Fire Falling (Air Awakens #2) By Elise Kova [Review]

26047438RELEASE DATE: November 19, 2015
AUTHOR: Elise Kova
GENRE: Young-Adult, Fantasy, Adventure Romance.
PUBLISHER: Silver Wing Press
SUMMARY:
 Soldier… Sorcerer… Savior… Who is Vhalla Yarl?

Vhalla Yarl marches to war as property of the Solaris Empire. The Emperor counts on her to bring victory, the Senate counts on her death, and the only thing Vhalla can count on is the fight of her life. As she grapples with the ghosts of her past, new challenges in the present threaten to shatter the remnants of her fragile sanity. Will she maintain her humanity? Or will she truly become the Empire’s monster?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-
book and ink

MY REVIEW: 

This sequel totally blew me away and I was afraid that it wasn’t going to be as good as the first book but thankfully it turned out amazing. After I was finished with Air awakens,  I eagerly anticipated for its release. When I had my copy, without waiting a sec I immediately got into it and immersed myself in to this world. I pretty much liked all the characters and I just fell in love with that cover which looks freaking awesome by the way.

Vhalla used to be a library apprentice leading normal life but now she is a sorcerer and also a soldier who is marching towards north to use her abilities in the war so that it can help bring victory to the solaris empire. Unfortunately, Vhalla isn’t ready for the war yet and she feels herself useless because she doesn’t have any control over her power and she thinks bringing her to the war front is pretty much suicidal. During their march to the north, Vhalla trains with Prince Aldrik to get a hold on her elemental power before they reach  the war zone. For Vhalla, handling her power is not only the issue but also her developing feelings towards Prince Aldrik.

In fire falling, Vhalla is more strong and determined than before. She is really a strong character who never gives up even though how hard it may be she still stood strong and fought. She battled all her inner demons and finally overcame her weakness. Prince Aldrik is pretty much hard to connect due to his dark mysterious persona and It would’ve been great if it was written in an alternative POV because I really want to know what’s really going on in his mind. He has a hot and cold personality so it was hard to get to know him better but we can see his attraction and desire towards Vhalla. The chemistry between them is smoking hot and all the sexual tension really frustrated the hell out of me and I’m glad when they finally give in to each others desires. As for the supporting characters, Prince Baldair and Daniel are my favorite. I was looking forward to Baldair and his smug personality. Daniel is another character that I liked knowing. He is really such a sweet guy who likes Vhalla and he always treats her with respect. The friendship between Vhalla, Larel and fritz was another thing I enjoyed in it.

The plot was pretty much ok but the first part of the book was too slow for my liking. The second part is where things got intense, heavy and explosive. The writing is great and all the characters are quite good. The character deveplopment of Vhalla was well crafted and I really liked how she finally turned into a strong and fierce woman with power.  I had great time reading it and damn the ending it has totally left me shocked and devastated, I mean It can’t end like that.

Overall, it was fantastic read filled with a roller coaster of emotions. The book ended with a nightmarish cliffhanger that really killed me and now I’m dying to read the next book. It was really a great YA Fantasy series and I highly recommend it.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1 [4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

3 thoughts on “Fire Falling (Air Awakens #2) By Elise Kova [Review]

  1. aentee @ read at midnight December 14, 2015 / 5:22 pm

    Glad to hear that the book improved with this sequel! I am starting Air Awakens again soon and hope I become equally captivated by the series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

