Passenger (Passenger #1) By Alexandra Bracken [Review]

 RELEASE DATE: January 05, 2016 
AUTHOR: Alexandra Bracken
GENRE:  Young-Adult, Fantasy, Time-Travel, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Disney Hyperion

SUMMARY: passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily.Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever

goodreads-badge-add-plus-
book and ink

MY REVIEW: 

Passenger is one of the hyped books that I was really excited to read but sadly it didn’t lived up to my expectations. I expected it to be a wonderful read after hearing so many positive things about it and I’d never thought that I would be giving it a less than 4 stars rating but I had to be honest. My biggest concern with this book was the slow pace and wordiness which heavily affected my rating and enjoyability. Honestly, It wasn’t really that bad, I did liked the book but it was over descriptive and dragged a lot that made it less exciting. Although, I had issues with this book, I really liked the concept and it was refreshing to read. I also liked the characters and the plot which are the strongest aspects of this book.

Seventeen Year old Violin Prodigy Etta Spencer is a girl of 20th century who is looking forward to her debut as a concert soloist. She lives with her mother Rose who’s always busy with her work and Etta yearns for her care and works really hard to catch her attention. In a private fund raising event, her world totally goes upside down when she suddenly travels back to a time which is unfamiliar to her. In the unfamiliar place, she doesn’t know anyone but the strange girl who traveled with her who isn’t surprised by it and it seems like she has some secret agenda that involves her. Etta comes to learn that she was traveled back to 17th century and she has inherited the ability to time-travel from her mother who has kept it a secret from her. Then she meets Nicolas Carter who used to serve Ironwoods, a powerful family that holds control over all the travelers. For a long time, the Ironwoods are searching for a valuable object that was hidden by her mother and they think Etta is the only one who can find it. For Etta’s safety and to buy his freedom from Ironwoods, Nicolas embarks on a journey with Etta to find the object and bring it back to the Ironwoods and be done with them. During their adventurous journey, they begin to unveil many shocking secrets and it seems like they’re not only one who are looking for this mysterious stolen object.

Etta is really a strong protagonist in the plot and she was both witty and fun character who has lots of spunk in her.  Nicholas is actually an African-american which is very rare in YA novels. He is a total gentleman and he does posses a unique personality that’s totally charming in its own way. I really liked the chemistry between Nic and Etta but It seemed less intense and I hoped there was more romance in the plot because I think It wasn’t enough. It wasn’t a insta-love but it felt something like that and I wasn’t bothered much with it anyway. The supporting characters are also not bad especially sophie who is quiet tough and fierce with her badass attitude.

The plot was overwhelming with many twists but it’s pacing was the major downfall. The first part of the book is slow paced so, don’t expect anything exciting happening in this part. The real adventure starts at the second part of the book. The book was written in both Etta and Nic’s POV which I really liked. The writing style is another thing that I had issues with. There was too much info dumping and lengthy descriptions of things that was unnecessary and they really did annoyed me a lot which eventually made me loose interest a bit, there were also some parts that felt dragged too. I genuinely liked the concept behind the novel, the characterization and development of the characters and the plot, but their execution left much to be desired because the writing made it really difficult to connect with any of it. Apart from the pacing and the writing style, I loved everything in it.

Overall, I liked it but I’m not big fan of it! Even though it didn’t turn out to be an amazing read, I’ll definitely look forward to the next book. Would I recommend it? Yes, I would definitely recommend it. Despite the issues, it’s really quite an adventurous read and definitely worth reading. 

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars1 4-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

18 thoughts on “Passenger (Passenger #1) By Alexandra Bracken [Review]

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books January 27, 2016 / 12:57 am

    Aw, I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy it as much as you thought. It’s pretty high on my tbr but I’m going to wait till my final exams are over in April before buying it. Great review Raven!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 January 27, 2016 / 10:01 pm

      Thank you! It wasn’t all that bad and I hope you enjoy it more than me. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly January 27, 2016 / 1:28 am

    I’m sorry you didn’t like this one as much as you’d hoped to! I’m probably going to pick up a copy this weekend (hopefully) but who knows when I’ll get a chance to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. T.K. Lawrence January 27, 2016 / 6:47 am

    After reading your review, I’m a little more hesitant because I have difficulty powering through with wordy books, but I have a weakness for beautiful book covers… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 January 27, 2016 / 10:10 pm

      Me too! I Could’ve given it a four star if it wasn’t for all the wordiness but do give it a chance maybe you might like it more than me. 😀

      Like

  4. Prima January 27, 2016 / 2:57 pm

    There’s a lot of mixed feelings on Passenger. I’m hoping that I’ll like it though! Etta sounds like such a fun character to read about 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 January 27, 2016 / 10:16 pm

      It wasn’t awesome, but it wasn’t bad either and I hope you like it more than me. Etta is a great character and I think you’ll definitely like her. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. aentee @ read at midnight January 28, 2016 / 3:04 pm

    I am finding the book rather slow as well, but I quite love Etta so I’ll hang in there. Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Analee @ Book Snacks January 30, 2016 / 4:56 am

    Sorry to hear this book wasn’t as amazing as it was for other readers! But I’m glad you still liked it well enough. 🙂 Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. theorangutanlibrarian February 7, 2016 / 10:43 pm

    Oh I’m sorry it didn’t live upto expectations- I’ll probably still check it out, but it’s good to know a books pitfalls before you go into it with too high expectations- great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

