Storm and Silence(Storm and Silence#1) By Robert Thier [Review]

RELEASE DATE: March 19 , 2016 
AUTHOR: Robert Thier
GENRE:  Young-Adult, Historical, Romance.
SUMMARY: 
Freedom – that is what Lilly Linton wants most in life. Not marriage, not a brood of squalling brats, and certainly not love, thank you very much!
But freedom is a rare commodity in 19th-century London, where girls are expected to spend their lives sitting at home, fully occupied with looking pretty. Lilly is at her wits’ end – until a chance encounter with a dark, dangerous and powerful stranger changes her life forever…

Enter the world of Mr Rikkard Ambrose, where the only rule is: Knowledge is power is time is money!

amazon-badgegoodreads-badge-add-plus-

book and ink

MY REVIEW: 

*ecopy received from the author in exchange for an honest review *

This book was bloody awesome! It was so much better than I had expected. Even though it was quite a lengthy book, I had enjoyed every moment in it. This book reminded me of my favorite novel Pride and Prejudice. The characters are the best thing in this book that made me love it so much. It is a well written book that was set in 19th century LONDON and it is  the best historical romance I’ve ever read. I always love to read romance books with lots of humor and this book is definitely a laugh riot. Lily Linton and Mr. Ambrose are really amazing characters and I can never get enough of their quarreling.

The story was set in a 19th century London where women aren’t permitted for voting and working. 19 year old Lily Linton is a feminist who always fights for women’s rights and thinks that woman should have a freedom to vote. She along with her five sisters lives with her aunt who was looking forward to get them paired to a guy that can help her improve her social status in the society. Lily doesn’t want to get married, she always wanted to do a job so that she could earn some money to escape the life she was living and live the way she wants. One day, during her disguise as a guy her paths crosses with dark and dangerous guy named Mr. Rikkard Ambrose who is quite wealthy and powerful person in London. Mr. Ambrose mistakes her for a boy and offers her to be his assistant in his office. Lily can’t believe her luck when she was offered to a job which is her only ticket to freedom but unfortunately woman aren’t allowed to work and when Mr.Ambrose finally finds out that she was actually a girl, he was totally against it but Lily is quite stubborn and she wouldn’t give up that easily.

Lily is totally an awesome character!  She is stubborn, clever, fun, witty, reckless and brave. She is someone who wouldn’t back down easily. She is everything I was looking for in a female protagonist and she has became my new favorite female character. Mr. Rikkard Ambrose is quite a  stern guy who is also handsome, authoritative and Class A Arrogant. He is a complete miser who loves money more than anything.  He always has this intimidating and dangerous vibe to him that makes people run in the other direction but Lily is the only person who doesn’t get effected by it. Lily and Mr. Ambrose absolutely hate each other but they are a perfect match. Whenever Mr.Ambrose gives her a hard time, she always fights back and I was like “YOU GO GIRL”. Their Constant bickering and  taunting are the parts I loved the most reading. The scene where Lily acts funny after getting drunk really cracked me up and the kiss after that was totally hot.  There is lots of sexual tension between them which is both frustrating and tempting. I really enjoyed their hate/love relationship and I pretty much loved it. As for the supporting characters, I liked Karim, Ambrose’s bodyguard who thinks Lily is a dangerous creature and calls her an Ifrit, a powerful half demon.

The plot was really intriguing and very well written. It was a perfect blend of humor and romance.  All the characters are well built and I liked each and every one of them. The pacing was great and even though this book was nearly 600 pages long, I wasn’t bored anywhere. The author has filled this book with lots of humor and intrigue in it that you wouldn’t want to part with it. I loved the witty writing style, it was simple but captivating enough to like it. The entire book was written in Lily’s POV but after reading a short POV of Mr.Rikkard Ambrose at the end, I wished there was Ambrose’s POV too. The book finally ended with a cliffhanger and I’m dying to know what’s gonna happen next.

Overall, I freaking loved it! I hugely thank the author for letting me review this amazing book and I’ll look forward to the next installment until then I might check out his other works too.

Storm And Silence is a YA historical romance filled with adventure, humor and romance. It is a hit Wattpad novel and also winner of People’s Choice Award in the Wattys 2015. I highly recommend everyone to read this. Even if you aren’t into historical romance just read it.

Ouch!’
‘Ng!’
‘Let go!’
‘Stop wriggling you…’
Slap!
The noise echoed quite loudly in the dark, hollow room. There were a few seconds of silence, then I heard Mr. Ambrose’s calm voice – calm in the way a volcano was calm before the explosion.
‘Karim? Karim, open the door again.’
Slowly, the door slid open, admitting a brilliant ray of sunlight that cut through the darkness like a red hot knife through butter. It fell on Mr Ambrose’s face, which also
was pretty much red hot, at least in the places where my hand had made contact with his cheek.
‘You,’ he said decidedly, his jaw taut, ‘are either as guilty as the devil himself or have more morals than apparent at first sight.’
I narrowed my eyes. ‘What is that supposed to mean, “more than apparent at first sight”?’
‘It is supposed to mean more morals than one would expect from a girl who runs around dressed in men’s clothes!’
‘Hey, this was your idea, remember?’
‘An idea I thought no sane individual would take seriously.’
‘Well, I have, and now I’m here. So what are you going to do with me?’
His threatening sea-coloured eyes fixed on my face again.
‘I must search you, Mr Linton. It is useless to resist.’
The fellow had just intended to undress me and he was still calling me ‘Mister’? This was unbelievable!

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

 

13 thoughts on “Storm and Silence(Storm and Silence#1) By Robert Thier [Review]

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books February 13, 2016 / 11:50 am

    Okay… This sounds pretty awsome! Adding it to my tbr right now! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 February 13, 2016 / 8:49 pm

      It really is! I really hope you enjoy it when you get to it! Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jinan February 26, 2016 / 12:06 pm

    Hello! Would you like to join me and a few others on the blog tour I’m organizing for S&S?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy November 17, 2016 / 1:37 pm

    Hi there, i was wondering if the ebooks/paperbacks vary from the story in wattpad….as in, are there extra chapters in the actual books?

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 November 18, 2016 / 12:53 am

      Yes, sometimes they’ll do slight changes in the story like adding more content and some extra bonus chapters to grab readers attention. Thanks for the visit! 😀

      Like

  4. tunmise21 November 30, 2016 / 1:10 am

    I love the book, can’t wait for him to silence is golden on wattpad

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 November 30, 2016 / 1:14 am

      Me too! I’m eagerly waiting for it to complete! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

