The Distance Between Us By Kasie West [Review]

RELEASE DATE:  July 02, 2013
AUTHOR: Kasie West
GENRE:Young-Adult,Contemporary, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Harper Teen

SUMMARY: Money can’t buy a good first impression.

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers learned early that the rich are not to be trusted. And after years of studying them from behind the cash register of her mom’s porcelain-doll shop, she has seen nothing to prove otherwise. Enter Xander Spence—he’s tall, handsome, and oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and the fact that he seems to be one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But just when Xander’s loyalty and attentiveness are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. With so many obstacles standing in their way, can she close the distance between them?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

This book was so much fun to read! It was a sweet contemporary romance that was so cute and fluffy. This was my second book from Miss West and I really liked it but not as much as her other book titled The Fill-In Boyfriend that I totally adore. Caymen and Xander are really adorable characters and I quite enjoyed their relationship. Although, this book was such an entertaining read, I think it lacks in some aspects such as family relationships and friendship. Nonetheless, I’m glad that I had finally picked it up and I would love to check out more books from Miss West.

The story follows 17 year old Caymen Meyers who works behind the cash register of her mom’s porcelain dolls shop named “Dolls and more”. Caymen had grown up hating the rich due to her mom’s troubled past with her rich ex-boyfriend who left her behind when she was pregnant. When Xander Spence enters the store to pick up a doll for his grand mother, Caymen makes a quick scan of him and by the looks of him, she easily figures out  he is oozing rich and thinks he is just another spoiled rich brat but turns out he was so much different than she expected. At the first meet, Xander gets interested in Caymen and her sarcasm, and from then on he begins to visit the doll shop regularly and with time they develop a deep bond of friendship. Despite her mother’s warnings, Caymen hangs out with Xander who seems to have so much common with her except for the money and her sarcasm. Caymen thought that their relationship going to be different but she didn’t expected that money becomes the one thing that tears them apart.

Caymen is really a wonderful character. Her dry humor and also her amazing skill of sarcasm made me like her so much. I’m glad she wasn’t a judgmental and gave Xander a chance in understanding him better. Xander is pretty much likable character. He was really sweet, kind and nice guy which is the complete opposite to the arrogant rich guys. I really enjoyed the relationship between Xander and Caymen. It was so cute and adorable with the funny banters and not to forget the “career days”. Despite being from different worlds, they have build a deep connection with each other. I liked the slow build romance,   it was sweet but I wish there was more romance in it. As for the supporting characters, they aren’t memorable but I liked Caymen’s best friend Skye who has a crazy sense of style and also has a fun personality to match.

Despite it being overused rich boy meets poor girl cliche, the plot was engaging enough to read. The ending seemed a bit rushed but apart from that, it was good. The pacing of the book was slow but it didn’t effected my enjoyablity in any way. The writing is addictive and realistic. Miss West has a great writing style and it’s the first thing that I love about her books. The story mostly focused on friendship and romance between Caymen and Xander but I would’ve liked it more if it was deeply focused on family relationships too.

Overall, I liked it! I would highly recommend it to all the readers who likes to read sweet YA contemporary romance having adorable characters.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

8 thoughts on “The Distance Between Us By Kasie West [Review]

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books March 9, 2016 / 1:50 am

    I’m glad you liked this book, although I haven’t read anything by this author yet but I do have 2 books, including this one sitting in my ereader. I definitely want to give this a try soon. Loved your review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Summer @ Xingsings March 11, 2016 / 5:40 am

    I’ve seen this one everywhere but I don’t think it’s for me. This does sounds like a cliche story but I’m so happy to hear it was very entertaining for you, Raven!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

