Damned if I Do (The Harker Trilogy #1) By Erin Hayes [Review]


RELEASE DATE:
 September 14, 2015
AUTHOR: Erin Hayes
GENRE: Paranormal, Romance, Fantasy, Vampires.
PUBLISHER: Silver Wing Press
SUMMARY:
 They killed my sister and infected me.
Now I have to pick up the pieces before I die.

I’ve spent the last five months trying to find the bastard who did this. Yet, even with the help of a hot amnesiac vampire named Jude, I’ve had zero luck.

Until now. And it could change everything. Even though I grew up in a family that hunted the supernatural, there were still things I didn’t believe in.

Now I have to hurry for the slim chance that I could save us all. Because when you fight against immortal vampires, you’re the one who’s running out of time.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-
book and ink

MY REVIEW: 

It’s been a long time since I’ve read a vampire fiction novel and when this book caught my eye I want to give this a try because it sounded pretty much kickass. Well, It was good to read but wasn’t exciting enough for me to love it. I’ve read my fair share of vampire slayer novels and there’s nothing new in it but it was really entertaining to read.

Edie comes from a famous vampire slayers family named “The Harkers”. On her way to her home, Edie and her sister were attacked by a group of vampires. A Vampire kills her sister and then attacks Edie, leaving her infected with the virus that will eventually kill her after some time. To protect her niece and to avenge her sister’s murder, Edie sets out to find the vampire who killed her sister with the help of hot amnesiac vampire named Jude. During her search for her sister’s killer, Edie finds out that there might be a cure for the infection spreading inside her and she needs to find it before her time runs out.

Edie is pretty much likable character but she wasn’t as kickass as I expected her to be. She is quite loyal and protective of her family especially her niece which is what I liked most about her. She was kinda brooding character who wallows in her pain and emotionally closed off. She is attracted to Jude but because of her inevitable death and her thirst for revenge, she always acts cold towards him. Jude is quite cocky and arrogant vampire who has an interest in Edie. I really liked his fun personality and I’m glad he isn’t dark and moody like other vampires.  There’s nothing interesting about their romantic relationship and it isn’t the major element of the plot.  I really liked the character named Carl who is actually Edie’s cousin. He is a  comical relief who brought some humor to the plot.

The plot is underwhelming and the pacing is quite slow at many parts that made me skip few pages. The writing was perfectly ok and easy to understand. The book was written in alternative POV which is something I always like in a book. As for the characters, apart from Edie I couldn’t connect to any of the characters which is probably the reason why I didn’t enjoy it much.

All in all it was good but it just didn’t worked out for me. The book ended with a cliffhanger and I don’t think I would continue with this series. It is a good mix of action, drama and  light romance and if you like reading vampire slayer novels then definitely give this a try but don’t expect too much.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars1 [3/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

3 thoughts on “Damned if I Do (The Harker Trilogy #1) By Erin Hayes [Review]

  1. aentee @ read at midnight December 16, 2015 / 6:05 pm

    Sorry to hear that the plot and pacing of this book did not quite deliver, better luck with your next read. I actually enjoy reading paranormal romances in my book slumps because I find they’re a lot easier to digest haha XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 December 17, 2015 / 2:25 am

      I love to read paranormal romances! Most of my books are from paranormal and fantasy genre. I always prefer them over contemporary. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

