Everything, Everything By Nicola Yoon [Review]


RELEASE DATE:
 
September 1, 2015
AUTHOR: Nicola Yoon
GENRE: Young-Adult, Contemporary, Romance.
PUBLISHER: Delacorte
SUMMARY: Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. Olly writes his IM address on a piece of paper, shows it at her window, and suddenly, a door opens. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?

add to goodreads
book and ink

MY REVIEW:


Everything, Everything is really a heart warming and delightful story. I’ve been hearing praises for this book all over the blogoshpere that made me curious enough to check it out. After reading it, I can pretty much say that it definitely lives up to all the hype. I really enjoyed reading this book because it’s got a unique story line and I’ve never read anything like this before. Both Madeline and Olly are great characters and I adore their relationship.

The story is about Madeline Whittier, a 17 year old girl who is suffering from a rare disease called SCID( Severe Combined Immunodeficiency). Due to her illness, she has never set her foot in the outside world since she was a child because the outside unfiltered air is pretty much harmful to her that could potentially kill her. She lives with her over protective mother who is a doctor and also her nurse called Carla. Madeline is also an avid reader and book blogger. Her mother and her nurse are the only friends in her life because outside visitors are not allowed in her house and she gets a glimpse of the outside world only through her window. Her life takes an interesting turn when a new family moves in next door.

I really loved Maddy! She’s an amazing character. She was quite optimistic who just wants to live her life happily while she can despite her illness. I also enjoyed her wittiness and fun personality. Her being a avid reader is another thing that I’ve liked about her. Olly is another great character that I’ve really liked in this book. He was sweet and adorable and I totally loved his mini skit with the  bundt cake. I really enjoyed how their relationship developed slowly with IM chats and emails. It is wonderful how they found escape from their realities in each other and together, they really make a cute couple.

The plot was very unique, fast paced and beautiful. I didn’t know there was a rare disease like SCID existed. Both Maddy and Olly are well written characters and I absolutely loved both of them. I liked Maddy’s relationship with her nurse Carla who is like a second mother to her and always encourages her to live her life to the fullest. The story was written in Madeline’s POV but I would’ve loved it more if it was written in alternative POV because I really wanted to know what’s going through Olly’s mind nonetheless it was enjoyable read. For a debut author, Nicola Yoon does have a great writing style, it was simple and perfect. I liked how the plot was executed even though it was somewhat predictable and I also liked all the illustrations, graphs, diagrams, journal entries.  The end scene was really wonderful because it did brought a smile to my face and I’d wished there were few more pages left.

Overall, I loved everything! This book was unputdownable from the start and just read in one sitting. It was truly a great debut novel from Nicola Yoon and I look forward to read her future works. Everything, Everything sets itself apart as something other than your average YA fiction and I would recommend this book to everyone who likes reading YA contemporary.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1  [4/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

 

16 thoughts on “Everything, Everything By Nicola Yoon [Review]

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books September 23, 2015 / 1:17 am

    Great review! 🙂 I really want to read this book so badly, I hope the paperback comes out sooonish so that I can buy it then devour it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 September 23, 2015 / 1:25 am

      Thank you! It was really a wonderful book and I hope you get to it soon. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cátia September 23, 2015 / 2:30 am

    Great review!! I’m happy that you enjoyed it =)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi September 23, 2015 / 12:50 pm

    Yaaay I’ve been wanting to read this so badly but got skeptical as I read more bad reviews ): but you got me excited again! Great review!! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. aentee @ read at midnight September 23, 2015 / 7:02 pm

    I am so glad you enjoyed this book so much! I loved it as well, I thought the characters and the writing were both wonderful. I dearly wish Nicola Yoon will start publishing her next book soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 September 23, 2015 / 9:49 pm

      Me too! I can’t wait to read another book of Nicola Yoon. 😀

      Like

  5. Summer @ Xingsings September 26, 2015 / 3:52 am

    Ahh, oh my gosh. I’m so happy that you enjoyed this book a lot, Raven. As you know, I loved reading Maddy’s perspective as well. You made a lot of great points in your review. And I agree, there is a degree of predictability with this one but I overlooked it just because it was that enjoyable. Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 September 26, 2015 / 6:51 pm

      Thank you summer! Yeah, the story became quite predictable after it was revealed that both her father and brother were died in an accident. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 November 10, 2015 / 10:25 pm

      I agree! I’m looking forward to more books from this author 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

