The Dark Ones (The Dark Ones Saga #1) By Rachel Van Dyken [Review]


26722999RELEASE DATE:
 
September 19, 2015
AUTHOR:
 Rachel Van Dyken
GENRE: New-Adult,  Paranormal, Romance, Vampires.
PUBLISHER: CreateSpace Independent
SUMMARY: To touch a Dark One is death.
To talk to an immortal is suicide.
Yet, I’ve been marked by both.
A Vampire.
And the King of the immortals.
My life is no longer my own.
And now I know the truth, my life was never mine to begin with.
It was theirs.
It’s always been theirs.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-
book and ink

MY REVIEW:
Dark Ones is the second book that I’ve read from the author Rachel Van Dyken and once again I’m amazed by her work. She is famous for her contemporary romances and it was a delight to read her first new paranormal romance novel. Vampire fiction is one of my favorite genre so after reading that intriguing synopsis I’ve decided that I had to check it out. In this, we have hot tempting paranormal beings like vampires, werewolves, sirens and angels. I immensely enjoyed all the characters and also the romance. The author did really well even though it was her first paranormal romance.

Since young, Genesis was told that she was nothing and ugly and when her number was called she has to serve the  immortals in assisting them in understanding the modern technology but she didn’t know that she’s been lied to her whole life. Actually, she was chosen as the mate for the Dark Ones named Cassius, a half human and a half angel who is considered as the king of immortals but surprisingly she was saved by a vampire named Ethan who is one of the elders. From then on, her fate completely changes because she’s marked by not one but two immortal beings. Now she is on the run from a dark one who would do anything to get her back and she never dreamt that she would live with a vampire, a werewolf and a siren. 

Basically, I hate damsel in distress characters but in the case of Genesis I didn’t felt that way. At the beginning, she was naive and innocent because she was raised believing that she was ugly and nothing. It was great thing to see her grow into a strong woman as the story progresses. Ethan is totally captivating and tempting  vampire who marks Genesis. He tries hard to deny his attraction towards Genesis but he couldn’t able to resist longer. The chemistry between them is melting hot and what they feel for each other is intense and strong. I really enjoyed the romance between them. Cassius is shown as the bad guy but still there’s something dark, mysterious and captivating about him that you wouldn’t feel the hate for him. The character Mason who is actually a vegetarian werewolf is really a funny interesting guy who likes eating berries and I enjoyed the humor he brought to the story.  Alex, a siren also known as manwhore is another likable character who provided a great comic relief besides Mason and I’ll definitely look forward to read both of their stories.

The plot was quite good and there are some twists at the end where some secrets are revealed. As for the characters, they all are well built and I pretty much liked them. There’s not much world building in it and It would’ve been great if the author provided more background story. Miss Rachel has a great writing style and I always enjoy it. The story moved in a fast pace and it was engaging till the end. Though it was entertaining read, there are still some flaws in it which can be overlooked.

Overall, I really liked it and it’s been a long time since I’ve read a NA paranormal romance so I had great time reading it. The next book is going to be about Cassius and I can’t wait to read it too. The Dark Ones is a captivating and addictive read and highly recommended to all the paranormal romance book lovers. 

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1 [4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

 

9 thoughts on “The Dark Ones (The Dark Ones Saga #1) By Rachel Van Dyken [Review]

  1. perfectioninbooks November 26, 2015 / 1:52 am

    I don’t like to read reviews before I read the book but I love seeing ratings. And you gave this book a good rating and your first review paragraph was great too. I think I have to add this to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

