Unhooked By Lisa Maxwell [Review]


RELEASE DATE:
 
 February 2
, 2016 
AUTHOR: Lisa Maxwell
GENRE:Young-Adult, Fantasy, Fairy-tales, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Simon Pulse

SUMMARY: For as long as she can remember, Gwendolyn Allister has never had a place to call home. Her mother believes they are being hunted by brutal monsters, and those delusions have brought them to London, far from the life Gwen had finally started to build for herself. Gwen’s only saving grace is that her best friend, Olivia, is with her for the summer.

But shortly after their arrival, the girls are kidnapped by shadowy creatures and dragged to a world of flesh-eating sea hags and dangerous Fey. And Gwen begins to realize that maybe her mother isn’t so crazy after all…

Gwen discovers that this new world she inhabits is called Neverland, but it’s nothing like the Neverland you’ve heard about in stories. Here, good and evil lose their meaning and memories slip like water through your fingers. As Gwen struggles to remember where she came from and tries to find a way home, she must choose between trusting the charming fairy-tale hero who says all the right things and the captivating pirate who promises to keep her safe.

Caught in the ultimate battle between good and evil, with time running out and her enemies closing in, Gwen is forced to finally face the truths she’s been hiding from all along. But can she save Neverland without losing herself?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-

book and ink

MY REVIEW: 

OMG! This book is absolutely fantastic! It’s quite different from the other Neverland retellings I’ve read before and I think it’s the best retelling so far.  I’ve seen this book around in blogosphere but didn’t give it much thought until after seeing so many people gushing over a roguish pirate in this book  which definitely piqued my interest and I knew I had to read this book. From the first chapter I was hooked and couldn’t put it down for a second. I was pleasantly surprised and I can’t say how much I love this book, it reached beyond my expectations. I loved everything in it, the characters, the plot, writing, and world building. I’m so glad that I gave this a try otherwise I would’ve missed this wonderful book.

Gwendolyn Allister has no place to call home due to her constant move from one place to another just because of her mom’s delusions who believes some monsters are chasing them. She’s glad her best friend Olivia from westport  has came along with them to spend the summer with her in London. At the new place,  she catches a mural of fairies and also an antique sconce which she was warned not to turn it off. But her Curiosity got the best of her and she accidentally turns off the gas light.  At midnight, she along with her friend Olivia are abducted by strange dark shadow creatures and she finally ends up on a pirate ship lead by a  young captain named Rowan who tells her that she was in neverland, a place filled with fairies and monsters her mother warned about. She knew captain hook is supposed to be a bad guy in the fairy tale but he seemed quite different from what she expected. On the other hand, there is peter pan our hero in the fairy tale who enchants her with his sweet words. She gets conflicted between two guys who promises her safety but who can she trust and she must find her way back to her home before every memories of her world are slipped away.

Gwendolyn is a great character in the plot. She is a strong girl who fights for what she believes and doesn’t get swayed pretty easily. I really liked her because she didn’t given up her hopes on saving her best friend even after finding her completely lost. Rowan also known as captain hook is my favorite character in the book. His dark and sexy personality totally took my breath away. He is completely different from what I’ve thought and now I can understand why so many bookworms are captivated by him. As for Peterpan, he is quite seductive and charming in his own way but he didn’t intrigued me like I was for Rowan. I loved the slow building romance between Gwen and Rowan. I really enjoyed how they got close together with each time they got to know more about each other.  If you’re concerned there’s a triangle in the plot then rest assured there isn’t any triangle in it.

The plot was well written and totally unpredictable! There are so many twists and turns in this book that’ll keep you engaged till the end. It was written so cleverly that made me questioning who’s the good guys and who’s the bad guys. It was fast paced and entertaining through out. I loved the writing, it was compelling and addictive. The world building was truly amazing. I really enjoyed the neverland that the author has created which seemed dark and dangerous which is quite opposite to the one in our classic fairytale. I pretty much liked all the characters in the book. Every character in the book are well built and well developed.

Overall, it was fantabulous read! It’s sad that It is only a standalone novel and I finally have to say goodbye to Rowan who I’ve come to love so much but I’m glad the book has a satisfying happy ending which makes a perfect end to the story.

Neverland by Lisa Maxwell is a dark retelling of a fairytale which is both captivating and intriguing. It is a book worth reading and I highly recommend it to everyone.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

9 thoughts on “Unhooked By Lisa Maxwell [Review]

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books February 21, 2016 / 12:56 am

    I’m sooo glad you liked this book. It’s pretty high on my tbr. And I hope to read it soon. Great review Raven! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 21, 2016 / 1:03 am

      Thank you! This book was awesome! I think you’ll definitely love it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 21, 2016 / 2:19 am

      It was a great book! I didn’t expected to like it as much as I did. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Candid Cover February 22, 2016 / 4:41 pm

    I have often heard others say how much they have enjoyed this one as well and I really need to pick it up! I am so glad that it exceeded your expectations! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kelly February 25, 2016 / 4:00 am

    Unhooked was seriously one of the best books I’ve read so far this year, if not the best. It was so completely off the wall and it really just sucks you in! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it!

    Like

    • ravenblake99 February 26, 2016 / 2:24 am

      I just devoured this book! It was simply superb and totally unpredictable! I’m so glad you loved it too! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

