Starflight (Starflight #1) By Melissa Landers [Review]


RELEASE DATE:
 
 February 02, 2016

AUTHOR: Melissa Landers
GENRE:Young-Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Disney-Hyperion

SUMMARY: Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. The outer realm may be lawless, but it’s not like the law has ever been on her side. Still, off-world travel doesn’t come cheap; Solara is left with no choice but to indenture herself in exchange for passage to the outer realm. She just wishes it could have been to anyone besides Doran Spaulding, the rich, pretty-boy quarterback who made her life miserable in school. The tables suddenly turn when Doran is framed for conspiracy on Earth, and Solara cons him into playing the role of her servant on board the Banshee, a ship manned by an eccentric crew with their own secrets. Given the price on both Doran and Solara’s heads, it may just be the safest place in the universe. It’s been a long time since Solara has believed in anyone, and Doran is the last person she expected to trust. But when the Banshee’s dangerous enemies catch up with them, Solara and Doran must come together to protect the ship that has become their home—and the eccentric crew that feels like family.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

MY REV (Copy)

Starflight is one of my highly anticipating releases this year and I’m glad that it lived up to my expectations. It is an epic space adventure filled with action, humor, mystery and romance. It is the second sci-fi series from Melissa Landers and I loved reading it. I pretty much enjoyed reading Alienated so I knew starflight going to be a great read. There’s not much world building but I really liked the characters, the plot and the writing. Guess what, there are space pirates in this book which made it more entertaining to read.

18 year old girl Solara brooks was freshly kicked out from her group home which used to be her home since she was young. Her time has run out in the orphanage because the group home couldn’t afford to keep anyone past graduation. She has no place to live and no money so her only  option was to go to the outer realm where she could start a new life and mechanics like her are rare at there and no one would care about her felony tattoos on her knuckles or the grease beneath her finger nails.  Being an orphan, she couldn’t afford the ticket to the outer realm so she hopes someone at the space station would hire her services in exchange for a ticket. When it seems no one chooses to hire her, she becomes panicked but suddenly she was picked by her nemesis Doran Spaulding who used to bully her all through high school. Due to her desperate situation, she has no choice but to agree and hence becomes his servant or rather his slave. During their space journey, their status are swapped where the master becomes the servant and the servant becomes the master,  they onboard on a ship called Banshee manned by a strange crew with secrets, bounties are placed on their heads, chased by space pirates bent on revenge, and they also fight against the slow building attraction between them.

I really liked Solara! She is quite a tough girl who wouldn’t back down easily. She is very clever and a hard worker who strives to live by herself. Doran was a total jerk and arrogant at start but as the story progressed I’ve come to like him when his whole world becomes upside down and he finally shows the real side of him.  I loved the  hate/love relationship between Solara and Doran and how it was slowly progressed from friendship to love. I really enjoyed the funny banters and not to forget the slow burning romance. The romance between them is sweet and  swoon worthy. There’s no insta-love and no annoying triangle which made the story a lot more enjoyable. As for the supporting characters, I really liked the banshee crew members Captain Rossi, Renny, Cassia and Kane where everyone has their own unique personalities. Each member in the crew belongs from different places but they stick with each other like a family. Rossi is the captain of the ship who is quite an old guy having a strange personality but everyone in the crew loves him and I liked his little pet sugar glider named Acorn which was so cute. Renny is the first mate and also a pick pocket who has a knack for stealing things. Cassia is a beautiful blond with quite a temper on her who seems to have so many secrets.  Kane is a total flirt and a childhood friend of Cassia but they don’t get along well because you’ll always find them bickering with each other.

The plot was well written and very exciting.  It was a complete space adventure mixed with a dash of romance. It was engaging from the start and totally unputdownable. The story moved in a fast pace filled with lots of action, space chasing and adventure. I really enjoyed the writing  especially the witty conversations between Solara  and Doran. The book was written in both Solara and Doran POV[in third person] which is another thing I loved about this book. It has great characterization because all the characters including the supporting characters are well built and well developed that you can’t help liking each and every one of them.

Overall, it was pretty much satisfying read and a great start for a new sci-fi series. I’ll definitely look forward to the next companion novel featuring Cassia and Kane as the main leads and I’m so excited to know their story.

Starflight is an exciting new YA sci-fi adventurous novel that you don’t want to miss. I highly recommend it to all the readers who love reading sci-fi and also to the readers who enjoyed Amie Kaufman’s “These Broken Stars”.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

7 thoughts on “Starflight (Starflight #1) By Melissa Landers [Review]

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books February 26, 2016 / 1:43 am

    This sounds exactly like my cup of tea. I’ve been highly anticipating this book and I hope I can read it as soon as my finals finish. The plot, the romance, everything sounds pretty awsome. And yeah, I really want to read the Alienated duology as well, I hope I can read it this year as well. Great review Raven! Oh and I loved your review banner. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 26, 2016 / 1:53 am

      Thank you! I hope you like it when you get to it! I haven’t read the second book Invaded yet but I’m planning to binge read the duology. I hope you like Alienated too! 😀

      Like

  2. The Guardian February 26, 2016 / 2:08 am

    I really enjoyed reading your review. It’s precisely what I was looking for to help me select which books I could read next. Now, I am going to be picking up a copy of Starflight as well! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 26, 2016 / 2:18 am

      Thank you! I really hope you like it as well! 😀

      Like

  3. hashtaglovebooks February 26, 2016 / 8:28 am

    I was highly anticipating this novel, as well! It sounds like a great read and you gave it such a high rating! It must be a lovely book! I’ll have to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 26, 2016 / 7:29 pm

      It was a wonderful book! I think you’ll definitely like it! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

