hair with a comb which is something I didn’t expected  from a military officer who kills and abuses humans without a care. Despite all of these issues, I would still ship their relationship cause I’m always sucker for bad guys. The hot and cold relationship between Willow and Reece may seem confusing sometimes but I really enjoyed the chemistry between them which is hot and steamy. Tim is another love interest who is really a sweet guy with fun personality. He is childhood best friend of Willow and also hopelessly in love with her but she sees him only as a best friend so there’s no triangle for us yet. There are some interesting supporting characters in the second part of the plot that we didn’t get to know much about but I would love to know more about them in the sequel.

The plot is both mysterious and suspenseful but somewhere in the middle, things got really slow with nothing happening. There was great intensity through out the first half but when Willow finally reached the core the plot was dragged with unnecessary makeover sessions, proper etiquette lessons, training sessions, fun at the swim pool scenes which bored me a bit and I’m glad when the pace finally improved with a sudden attack from a rebellion force. There isn’t that much action as I expected but I hope the sequel would be more action packed. The whole book is written in Willow’s POV and I enjoyed exploring everything through her eyes.  The world building is really amazing and I would love to know more about the core and the outlying lands. I loved the writing! Miss Denault has a compelling, gripping writing style that kept me engaged through out. There’s also a nice character development of Willow who finally transformed from a impulsive, vulnerable and stubborn girl into a strong and mature  woman.

Overall, I think it’s a great debut and very entertaining. I’ll definitely look forward to the sequel cause there were so many questions, so many things left unanswered and I’m very curious to find them out.

Gambit is a YA debut filled with action, romance, mystery, and intrigue. I would highly recommend it to all the readers who loves YA dystopian romance books.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

13 thoughts on “Gambit (The Prodigy Chronicles #1) By C.L. Denault [Review]

  1. transhaan March 15, 2016 / 12:24 am

    OUhh niice review 😀 Looks like something I would read for the world building aspect hahah 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 March 15, 2016 / 12:46 am

      Thank you! I think you might like it just give it a shot. 😀

      Like

  2. Summer @ Xingsings March 15, 2016 / 7:21 am

    Brilliant review! I’ve wanted to read this one since Chooi at Read, Think, Ponder reviewed an ARC of it. The premise sounds right up my alley and I love books that have nontraditional characters. Not to mention the setting sounds so intriguing. I’m loving all the books set in England lately. I’m sorry to hear it slowed down for you towards the middle and end though. What a shame.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 March 16, 2016 / 1:53 am

      Thank you! I’m glad it wasn’t totally disappointing and I hope you give it a try. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicolette Elzie March 15, 2016 / 7:12 pm

    Great review! And very balanced too!! I loved the book myself and gave it a raving 5 star but I was also obsessed with the hot and cold relationship between Reece and Willow. I totally fall for the bad boy, dark, brooding, aloof types as well and always assume that all of THAT, the cold front is a wall to hide the fluffy interior. So when Reece started being nice I was not surprised at all. I shipped them instantly because of the tension between them and was so excited that they were butting heads all the time. But that’s me and I’m a bit bonkers like that sometimes. I thought you brought up some suuper valid points in your review and I’m glad that overall you’ll come back for the sequel which I know Cary is working on right now!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 March 16, 2016 / 1:46 am

      Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I love broody characters! Got any book recommendations? Yeah, I can’t wait to read the sequel! There’s so many mysteries to be revealed and I really want to meet the mysterious rebel leader. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nicolette Elzie March 16, 2016 / 4:09 am

        Oh yeah! I forgot about the rebel leader! I want to see more of the guy from the opposing, for lack of a better word, faction. The one that is like the Prince type. Ugh, I hate that I can’t remember his name. I remember not liking him though, which of course means I want to know more… lol!

        Recs..hmm. I’m thinking the last book I read with a broody type, he was more quiet though and deep thinking, so kinda broody was Paul in the Thousand Pieces of You book. I loved it so I’d rec if if you haven’t read it yet. I love dimension hopping so it was totally my jam!

        Like

  4. Eve Messenger March 31, 2016 / 10:36 pm

    I was so happy to read this this all-encompassing review of Gambit. I’m so torn about whether to take the time to read it. It’s on my Kindle so I guess I still will, but now I know what to be ready for. 🙂 I’m pretty intrigued about the MC’s special power and that she’s dragged away from her home. Hmm, yeah, I’m one of those readers who finds it disturbing when a teen protagonist falls for a much older guy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 April 3, 2016 / 1:43 am

      It’s really not that bad. Many readers has pretty much enjoyed it more than I did. So, I really hope you like it when you get to it. yeah, the female protagonist is too young for the character and I think the male character is about 23 years old. Yep, some may find it disturbing but do give it a try. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

