Slasher Girls & Monster Boys By Various Authors [Review]

RELEASE DATE: August 18, 2015
AUTHOR: Various Authors
GENRE: Young-Adult, Horror, Mystery, Thriller.
PUBLISHER: Dial Books
SUMMARY: A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

add to goodreads
book and ink

MY REVIEW:

Honestly, I don’t like to read Anthologies but I love reading Horror Stories that’s why I wanted to check this out and not to forget who wouldn’t want to read all these scary stories written by famous authors. This book is mix of scary stories and some psychological thrillers too so be prepared to see not only spooky things but some gory stuff too.

The Birds of Azalea Street by Nova Ren Suma [4 stars]
The Birds Of Azalea is a great start for the book and I totally enjoyed reading this story. It is more like supernatural/psycho thriller with Curious teenage girls, weird crows and a Creepy guy. The Author have a great writing skills and she’s a good story teller too.

In the Forest Dark and Deep by Carrie Ryan[3 stars]
This one is inspired from the Louis Carrol’s Alice In Wonderland. I didn’t enjoyed it much but I did liked it. It’s the story of a little girl who likes to have weird Tea Parties with a Monster who was hidden in the forest. This one seemed a little bit creepy to me but not the scariest.

Emmeline by Cat Winters[3 stars]
It is Historical fiction set in France during the first world war. It started a bit romantic but later it turned in to a horror. Nice story but it didn’t scared me much.

Verse Chorus Verse by Leigh Bardugo[3.5 Stars]
It was both creepy and scary story. It’s a story about a teen celebrity and her mother, due to some circumstances the teen celebrity is sentenced to a strange rehab where everything isn’t  what it looks like. I liked the plot but sometimes I did get confused with all the switching of the POV.

Hide and Seek by Megan Shepherd[5 Stars]
It’s my favorite story from the book which has a fast paced plot. It’s about a  girl who makes a deal with the death’s harbinger to cheat death. I loved how she overcomes all the obstacles and what she did at the end was truly clever of her. This story was inspired from the final destination movie.

The Dark, Scary Parts and All by Danielle Paige[2 Stars]
You can say It was my least liking story from the book. There isn’t anything new in this plot it was a teenage angst drama with a supernatural twist.

The Flicker, The Fingers, The Beat, The Sigh by April Genevieve Tucholke[3.5 Stars]
The  sad thing about this story is there isn’t anything scary in it. It seemed more like a psychological thriller. Not only it was thrilling read, In a way the story was a bit sad for me.

Fat Girl With a Knife by Jonathan Maberry[4 Stars]
At first, I thought it’s going to be about a fat girl who takes her revenge on her bullies but I was totally wrong. The story takes us into Zombieland where our girl not only fights well but slashes well too. Overall, it was entertaining read for me.

Sleepless by Jay Kristoff[4 Stars]
It’s another story that I enjoyed reading. It’s got a great plot which was inspired by the movie Psycho and I totally loved the twist at the end. The plot was unpredictable which made it more interesting to read.

 M by Stefan Bachmann[3.5 stars]
It’s another Historical fiction. It isn’t a scary story but it would come under mystery and thriller. The only thing which seemed creepy were the little girls in it. The plot revolves around revealing the identity of a killer.

The Girl Without a Face by Marie Lu[5 Stars]
This story was very scary and creepy. It totally gave me goose bumps while reading it. What creeped me out the most was the girl in the closet. I think the author did a good job in executing this plot which I must say is totally brilliant.

A Girl Who Dreamed of Snow by McCormick Templeman[3.5 Stars]
This one totally lacked the horror. It seemed more like fantasy novel with monsters in it but good story though. Despite it’s non-scariness I liked the whole concept of it but I think it could be better executed too.

Stitches by A. G. Howard [4 Stars]
It’s my second favorite story from the book. It was very bloody and gory, if you couldn’t handle Graphic, blood and gore stuff then you better avoid this story. Surprisingly, there’s somewhat romantic tale in it which I didn’t expected at all. Overall, I loved it!

On the I-5 by Kendra Blake[2 Stars]
My main issue with this story is the plot. The story just fell flat for me and I didn’t get what it’s all about. It’s something about a girl protecting her own dead body  until it’s resurrection or something like that but I expected more than that.

Although this book wasn’t  scary enough for me, I did enjoyed reading it. Overall, I liked this book! I would recommend this to everyone who love reading horror and thrillers.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1 [3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

9 thoughts on “Slasher Girls & Monster Boys By Various Authors [Review]

  1. Amy Couttas September 9, 2015 / 3:53 am

    I’ve been saving my copy for October but I am so excited to read this!! I can’t wait to be terrified!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. aentee @ read at midnight September 9, 2015 / 1:25 pm

    Oooo I’ve been looking for Halloween reads and this one sound absolutely perfect. Hide & Seek and The Girl Without A Face (just that title alone gives me chills) sound especially amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 September 9, 2015 / 10:45 pm

      Yeah, It’s a perfect Halloween Read and I hope you get scared. LOL! 😀

      Like

  3. Anne September 9, 2015 / 9:55 pm

    This sounds like a great anthology and there’s so many well-known authors that collaborated on it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 September 9, 2015 / 10:49 pm

      It’s quite a good book. If you are into horrors and thrillers maybe you should give this a try. 😀

      Like

      • Anne September 10, 2015 / 3:30 am

        I like thrillers but I hate horror lol I’ll check it out next time I go to the library!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

